We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Telegraaf”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Telegraaf”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Quality hotel in a brilliant location to explore and soak up this lovely old town.The staff were very friendly,knowledgeable and helpful.A top notch restaurant in the hotel offers a great evening meal ,but the same quality at a fraction of the price can be found at nearby venues.Suggest book early particularly at weekends.The communication/organisation from the hotel was first class and it was very nice to meet the manager who had time for the visitors-the small size surely adds to it's success.Flying from Manchester was a big plus[instead of Gatwick].

Room Tip: The room was fine.I have no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear David,
thank you so much for your kind words and review.
It was a pleasure indeed meeting you and your wife and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future !
with my best wishes,
Irmela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    336
    62
    20
    8
See reviews for
208
799
112
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

By far this hotel had the most accommodating service, measures up with all other luxury hotels, we were instantly welcomed and taken care of. Breakfast offered lots of variety and decor of the hotel was extremely well-thought. Location is convenient, in the old town, but not right middle of it - meaning that noise during evenings is minimal. Great spa area also.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTUHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear TTUHelsinki;
Thank you for your kind review and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Were at this hotel in early May. Great hotel, one of the best where ever stay in our travels. The location is great, in the old town, a 5-10 minute walk from the base attractions. Polite friendly staff ready to help at any moment. Great private parking in the same building, but the truth is there is no elevator to the hotel, so better get my luggage out of the car, parked in front of the hotel. The spacious and comfortable rooms (stayed in a superior room with one bed), sure wi-fi signal. Maid service every day. In the hotel there is a decent gourmet restaurant Tchaikovsky. The breakfasts are good, for 2 days did not have time to get bored (there's even a porridge with milk). The only thing that does not like, if a lot of guests at breakfast in the Tchaikovsky restaurant, it get closely and can not immediately find a free table.

Room Tip: Is better to book a superior room in the old building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Tor89
Thank you for your review of the Hotel Telegraaf here on Tripadvisor !
It was good to read that you did enjoy your stay and that you appreciated the services and facilities offered!
Thank you for mentioning our private parking facility which is part of the hotel’s grounds and as you state correctly there is no direct elevator from the parking area to the guest rooms; this for security reasons.
Yet of course luggage service is offered at any time, so we can happily assist with carrying luggage, eg from the car parking to the guest room, or the same on the day of departure.
Great to read that you liked the room and thank you for your nice comments on our housekeeping / maid service as well as on our Restaurant Tchaikovsky.
Again, thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel Telegraaf and if and when your travels bring you back to the beautiful city of Tallinn it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Telegraaf!

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We visited Hotel Telegraaf a couple of years ago and were not happy with the service. It's a pity, because the hotel and interior are so beautiful.
This time we were hoping to get some better service, but unfortunately it didn't happen.

We left our luggage to the reception because our room wasn't ready when checking in. When we came back they didn't find the luggage. But luckily we did!

Our room was booked for 3 adults, but there were only 2 bathrobes, 2 glasses etc...
The extra bed was really uncomfortable.
The room itself was really nice, large and clean as well.

Breakfast is served in a beautiful venue, but unfortunately there were no glasses, no plates, no juice, no cheese... Customers keep on asking everything. Not a relaxing breakfast.

When looking for a 5 star hotel in Tallinn, I think that I will not try this one for the third time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kata35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Kata35,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Hotel Telegraaf, located in the beautiful Old Town of Tallinn.
All feedback is valuable and important to us as we use it either for staff motivation and / or to streamline our training initiatives.
Thank you therefore for mentioning the missing of additional third-person-towelings etc ; this our Executive Housekeeper has mentioned to her team and is re-training this standard.
Also your comments on replenishing - shortcomings during your Sunday breakfast which is usually set up with a good selection of cold (cold cuts, jams, cheeses, salads, fruits etc etc) and warm dishes (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, porridge etc etc) as well as beverages as juices, sparkling wine, Estonian Kama, bottles of water etc, has been discussed internally with our Food & Beverage Manager and he is looking into this in detail.
Please accept our apologies yet again a truly meant Thank You for bringing this to our attention as only with detailed feedback can be strive to improve to be able to meet and exceed our guests and customer’s expectations.
So, if and when your travel plans bring you back to our beautiful city of Tallinn it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Old Town’s Hotel Telegraaf.
With best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The people who work here really make Hotel Telegraaf a special place. Everyone was welcoming, professional and helpful. The hotel is an outstanding facility too: great location, rooms and food. The spa is comfortable. You can get a price break at the gym a short walk away.

There are many great restaurants really close.

But it is the staff that really stands out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank two-guysSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmela H, General Manager at Hotel Telegraaf, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review here on Tripadvisor.
We strive to meet and exceed our guests and customers expectations and are happy to read that you experienced just that.
For us all reviews, guests and customers feedback is important, all are being read, discussed and shared and used for either motivational or training initiatives.
Thank you again for the time taken to write this review ! If and when your travel plans bring you back to this beautiful hanseatic city it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Tallinn’s Old Town Hotel Telegraaf.
With best wishes,

Irmela Heinsius
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I booked a superior room at this hotel and I was surprised to be given a free upgrade to a suite room! it was an excellent suite room with remarkable interior. The room balcony was also facing the street in front of the hotel. Amazing view, beautiful room, bathroom and living room! i wish we could have stayed longer! The breakfast was also excellent! Made my Tallin, Estonia trip truly memorable!

Room Tip: if u can get the suite room facing the front street, do so!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanyabears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I booked this hotel to celebrate a significant wedding anniversary and the hotel and staff made it a very special stay. The hotel is very well located in the old town in Tallinn and therefore constrained by the architecture there (unlike the new hotels outside of the old city). This does not prevent it from being a modern, very well appointed and decorated hotel. The staff were absolutely fantastic and did everything they could to make our stay special. We had a free upgrade, complimentary basket of fruit and "happy anniversary" written in chocolate on our desert plates. Every member of staff had a smile and made a point of saying hello. Breakfast was amazing and the food in the restaurant was some of the best I have ever eaten (again with excellent service). Food prices were high, but the quality justified the spend. My wife and I have stayed in hotels in many cities in a number of counties and this one comes out top! If you're visiting Tallinn and want a quality stay - look no further.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel probably gives the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ijallen52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,266 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 85 in Tallinn
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 85 in Tallinn
2,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 85 in Tallinn
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing