We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated hotel with superb service”
Review of Hotel Telegraaf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Telegraaf
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Vilnius
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Sophisticated hotel with superb service”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

This stylish hotel doesn't fall short on service, comfort or quality. I chose it at the recommendation of friends who live in Tallinn, and would do so again, even after visiting other top boutique hotels nearby. When my lost luggage was delivered by the airlines at midnight, the desk brought it to me as promised. Reception also held my luggage all day after I checked out, happily accommodating my requests to bring it to me so that I could add parcels of purchases.... the staff was friendly, competent and served with a warm smile. One of the most pleasant hotel stays I've had in a long time.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernLights10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    331
    61
    20
    8
See reviews for
202
795
110
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
toensberg
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Me and my husband had four days in Tallinn in January celebrating our 10years aniversary (marriage).
We had read abut the Telegraaf hotel at Trip Advisor,and every positive words about this
small luxury hotel is true! Great and friendly service.
Spacious classy room,really nice bathroom and very clean. The large doublebed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was great,and with sparkling wine included in the buffet. The breakfast is served in the splendid restaurant "Tchaikovsky".
Unfortunately we did not try dinner here,but we will do that next time we stay at this hotel.
We also tried Elemis deep tissue massage in the hotel spa. A really fine experience.
The spa area was delicate. We definitely will return to this lovely hote when in Tallinl!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank findus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Hotel Telegraaf sits in the most perfect spot for visiting the Old Town*, the staff are friendly and polite we found nothing was too much trouble and the room was spacious with a very good bathroom, very clean and had a very large bed that was so fantastically comfortable that we didn’t want to get out of it. Tchaikovsky’s restaurant is quite small beautifully decorated and peaceful, the service is perfect you have as much or as little attention as you wish, with enough theatre thrown in to make it a very pleasant experience.
Breakfast was a delight and went on until 10.30, it is a comfortable experience with a buffet of everything continental and scrambled egg, bacon, sausage, tomatoes, mushrooms (cooked properly) and a great range of breads, toast and cereals and if that’s not enough there is an are A la carte menu of such things as Eggs Benedict, Pancakes with bacon or maple syrup, Eggs Royal, fried eggs and bacon, all cooked to order and included in the price of the room, Caroline said the Eggs Benedict was as good as the ones I make! The coffee was good and the water from Ty Nant in Wales it just doesn’t get any better.
We believe that the Telegraaf is a 5 star hotel with 3 star prices, we have stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Huston Texas, the Palace Vendome in Paris and holidayed at Sandals in the Bahamas and whilst some of the other rooms where slightly larger the over all experience at the Telegraaf was as good if not better.
The only thing we should say was that in the room waiting for us was a bowl of fruit and a half bottle of red wine together with a miniature of cognac, we assumed that these were complimentary as they were left out! however the wine and cognac were added to our bill as they had been left out to get up to room temperature! As we had thought them to be complimentary we consumed most of them and thought what a lovely gesture as they were replaced every day. This was a misunderstanding not a criticism and as soon as I pointed out that we had no way of telling that they were not complimentary they were removed from our bill.
We cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Tallinn and would recommend it to anyone.
*Old Town Tallinn, we have been to Disney on both coasts of the States and to the Keys (Disney for grownups) Tobago, Bahamas etc. Etc. but Disney couldn’t do it like Old Town Tallinn for plastic and paint at Disney, read real and medieval, beautiful, wonderful, Quiet peaceful, freezing and in January covered in exactly the right amount of snow.
You will not be disappointed
Phil & Caroline Evans

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Booked a room with my wife to celebrate my birthday. I have contacted hotel manager in advance and he had offered a complimentary upgrade. It was supposed to be junior suite but looked like normal double room (may be it was one and they did not upgrade)
For some reasons staff was refusing to speak Russian on several occasions (although most of Estonians speak Russian) and was insisting on English. It was very embarrassing. Hotel location is perfect, room service was quick and food was delicious. Just to mention that there was no complementary water and the one from the minibar was more expensive than beer (just a small 0.33 bottle).

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosipovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We were very pleased with this Boutique Luxury Hotel. The rooms in the main building are very classy and comfortable with beautiful bathroom and heated floors! TV or Music played from TV is connected to a speaker in the bathroom. Great beds!. Also the new rooms are very spacious painted in warm red and black colors. Location could not be better just a few steps away from the main Square, restaurants and shops. We walked to the 'new town' within 15 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMLChicago8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Very good service. Fantastic dinner at restaurant and breakfast. Great relaxing pool and spa. And right by the square in old city. It can not be better in Tallinn

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sodermalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Excellent service, great spa-area and probably one of eastern europes best restaurants made this a superb visit for me and my wife.

I would highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_eliasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
1,234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 83 in Tallinn
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Tallinn
Swissotel Tallinn
#3 of 83 in Tallinn
2,063 reviews
0.2 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
St. Petersbourg Hotel
#6 of 83 in Tallinn
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Telegraaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Telegraaf

Property: Hotel Telegraaf
Address: Vene 9, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Telegraaf 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our building, constructed in 1878 and once an exchange station for the Estonian Telegraph company, has been transformed into a unique five-star hotel. Join us and become part of the ambience which has surrounded today's Telegraaf for well over a century.Spend an afternoon in our Elemis day spa, followed by a symphony of Russian cuisine in our restaurant, Tchaikovsky. The only hotel in the Old Town with underground parking, we encourage you to arrive comfortably in one of the most beautiful and stylish cities in Northern Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Telegraaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Telegraaf Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing