We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastically chilled hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tallinn Backpackers
Ranked #11 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I only stayed here for three nights but it really was a fantastic hostel.. didn't want to leave! Dorms were cheap, clean and spacious and had the best bathroom ever.. the kitchen was also handy! The location is in a quiet area but is super close (5/10 min walk) to Tallinn's old town and all the sights. The staff were awesome, friendly and helpful.. most of them were also travellers so it was nice to sit with them and get some tips and advice for other countries/cities! I loved how chilled and relaxed the atmosphere there was.. but if we wanted to check out the nightlife the staff would take us to their sister hostel (Monk's Bunk) to party and go out with them. Just book to go there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Tallinn Backpackers is one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. They are conveniently located in the old town, pretty much everything is within a 10 minute walk. I've seen some reviews saying this is a party hostel, and while this may have been the case in the past, their quiet time is now 11pm (as of april 2014, at least) due to grumpy neighbours. I don't find this a problem though, as it's perfect if you need to get up early the next day, and if not, then you can attend their daily free pubcrawl that ususally starts between 10-11pm and ends when you feel like it!

They have happy hour every evening, a kitchen, living room and the staff will prepare dinner for you for only 3€ every day. All this is good, but the best aspect of the hotel is the atmosphere. You feel really at home at TB. The staff does their best to ensure that the people staying there feel welcome, and try their best to ensure the well being of their guests.

I stayed there for five days in april, and I wish I could have stayed a week more. Warmly recommended!

Room Tip: The 8-bed mixed dorm on the top floor has its own bathroom with a jacuzzi and sauna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristoffer_909090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

at first i only planned to stay for a few nights, but due to an amazing atmosphere and great location of the hostel, it quickly turned into more! As soon as I walked through the door and was greeted by friendly staff, I could tell this was not like any other hostel I have stayed in. Everyone who works there are travelers themselves and more than willing to share stories and let you join in on any of the activities in the hostel on any given night! Cannot wait to be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dylsmith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hostel is in a great location, the dorms are clean and comfortable and the bathroom was massive. The real winner is the staff; extremely friendly, fun and experts on the sights, museums and restaurants/bars/clubs around town. Highly recommended.

Carmen, Australia

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Me and my friends were here for two nights on a recent trip and could not of been happier. The room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was shared but good. The common room was good for meeting the other guests and we enjoyed a few drinks there and some competitive games on the fussball table. The building itself is nice and the shoes off policy gave it a homely feel. The main square is a short walk so it is well placed for everything and the staff can arrange all activities and taxi's when needed. If you want to party one night then they are associated with another hostel where it gets fun and lively most nights so its worth joining the fun.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LifeAsABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hostel is such a good place to spend some nights. It's a cosy house with lovely rooms. The people are very friendly, the livingroom is great (I love the rules of the hostel, hanging on a paper by the bar) and a great place to meet other travelers for a beer or a game. The pubcrawl is also very very nice. I recommend it to anyone who wants to see and experience beautiful Tallinn :). This made my trip even better!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noen91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Without a doubt one of the best hostels I ever been! GREAT ATMOSPHERE! GREAT STAFF! CLEAN! If you are traveling on your own and would like to meet cool people, this is the place! Make sure to join them in their daily Pub Crawl :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pampagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
The Monk's Bunk
The Monk's Bunk
#1 of 123 in Tallinn
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Old Town Alur
Hostel Old Town Alur
#2 of 123 in Tallinn
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kohver
Kohver
#22 of 123 in Tallinn
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Emperor Bar and Hostel
0.4 mi away
Knight House
Knight House
#4 of 123 in Tallinn
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Welcome Hostel
Welcome Hostel
#23 of 123 in Tallinn
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tallinn Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallinn Backpackers

Address: Olevimaegi 11, Tallinn 10123, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Tallinn
Price Range: £10 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Tallinn Backpackers 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a hostel in Tallinn? Stay with us! We promise you good times and happy memories. We are located in a beautiful Old Town building with top facilities and lots of atmosphere. In Tallinn Backpackers there is always something going on: be it in our huge but cozy common room; be it in town, as we love to take you out to explore the secrets of the city and its best pubs and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tallinn Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing