We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views & breakfast, further from Old Town than I expected”
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Many reviews say that this hotel is extremely well-located, but I would say the walk was 10-15 minutes. It was warm while we were there, and air conditioning was the primary reason I chose this hotel, as many of the Old Town hotels are not air conditioned, and people complain about the noise. The Swissotel was very quiet; however, the air conditioning could not keep up. As a previous reviewer mentioned, the thermostat never got below 24-25 C.

Despite the rooms being not quite as cool as we desired, we were traveling with our kids and took advantage of the Kids Room Special. Booking 2 connecting rooms cost about 20 euros more than booking one room, and the rate included a really good breakfast. The staff set up the boys' room with special bedding & decor and included small toys, a DVD player & even brought us up a Wii. Needless to say, it was our boys' favorite hotel.

The pool was a bit chilly, but we enjoyed our spa treatments, which were very reasonably priced. And the Lavazza coffee machines in the rooms... This really sets the hotel apart from any other we stayed in on our trip!

One final tip-see the movie "The Singing Revolution" before going to Estonia. The recent history of the country is very inspiring and provides good insight into how to connect with the locals.

Room Tip: Look at the Kids Room Special on their website if traveling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BETH V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,323 - 1,329 of 2,194 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

I was in Estonia for Business, and the Old town is just great! The Swissotel as well very nice rooms super bath rooms and good service, just a bit far to walk from the old town.
The negative part of the Hotel is the unfriendly stuff at the coffee shop in the Lobby.... I was so disappointed and I left after the first night to have a coffee in the city. As well the Beds are a not so good the rest nice I can recomment the Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

This is a great hotel to stay in Tallin, especially for people who are into the contemporary design, who don't mind walking 5 minutes to the old time and enjoy the quietness. I would definately stay at this hotel again next time and recommend it to other travelers because:

1. It's clean and quiet.
2. It's well designed with tasteful decor in the rooms and public areas.
3. Wonderful facilities such as the beautiful and functional pool, sauna with a view, steam room, and others.
4. Good quality breakfast. Not cheap, but reasonable (17 euros) for this type of hotel.
5. Professional service of reception, bell, restaurants, and fitness staff.
6. The price is right (120 euro per night when I stayed) . One would have to pay much more for this level of service in other European countries.

However, this is probably not a good choice if you want to be right in the old town, see all the sites within steps, or stay in a historical building and feel the antiquity.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandererFantacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

The staff were unhelpfull and lacked any genuine concern for our situation.Five star hotel with a one star service.Avoid this hotel if possible.There are much better options in Tallin where staff will go out of their way to help you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank Moser1895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend, was perfect!! amazing entrance/bar /restaurant and the rooms are to die for. Massive bed and very very clean! cannot fault this hotel stay one bit was great!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baileathacliath11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I read many reviews about hotels in Tallinn prior this stay. I was almost staying at the Nordic, since the reviews were really good. I am so glad I followed my instincts and I booked at Swissotel instead. The hotel is impeccably clean, comfortable, the service was outstanding, the breakfast was really good; I had to change my room because the curtain of that room did not make it dark enough for me to sleep, and they made it very easy for me. Also the swimming pool was not working at the begging of my stay due to renovations, but they offered me a room upgrade in order for me to be satisfied, I did not take it, because I was very comfortable and I did not think it was necessary, but it shows their customer service. The hotel is located in a very nice area; it is a short walk to the old city; Some tips about the place: right beside of the hotel there is a department store where you can find a market, liquor shop, deli, drugstore... it is also close to a mall, where there is a pub/cafe on the top floor (outdoors) - I recommend going there for a drink - nice music and good atmosphere. Also, when in Tallinn, make sure to go to the top of the tallest building in the old town (a church) it is really fun and the view is really nice - take some water with you - you will need it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

As mentioned by other reviewers, the Swissotel is a very modern, comfortable hotel, a 10-minute walk away from the historic old town. You can get a room for two including breakfast for EUR 120 if you book in advance - great value if you don't mind staying outside the old town. The breakfast is very good - good quality and a lot of variety.

The rooms are big and spacious, with a large and clean and modern bathroom (with bathtub and a separate shower). You have everything you would expect from a hotel of this standard: bathrobe, slippers, amenities, in-room safe, and a great view.

The reason it gets 4 stars and not 5:
(1) the service is not up to the standards one would expect from such a hotel. It is ok and they are polite at a basic level, but they do not go the extra mile (e.g. info about the hotel, the city, recommendations).
(2) the restaurant upstairs has great views, but the food is average and very overpriced. The portions are not very generous, which is not a problem in itself, as the food presents itself as a type of nouvelle cuisine, but the problem is that it does not really taste that great, the descriptions on the menu are somewhat misleading, and the prices correspond to a top-level restaurant but you only get average food. The best thing was actually the bread...

Having said that, I would definitely recommend the hotel and probably stay there again, but I would not eat there (other than breakfast). For the same price, you can have a meal at the Schlossle hotel (make sure you book in advance - we did not and could not get in), which according to one of the travel guides I had is the "best restaurant in the Baltics".

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank reviewer-intl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
615 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#10 of 86 in Tallinn
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £116 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing