We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed at the Swissotel for one night in November. We arrived a bit too early, so we waited in the lobby for our room to be cleaned. Champagne bar in the lobby was very nice and the customer service was superb, no complains at all.
Room was on the 23rd floor (swiss grand) and what a view over the city! Modern styling, comfortable bed, coffee machine and the bathroom fulfilled all the expectations. Tv could have been a bit bigger. Location was ok, walking distance from the old town.
Unfortunately we missed the breakfast, but we went to the spa instead. Pool and two saunas, it was ok.
I would recommend Swissotel to anyone, especially couples who visit Tallinn and want a romantic weekend in a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ag78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Director of Sales at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear ag78,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor and am glad that you had an excellent stay with us.

Swissotel Tallinn is located only a short stroll away from the Old Town (10 minutes on foot) and hidden behind the modern, contemporary design, one can experience the same personal, genuine attention as one would in a smaller, boutique hotel. Backed by an international brand that delivers luxury at the highest level, our award-winning hotel is the only hotel in Estonia ever to have made it on the Conde Nast's "Reader's Choice Top 100 Hotels" and the "Gold List".

We are very much looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swissôtel Tallinn, Estonia.

Your sincerely,
Clive Ellul Hawthorn
Director of Revenue & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,349 of 2,300 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2011

Location: good for business, OK but not ideal for tourists as it is 3 minutes drive to Old Town

Ambience: top-level, professional, clean hotel. Lobby not too large but enough to have privacy. Ambience feels cool as lots of young people among the guests.

Room: very modern, all in white (see attached photos), TV a bit too small for the large room, bathroom neat but shower room is quite small. Warm towel holder is nice to have during the cold Tallinn weather. Bed is large and comfortable to sleep in. 4 or 5 difference pillows of somewhat different types.

Service: professional, relevant, fast

Reception: fast, efficient and guests-friendly. When I hinted about late checkout, it was offered immediately (from noon to 2pm). Eventually checking out even later did not create any problem.

Breakfast: good quality but the choice could be broader. Still, my porridge was brought very quickly. Service in restaurant impeccable.

Spa: lots of different programs to chose from

Bar on top (30th) floor: unfortunately, I did not visit but my friends mentioned it was one of cool bars in town

Lifts: very fast lifts - I really liked it that you don't need to wait long for lifts to come and they are fast

Conference facilities/Meeting rooms: we used medium size room. Personnel was very friendly when we asked to reconfigure the room how we wanted. Conference speaker phone did not work, though and despite their best efforts, they could not fix it. However, found the solution quickly by providing us another telephone with a speaker. Food in the meeting room was of good quality, can’t complain. Very consistent service – they tried to bring us tee/coffee every 15 minutes until we had to push them to stop it.

Wi-fi: works fast and is free!


All in all, professional and very comfortable hotel, for business at least.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valux01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Director of Sales at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear ClientServiceExpert,

Thank you for taking the time to post a thorough review on Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay with us.

Swissotel Tallinn boasts the largest ballroom in Estonia, where the NATO Foreign Ministers Meeting took place in 2010. Since then, a number of successful events have taken place, organised by both local and international clients, who are looking for a hotel that can offer great facilities and add consultative value that results in a successful event.

We thank you and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Clive Ellul Hawthorn
Director of Revenue & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel only one night but got impressed! Excellent , well behaviour staff. Brilliant breakfast. Room was very clean, bed was comfortable.What can I say more? I would recommend to pick this hotel for everyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmaRiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Director of Sales at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear elmaRiga,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay with us.

A one-night stay is too short to explore the beautiful city of Tallinn and we trust you will be back in the near future.

In this spirit, we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best Regards,
Clive Ellul Hawthorn
Director of Revenue & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

5 star hotel in the full meaning of the word. Excellent Spa. Great breakast. Beautifully designed rooms. All sorts of comfort. 10 minute walk from old town.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABZPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Swissotel was probably too good for us.

Room was cold when arriving, and only 24 hrs later we found out there was a possibility to heat the bathroom.

The most annoying thing was the transparent walls of the bathrooms.. and also a lot of glassy-mirror like doors... too confusing, and we almost hit ourself agains the toilet door a couple of times.

The staff was superb, as well as the welcoming ammenities, like fresh fruit and water when arriving for free.

The bed was huge and the pillows very comfortable. Free and fast Internet.

Room Tip: Check that "transparent walled bathrooms" if it fits your desires or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PirataGambrinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Director of Sales at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear PirataGambrinus,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay with us.

We are glad to hear that our team members provided great service and that you enjoyed the fresh fruit on arrival. It is our way of welcoming you and wishing you a pleasant stay in our hotel. Indeed, we offer complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel, a major value-add for business and leisure travellers alike.

Your comments and feedback are greatly appreciated and welcomed by us at Swissôtel Tallinn and shall serve as motivators for our team to continue striving to meet our guest’s expectations.

Best Regards,
Clive Ellul Hawthorn
Director of Revenue & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Nice, stylish rooms with our own coffee-machine. But the real gem - and the main reason why we chose this hotel - was the children's room. Our 3-year-old was ever so happy with the Disney-pillows, towel and teddy, and we were happy that she was happy in the room next to ours. We thought there would be some more toys, and had to ask for some pencils and paper. But they were quick to deliver them. Went to the pool which was stylish and quiet. Breakfast was good, lots of choices. The location was OK, a short 10-minute walk from the old town. Didn't have a view towards the port or the old town, maybe because we got a good offer when we contacted the hotel directly.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilde K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Director of Sales at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear HildeKj,

Thank you for very detailed comments on rooms & services, which will definitely be of great help in further improvement of our service quality and training the team members.

I am glad your 3-year old child could enjoy the Kids Room setup, which is an ideal way to turn a modern, contemporary room into a fun and playful one, ideal for children and available exclusively at Swissotel Hotels and Resorts.

We are very much looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swissôtel Tallinn, Estonia.


Yours sincerely,
Clive Ellul Hawthorn
Director of Revenue & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

As wedding photographers my season was coming to a close so my wife decided to head away for a short break so I suggested Tallinn as I have wanted to visit for a number of years,I left to hotel choice up to her. So she decided that the hotel had to have a spa/gym and coffee and tea making facilities in the room after a search she came up with the Swissotel a five star hotel only a ten minute walk to the old town which what we required. It was not the cheapest on the short list but as it was a kind of treat we pushed the boat out a little. We had read the trip advisor reviews as always before every trip and requested a room higher up for the view. After the short taxi ride from the Airport €6, we entered the Foyer and it was a busy part of the hotel with both the bar and cafe located here and full of what seemed people conducting business, at the desk the very nice Concierge delt with our check in and gave us the option of a room higher up with only a shower or the 19th floor with bath and shower,so we chose the latter and he then had our bags taken up to our room for us ,this was the only time until the last day we needed to deal with the front desk although they always had a greeting for us either entering or leaving the hotel.
We throughly enjoyed our four day stay in Tallinn and having a nice hotel to return to in the evening made it more enjoyable,Our day normally started with a visit to the Gym, and the girls on the Eleventh floor are very helpful always ready to help and made us feel very welcome every visit,plus a nice complimentary cold bottle of water is always welcome after any kind of work out or sauna I also have to mention the very tasty honey biscuits and fruit, just place this hotel above others we have stayed in. After this we hit the old town and simply walked the legs off ourselves stopping of for coffee lunch more walking and Dinner before making our way back the the Swissotel for either a soak in the bath or steam in the spa followed by a drink in the Horisont bar which by Irish prices is pretty much the same,cocktail around €8 and €4 for a beer,we never had dinner here as we simply preferred to eat in the old town and we never had a bad meal on the trip overall the food in Tallin is great.
On the morning of our last day we had planned to visit the spa before check out when disaster struck and the muscles in my lower back went into spasm and I ended up in a crumpled heap on the bedroom floor with only two hours before we were due to check out, so my wife headed down to the front desk to find out if we could have a late checkout and returned to say no problem at all,it was then I decided that my back was not going to improve without first receiving some kind of anti inflammatory jab to ease the pain and release the spasm so again she returned to the front desk and spoke with the duty manager Katlin Novikov who gave her all the assistance she could and put our minds at rest that all would be okay,shortly afterwards two paramedics arrived to the room escorted by the Katlin and I received the much need jab with another which was explained would make me drowsy and a note for my airline explaining that I was not intoxicated but under medication,when the paramedics left the Katlin informed us she had organized for the concierge and a wheel chair the help me down to the lobby and further more the hotel courtesy car to take us to the airport, my wife thanked her and asked to include it on the invoice to which she replied not at all this was looked after by the hotel which I thought was a very nice gesture of kindness as I felt totally incapable of helping myself at this time and was completely at the mercy of others to help me. After a speedy check out we where taken to the airport and the concierge Who's name I cannot remember, entered the terminal and returned with a wheel chair and airport member of staff to help my wife and I through bag check in and on to the gate.
After what was a very enjoyable trip to Estonia at the Swissotel Tallinn the end could have been a complete disaster but for the staff of the Swissotel who we can not thank enough for the help and making what could have been a very painful return home much easier for us. We could not recommend highly enough the Swissotel and will return to Tallin and the Swissotel although next time I hope to depart on my own steam.

Room Tip: Tallest building in Tallinn so higher up gives better views,the lift is also the fastest we've e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandTheOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Director of Sales at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Dear IrelandTheOne,

Thank you for such a high valuation you bestowed upon our services. I am very happy, that we could meet and even exceed your expectations.

Hospitality has evolved in the past decades and technology has automated mundane processes, making it so simple to book flights and hotels. However, technology can never replace human emotion and intelligence, both of which enable our team members (well done Katlin!) to assess a situation and take the necessary action to ensure that expectations are exceeded.

In my view, you have two reasons to return to Swissotel Tallinn (if any were needed). The first is to sample the great restaurants we have in-house, our all-day-dining Restaurant Cafe Swiss and our fine dining restaurant on the 30th floor, Horisont. The second reason is for you to experience that same passion for perfection that makes a stay at Swissotel Tallinn so pleasurable.

In this spirit, we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Clive Ellul Hawthorn
Director of Revenue & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
724 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,442 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £97 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing