We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2012

If you really want to enjoy 5 star hotel,thats the one. Other hotels in Tallinn can not compair,really.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 2,279 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were 4 friends travelling and spent a weekend at this hotel. We had a wonderful time. The staff are friendly and serviceminded, the surroundings luxurious and beautiful.
We stayed in a swiss executive room on the 28th floor. These rooms are very spacious with a nice view. It has a large bathroom, huge beds and they feel like heaven!
We had a 3 course dinner in the Horisont Restaurant. Great food and service. We finished the evening with tasty drinks in the Horisont Bar.
If you are going to Tallinn, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milla007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Superb hotel with nice modern rooms, sweeping views, and as good as service as you get in Tallinn (that means only a few minor slip-ups). Nice spa area, great roomservice. Undisputedly the best hotel in Tallinn outside the old-town-romantic hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GenerallyWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I and my husband had a lovely stay in the Swissotel. The view from our room at the 26th floor was just breathtaking and the design and cleanliness of the room was impressive. We also enjoyed the spa, with a great view also from the sauna, and the delicious breakfast. Thank you, we will for sure return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We have been fairly frequent travellers to Tallinn with both family and business connections, normally staying at the Radisson and Olympia. The positive ratings and feedback on this site prompted us to try the Swissotel for the first time over the new year period. However in summary we all left fairly disappointed and do feel the positive comments and fuss about this hotel did not live up, this hotel is no better than any of the other large corporate buildings around Tallinn, and in many ways not as good as the Olympia and Radisson Hotels. First impressions whilst good and worthy of recognition are not continued with food and beverage service and poor attention to detail.

This is a new hotel so first impressions expectedly were very good. The lobby bar for a luxury hotel was understocked, no first or second choice liquor but even more disappointing for a luxury hotel no offer to get some from the other bars, just a blank soulless expression form the young lady serving at the bar, the coffee and cake point visually disappointing and again no offer to accommodate my young child's specific sandwich request, we can only serve whats on the menu.

Our biggest disappointment was the breakfasts. We were advised that as the hotel was occupancy full, all breakfasts had been moved to Floor 8 in the conference room, this temporary set up resembled a soulless works canteen with no atmosphere what so ever, at this point i really began to regret booking this hotel and longed for the Olympia and Radisson hotel breakfast experience. We requested a high chair for a baby, perfectly normal i would have thought for a family staying in a luxury hotel but over a 15 minute wait and then to be told that this was a business hotel and they were looking for a high chair, this was on New Years Eve and looking around the room all i could see was leisurely travellers. Finally a tatty wooden high chair appeared. Whilst the selection of food was adequate the quality of hot food was very poor, fried eggs were cold, scrambled eggs were barley warm and hard, all other hot items in the ban maries were warm at best. Where was the chef cooking eggs any way you like to order? This was at best a 3 star breakfast experience and other English speaking guests were very disappointed. The staff whilst looking the part had no initiative and where was the management direction. At every point during three breakfasts we had to chase and ask for coffee and tea as well as for our dirty plates to be cleared from our table, again this is a luxury hotel, i expect all the staff to be trained to be one step ahead of the guests, waiting to offer and serve hot drinks. Service staff who did not know what "Butter" was very poor. The staff need to wake up and up their game as this was simply not good enough! And what made it worse was the hotel management having their coffee and breakfasts unoblivious to all these problems, wake up and sort this out please.

Dining our first evening with family in the Cafe Swiss, was not much better when it came to service. The restaurant was quiet but why was i having to get up and look for the staff when i wanted something else. Not acceptable. And the quality of food nothing special what so ever, overpriced and average at best. There are far better restaurants in Tallinn offering much tastier food. These staff issues continue to the bar on the 30th floor, lifeless and non smiling females, no guest communication skills, poor experience.

Our rooms whilst new and modern with excellent views of Tallinn lacked attention to detail. Children's bed pre ordered not made up, no flannels, not enough towels and room not adequately cleaned when looked at closely around the edges. Showers that leak and flood the bathroom and make it very hazardous as marble floor. Average mattresses which everyone in my family commented upon. Lastly the lighting configuration in the rooms does not allow you to dim the lights, the choice is either have them all on which is very bright or turn them off.

This luxury hotel should be much better and i do sincerely hope that the management heed these comments and implement improvements. I do feel very annoyed that the service and experience we received was far from acceptable. My advise is if you want to stay in a three star hotel as far as service is concerned then don't pay 5 star prices and waste your money staying at this hotel, its not worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Antony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, PR & Marketing Executive at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

The Management of Swissôtel Tallinn deeply regrets that the guests stay was unsatisfactory.
As the guest mentioned during check out that he would post a review on Tripadvisor, Swissôtel Tallinn management will send a reply directly to the guest.


Liina Lõpp
PR & Marketing Executive
Swissôtel Tallinn, Estonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed here with a large group for a conference. Nice spacious rooms with views over Tallinn. Breakfast was a large range of various options to cater for every taste. The staff were very helpful and the location was excellent within easy walking distance to the old town centre.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank klr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Director of Sales at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear klr,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor, further to your recent stay with us.

Our breakfast buffet, served in Restaurant Cafe Swiss, offers healthy options as well as cooked items, with a live station where you can order eggs benedict and omelettes, just to mention a few. Cold cuts of meat, cheese yoghurts and fresh fruit also feature on the menu as well as the Swiss Bichermüsli.

I am delighted to hear that your stay was to your satisfaction. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel Tallinn.

Best Regards,
Clive Ellul Hawthorn
Director of Revenue & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We spent a lovely night at Swissotel Tallinn and have still great memories from the hotel! Everything was perfect- the room design was super, breakfast was delicious and the service was very personal! I specially liked the breakfast team and a young lady (can not recall her name) making the most wonderful omelet for breakfast! I still have a fast of it in my mouth :)
I strongly recommend it all young and old couples-this is a super romantic hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for room with harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Romantic12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Director of Sales at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear Romantic12,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that your stay was to your satisfaction and that we are able to exceed the expectations of couples travelling for a romantic break.

It is so easy to surprise your loved one! Just give us a call and consider your romantic gestures taken care of. Whether it is a bottle of champagne on arrival or a room covered with rose petals, love is truly in the air, every day of the year, at Swissôtel Tallinn.

We are very much looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Swissôtel Tallinn, Estonia.


Yours sincerely,
Clive Ellul Hawthorn
Director of Revenue & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Olumpia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £96 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing