We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent but not totally perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent but not totally perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This was an excellent hotel, I would say a 4.5 hotel. Beautiful all the way with spotless rooms and gorgeous views. The location is also perfect and the breakfast as well.

Only negatives I found (which also dropped this 5star hotel to a 4star for me): I personally did not like the bed, it was large but too hard. This is why I slept badly, so I cannot rate this a 5star experience. Also, the staff is very polite but lacks a bit of warmness - though this is more of an Estonian thing (the service culture is far from perfect still everywhere).

One thing I also have to mention is that on Finnish standards, this would not be called a "spa", it's more like a pool and a couple of saunas. A SPA from a Finnish point of view would require that there would be at least a whirlpool in there.. But nice "spa" it was anyway, small but beautiful.

But like said, it is close to perfect, so I might stay there again (and hope that I get a softer bed next time)!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,525
    366
    65
    19
    19
See reviews for
244
790
108
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Great hotel located in the centre of Tallinn. Modern design, great amenties with fabulous pool and spa. Horizont bar gives great 360 degree views of the city. Club level rooms and lounge also excellent. Friendly service tops off a great venue. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for an old town facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mronion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Excellent hotel, the best we've stayed at.

Modern, well-designed and spotless rooms and bathrooms. Big comfy beds.

Excellent breakfast in modern surroundings, plus Tallinn centre a short walk away.

Couldn't ask for much more!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DH_5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We were impressed with the hotel on arrival, with the very stylish looking lobby area. Once criticism I would have at check-in is that they required a deposit to be paid on arrival. Seeing as we do not use credit cards, we had to pay 75 euro which would be subsequently refunded in cash.

The room was stunning, very impressive and confortable. Being on such a high floor offered a superb view. Bathroom was excellent, with a heated floor. Beds were very cosy. TV had an i-pod dock buidlt in but required asome invesitgation to find as it was coiled up behind the TV. In room coffee machine was excellent - as an avid tea drinker it would have been nice to have more black tea bags available.

Room service was very good indeed. Could not fault the food at all.

Cocktails at the lobby bar were very good.

All in all a very good hotel. I would definitely stay again if there was a good offer on room rates.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sythe20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed a weekend with friends and enjoyed one night at Swissotel. Very modern and elegant rooms; and the hotel spa was really nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Been_to_many_hotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

A modern, elegant business hotel of a "standard" 5 star quality. We had two adjoining rooms, one being decorated for young girls. We really appriciated the concept, our girls loved it. Little things like kleenex box in girls bathroom being in princess box makes big impact on the athmosphere. Perhaps most telling is that our girls spend a lot time on the bathroom playing Uno.
Room size was good and beds were really big, if a little hard for my taste. There is even a pillow menu, which we didn't need since we found the regular ones very good for our taste.
The hotel staff was professional and friendly (not always the case in Estonia). We enjoyed good meals at their restaurant. There was a small hiccup on our order one evening but the waiter noticed it and offered apologies and complimentary dessert.
The location from the Old Town is too far for us to walk, but it's so easy to take taxi outside of the entrance. Distance is short a prices are very reasonable. We also used the next-door department store Stockmann for quick shopping. It's so close that you don't even need an overcoat to go there.
Overall we were pleasantly suprised by the hotel being so suitable for family travelers.

Room Tip: Connecting rooms are a great family choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aboutright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I've been at Swissotel Tallin in November. We spontaneously spent a night in Tallinn and decided to try out this Hotel. Besides the long waiting time for check-in we had a tremendous time. We only staid one night but personnel was very friendly. They helped us with getting around the city and gave us an amazing room according to our wishes. The breakfast buffet was amazing and still makes my mouth water when thinking of it!!

A big plus point is the bar on top of the building. From there you usually have a great view. Unfortunately, while we were there, there was a snow storm so view was a little bit restricted!! Overall we enjoyed every single minute of our stay!!

Room Tip: I don't think it's worth to book a harbor view room during winter as snow limits your view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#11 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Property: Swissotel Tallinn
Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing