We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel which makes you feel special”
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Swissotel Tallinn is a lovely modern hotel 15 minute walk from the Old Town. It is spacious, modern and very welcoming. The staff are very helpful and accommodating. The rooms ate spacious, modern and to a very high standard. We had a sea view room which I would recommend. The rooms are well equipped and the coffee machine facilities in the room is an added bonus. The mini bar is well equipped. The bathroom is exquisite with a wonderful shower and gorgeous oval deep bath. The decor is to die for! Breakfast in the Swiss Vafe has everything to offer from continental to full English and everything in between. The icing on the cake is the views as it is on the 8th floor. The hotel restaurant is on the top floor where you can have pre dinner cocktails followed by a meal second to non. The spa in the hotel offers luxurious treatments, of which we enjoyed 'The sweethearts massage' followed by lunch in the hotel restaurant. Tallinn is a mix of old and new perfectly preserved and something new around each corner. The euro is good at the moment do reasonable value for money. A meal for 2 at lunchtime cost 20 euros in an evening depending on where you eat can be 60-80 euros per couple. Taxi can be 10 door from the airport and 5-8 euro around town. The Estonia open air museum is worth a visit as long as it doesn't rain! Which it did! Evening meal at Kuldse Notsu Korts was fantastic with excellent service and spontaneous entertainment from a Russian group of jazz players who sung to us and played their instruments to perfection such an enchanting evening.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephZak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 2,201 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We booked this hotel for our single day visiting Tallinn thinking it would be a more efficient choice for arriving early, sightseeing all day, and then leaving early for the airport the following day. When we arrived this morning, the hotel told us they wouldn't let us check-in or freshen up or even walk through the lobby until 2pm during official check in hours. They were expecting a big governmental conference and this took priority over general guests and even the senior manager didn't think he was "allowed" to make an exception even though there were rooms ready and not a single conference attendee had arrived yet at the time we were attempting to check in. if the hotel feels that general guests are second class citizens to conference attendees then they should not accept reservations during conferencs or communicate it in afvance so a traveler knows the challenge they will face.

This crazy policy was especially frustrating since we corresponded directly with the hotel to book lunch and dinner reservations and the hotel knew we were arriving early and failed to communicate that we wouldn't be allowed to walk into the hotel until 2pm and would have to leave sightseeing in the old town to come back in the middle of the day to check in at a time that was convenient for them. Since the seeming efficiency is the only advantage of this hotel, and the ones in the old town are much more charming, there is no reason to stay here. For th record, the part of the lobby I could see looked tacky and generic.

As a further note, the hotel was so clueless that they couldn't figure out how to look up the cancellation policy for our reservation and I had to look up the confirmation email on my iPad to show them it was not a problem to cancel. Pretty ridiculous!

Do not book this hotel....unless you are attending a conference there of course.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThirtyByThirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, The management of Swissôtel Tallinn at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

The Management of Swissôtel Tallinn regrets the incident with the guests on the 28th of May 2012. Early check in (10am) was not possible as the hotel was exclusively booked from 24 – 28 May for an international conference with high security levels. All rooms were occupied, so there were no rooms available for check in or freshen up. By noon the security measures were released and the hotel was open for guests. Rooms were available around 1 pm.
Lunch and dinner reservations were indeed made for guests, but it was never stated that check in would take place before the lunch. Otherwise guests would have been informed about particular check in situation.
Swissôtel agreed on the cancellation of the reservation and advised the guest to cancel the reservation herself via Expedia as Swissôtel Tallinn is not allowed to do so. Swissôtel was not aware of type of reservation made by the guest or on the cancellation terms & conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This is a great hotel situated approximately 10 minutes walk from the old town. It's a short 5-7 minute taxi ride from the airport (expect to pay 6-7 Euro). The hotel is modern with great amenities. There are exceptional views from the top floors. An excellent breakfast in the morning was enough to see you through until dinner. There are lots of wonderful older hotels in the 'old city' of Tallinn but when I was there (a Saturday night) I think the choice to stay outside was a good one. The town becomes loud with lots of partying and plenty of drunks from 12.30am onwards. Staff were friendly and courteous

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side which faces the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieLawyer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Hotel is situated just few blocks away from the Old town, which can be reached on foot in 10 min. It is also conveniently located on the main road to the airport. Directly next to it is a large Stockamann department store, there are also several other large shopping centers close to the hotel.
Although from the outside, it's basically a unattractive glass box, once inside, it feels very warm and cosy. Everything feels elegantly modern and very stylish, with a touch of luxury. Rooms are decently large, very bright, comfortable, and have some great views (the view of the old town is partially blocked by the Radisson hotel, and all other sides have great views over harbor, parks, and/or water).
Bathroom is very large, with both bath tub and a shower, and a lot of amenities. There is a translucent white glass wall between the bathroom and the rest of the room, which gives the whole place a nice modern touch.
The room comes with a surprisingly small TV, and relatively limited number of english language channels. Though a DVD player can is provided upon request. There is also a free WiFi all over the hotel.
Room service was really great, and food very tasty (though a bit pricey for Tallinn). Breakfast offer is decently good, and of high quality, but presented in a lovely way in a excitingly beautiful restaurant, which makes it really a nice start of the day.
Spa could've been bigger, but as rest of the hotel, is very elegant and stylish and really relaxing, including a beautiful pool with very nice views over the harbor (including a sauna with it's own a great views over the city). I've really enjoyed it and can only recommend it.
Overall a great hotel, could only recommend it to anyone visiting Tallinn. Very comfortable, stylish, elegant, cosy, great service, and decent location

Room Tip: Look for a room on a higher floor for nice views, any side is great, old town view is not that excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dBogda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

A great hotel about five minutes walk to the Old Town. Great breakfast, good room service menu (reasonably priced) and quality rooms and bathrooms. English spoken by all staff and nothing was too much trouble. I'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emailellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I have being in other hotels in Tallinn, but the Swissotel Tallinn is the best so far. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious with a awesome view of the Tallinn habour and Baltic sea. Clean, large bathroom with a good size bathtub, bath robes, and all the amenities you need, even fresh fruit in the room.
The hotel is outside of the Old city, but is a five minute walk.
The have a lounge in the 28th floor, that serves light snacks all day long, good place to go in the middle of the afternoon to have a drink, or a light meal.
The Purovel SPA is fantastic, nice staff, very polite and the treatments are just perfect. Also the pool/sauna/exercise room are clean and well keep it.
The bar on the top floor has an nice view of the city, good to chill out!

Overall, this was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlaviaGois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Having not so much time for our honeymoon we decide to have a reduced one in a close destination (living in Finland, Estonia is pretty close).
I checked with a friend of mine who has experience in the sector and one of the hotels he recommended was the Swiss Hotel.
I booked via their webpage and got a quick confirmation (not an auto-reply but a personal one) with some tips about services they offered for newly weds like us. Since they were slightly pricey and we wanted to try other spas, restaurants, etc, we just booked a room for two nights.
Since we came with the ferry we were pretty early at the hotel and not being the room ready, the smiley personal at the reception offered to store our luggage. After visiting around we came back (the old town is at 10 minutes walking distance), made a very fast check - in at the huge reception and got our luggage sent to our room. Already at check-in we were asked if we wished to have a late check out, which we thanked for.
The room was at floor 25 (the hotel has 30, being the tallest building downtown) which a huge view over the harbour and the old town. Amazing.
The room itself had a huge bed (over 2m I guess), an expresso machine (which I did enjoy several times) a comfortable desk and reading corner. The bathroom was huge, having a tube, a shower and a large mirror.
Some minutes after arrival the service knocked the room and offered us a bottle of champagne and some strawberries with chocolate as a compliment from the management. A very very nice detail I must admit, which we enjoyed watching the sun over the town.
Both nights we were there we took a drink at the sky bar located on the top floor. Really good drink menu at "european" prices (more expensive than local bars but the view was worth it) and the last morning we had breakfast at the Swiss café located on floor 8, very recommendable as well even pricey (19.5 €). The same morning we visited the SPA which was pretty simple, but a nice to have at the hotel when having a couple of dead hours (very nice over the town from the finnish sauna).
Every member of the staff we met was smiling and saying hi, from the bartender to the cleaning lady.

A hotel I do really recommend when visiting Tallin.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the harbour. Ask for a high floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#3 of 86 in Tallinn
1,735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#10 of 86 in Tallinn
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £113 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing