We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #3 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
warsaw
Level Contributor
185 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Almost perfect weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Spent here romantic weekend and ended up to choose this hotel because it was nb1 on this list. Well, the offer was pretty ok too (145e for grand room without breakfast). Hotel itself is truly 5star but as you book 5star hotel you might have 5star expectations....

+ room simply great, liked the decor, size and views over old town
+ bathroom had both bath and shower
+ lavazza espresso machine + tea pot
+ tens of TV Channels
+ top-floor bar serving fantastic drinks
+ spa area very nice, 2 saunas and pool
+ spa treatments PERFECT
+ location ok, close to shopping and old town

- only one weak point was room service food. Breakfast came, after calling, 20mins late and included barely warm omelettes with old piece of salad and unedible bread.

Anyway, no problem to recommend this hotel! Cheapest room price was pretty identic to other hotels in the area that are far from Swissotel's quality. The best hotel in Tallinn so far.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mokoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,541
    371
    65
    19
    19
See reviews for
245
798
109
546
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is an exceptionally nice property, that is very well maintained with a great staff of helpful and friendly people. The only negative from my stay was that I found the staff from the top floor restaurant and bar to be very rude and snooty, I would not recommend giving them your business after repeatedly being insulted I walked out. On the other hand the ground floor bar and concierge are some of the nicest people, some of the best in the business. I would happily visit these friends again while avoiding the top floor areas.

Room Tip: The views of the water are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dugbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We (group of 4) arrived in Tallinn by ferry from Helsinki, and took a taxi to the hotel. The journey took about 5 minutes and cost just over €5 total (not per person).

We had a room on the 26th floor with views over the city. The room rate was €104 for a twin room, not including breakfast, but it did include a free cocktail at the hotel bar. (This is one of the highest in Tallinn, with great views). On the last day we discovered we had access to the executive lounge, which was surprising as we booked the cheapest rate and were not told we had access when we checked in.

We didn't have breakfast as it was very expensive (which is often the case) and had to walk to the old town area, as there are not many places for breakfast immediately close to the hotel.

Our room contained two double beds and had plenty of storage space to unpack, and put our suitcases away. Each bed had an LED reading light and small shelf with access to power sockets. The floor was polished wood, with a large rug around the beds. A Lavazza coffee machine was provided, along with a separate kettle.

The bathroom door, and the wall dividing the bathroom from the bedroom, is made from darkened glass. However it is not entirely opaque; you can still clearly see the outline of people as they shower or use the toilet. This was even worse if the bedroom lights were off but the bathroom lights were on. For this reason I would not recommend the hotel if you are travelling on business and sharing a room with a colleague.

On our first day we left the hotel at 10am, and returned at 4pm to discover the room had not been serviced (neither had our friends in the second room). Although we were able to call reception and request housekeeping service the room, I thought it unusual that this wasn’t done as standard during the day.

The hotel has a very nice swimming pool, steam room and sauna, which have windows overlooking the city.

The hotel is approximately a 10 minute walk to the old town area, which contains most of the tourist attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kotka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Nice and clean hotel, but not as good as we expected from five star hotel, four or four and half maximum stars. Location is good and breakfast is nice. Top floor bar is fantastic. Gym is small, spa ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Heikki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Tallinn has a lot of nice hotels, I've stayed in a few but this is the best so far:
- Service is excellent
- Rooms are totally up to date, clean, and decent sized
- Bathroom clean, mine had a bathtub and a larger than normal shower cubicle
- Room had plenty of wardrobe and desk space, chairs were comfortable
- Lots of uplighters and downlighters therefore you can set the light level to however you want it
- Room service very efficient. I ordered breakfast as I was leaving before the restaurant opened and it was good (warm, fresh tasting, good quantities)
- Room was modern, large flatscreen TV, various TV inputs available
- Wireless internet available and was a reasonable speed

I didn't make it to the gym nor swimming pool, but it looked great looking at the pictures.

There is also a bar on the top floor which was great - a bit expensive by Estonian standards but a great view, atmosphere, service and good cocktail choice.

If you're lucky then you'll find your room also has a good view (of either the city or harbour).

The hotel has a taxi stand outside it and is a couple of minutes walk to the city centre. The old city is approx. 10 min walk away.
I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKLondonTravellerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you very much for choosing Swissôtel Tallinn and for giving such a nice overview of your experiences during travelling! We are delighted to hear that our design and service have met your expectations and also for naming our hotel the best in Tallinn. We are also happy to see that you had the chance to get to know our selection of cocktails while enjoying the stunning views from the top floor. Pürovel Spa & Sport is definitely good enough reason to visit Swissôtel Tallinn again in the nearest future. Therefore please do not hesitate to contact us in case you are planning to get to know more about Tallinn during summer time or plan to have another business trip here; it would be an absolute pleasure to try and even exceed your expectations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

True value for money! Rooms were better than you could imagine and service works very well. I had a trip with friends and this hotel offered the best location and the room was so comfy that you could spend the whole time without leaving the room!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank pielap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

After much prevarication, I booked this hotel with a nagging concern that it would be characterless and off the beaten track. In a sense it was both - but not in a bad way. It's a modern, well-designed corporate hotel but it's supremely comfortable and the friendly, knowledgeable, outgoing staff bring it to life. And yes, it is ten minutes' walk from Tallinn Old Town but we were actually pleased to be staying in a more 'real' part of the city, somewhat away from the now slightly 'Disney-fied' Old Town. It's also well-located for the airport; the bus stops right outside and whisks you there in fifteen minutes.

The buffet breakfast offers an almost ludicrously wide choice of options and the spa was a good place to spend a wet afternoon when the charm of pounding the streets in the rain waned.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, General Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to stay in Swissôtel Tallinn!
We are glad to hear that the staff and the design of our hotel created a good impression and that you were pleased with your choice of the hotel. Pürovel Spa & Sport is indeed a good place to spend some quality time, especially during a rainy day. We are happy to hear that you also enjoyed our breakfast selection and hopefully it gave a perfect start to your morning. It has been an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we would be delighted to welcome you here again in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 82 in Tallinn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
#10 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Property: Swissotel Tallinn
Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing