We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Nice modern hotel in good location. I had read that it was far from Old Town area but it was a very easy walk. We upgraded to the Executive Floor which was nice. Nice views from the Lounge and from the rooms. Gym area very crowded when I was there. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Would stay there again. Looks like the nicest most modern hotel in Tallinn

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBSF12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying in Swissôtel Tallinn! We are pleased to hear about your stay see your positive comments here on TripAdvisor!

It is nice to hear that you have enjoyed your time while staying in a guest room on our Executive floor. We are glad to hear that our team got to be friendly and helpful and we appreciate your kind feedback highly.

The location of the hotel indeed is convenient and the magical Old Town is only a short walk away. As it is almost time to start making plans for Christmas holidays, our Old Town with its Christmas market is sure worth a visit.

We do hope that we will have a chance to welcome you back to our hotel soon and until then we´d like to wish to you a great autumn season ahead!

Kind regards,

Swissôtel Tallinn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,175)
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Tallinn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 2,175 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

I was able to stay here for work a few years ago. The facility is amazing. Breakfast was perfect with a large number of choices including some for us more adventurous eaters. The pool and spa facilities were clean and well maintained. Great location within walking distance to Old Town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jaymalachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel Tallinn and for remembering us after the years gone by from your stay!

We are please to hear that we could play a part in making your business trip to Tallinn successful. We are glad to hear that you have appreciated the breakfast selection in restaurant Café Swiss as well as the maintenance of our Pürovel Spa & Sport facilities. The location of our hotel is indeed convenient, especially taking from where the Old Town is situated. Hopefully you also had a chance to do some sightseeing there and get to know the city a bit.

It would be great to have you stay with us again in the nearest future to create more wonderful memories of Tallinn!


Kind regards,

Swissôtel Tallinn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Swissotel - Tallinn

We stayed for three nights in August. Although we'd booked on line we upgraded to a room higher up the building with a sea view (22nd floor) when we checked in (€10 per night and in our opinion well worth it). The view over the harbour was great and you could watch the hot air balloon going up and down and the ships come and go.

From the airport the hotel is only a short taxi ride. It cost us €8 so not worth organising a lift before hand, just exit the airport and the taxi rank is right outside. I would suggest that you ask the driver for an indication of the cost just to make sure you don't get ripped off (one taxi driver tried to charge us €21 for a trip from the harbour to the hotel when it had cost €8 to go the opposite way, we had to have a little chat)!

The hotel is the tallest building in Tallinn from what I could make out. A very imposing building in the business quarter but only a very pleasant 15 minute walk to the old town. The reception process was very polite, welcoming and efficient. There is a cafe, bar and lounge area next to reception and four lifts to take you to your room.

The bedroom was very clean, large bathroom with oval bath, separate shower with standard and rain shower heads, large sink, heated towel rail and the usual guest amenities. The shower leaked onto the bathroom floor during use and although we brought this to the attention of the hotel they didn't do anything about it.

In the bedroom there is a three doored wardrobe housing an ironing board, safe, cloths hanging rail and shelves. Here was a large, flat screen TV, mini bar with fridge, kettle and also a coffee maker (pods). The air conditioning unit wasn't particularly affective however if left on then it kept the room cool but not cold. The bed was enormous and very comfortable. The pillows were useless, as if they were just filled with air. There was a pillow menu so we tried to order a few different ones which all seemed a little bit too difficult...all we wanted was a firm pillow...what we ended up with on the first night was one filled with straw...no seriously...straw...we did eventually get a standard pillow the following day!

The leisure facilities are beautiful. Sauna, steam, pool and a fully equipped gym. The standards are very high, clean, comfortable and quiet...very enjoyable. Well worth popping down for an hour or so. Check out the scales fitted into the carpet as you exit the lift

Breakfast was ok, plenty of choice and of good quality however only let down by the inconsistency of the food available. Some mornings there would be a healthy supply of breads, fruit, water, cooked items and the next it would seem that the choice had been reduced significantly...
There is a chef out front cooking eggs / omelettes to order and generally keeping the hot food topped up. The room used for breakfast, which is on the 8th floor, is also a cafe at lunchtime although we didn't use it.

There is a high class restaurant and bar on the 30th floor. We didn't eat but we did have a night cap one evening and the bar was surprisingly busy after midnight.

All in all, a great hotel. The overall environment is of a high standard. The staff are smart and efficient and the attention to detail is high.

Hope this helps

Ps - if you fancy a trip to Helsinki for the day it costs €8 to go to the port in a taxi from the hotel and the Linda Line Ferry is a passenger only ferry and takes around 1hr 40mins each way - well worth it

Room Tip: If you upgrade to a room higher up the view is well worth it
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TJBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us here in Tallinn.

The top floors of the building are definitely worth staying at and we are glad you made that decision. We hope you also had the time to dine in Horisont Restaurant on or 30th floor!

Pürovel Spa & Sport is an excellent place to enjoy a little break from the city which sometimes is all you need after a day of travelling! We would like to thank you for your kind comments about our hotel staff being smart and efficient, your feedback will surely be appreciated by the entire team. Attention to detail is what we try to keep in mind each step of the way and we are glad to hear that it also reflected during your stay.

Thank you for coming back to us on TripAdvisor and hopefully Swissôtel Tallinn will have a chance to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Swissôtel Tallinn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed here for 10 days in August. the staff were friendly, the room was spacious and well equiped. The guy/pool/sauna area were spotless and well maintained. If i had some negatives, it would be that the gym isn't open 24 hrs. It's difficult to get to the gym during "normal hours" if you're working long hours. The glass walled bathroom is also a little bit strange, but it's definitely not worth taking a star off. If you're in Tallinn and looking for a great hotel. This is the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leguman307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for the review on Swissôtel Tallinn! We are very pleased to hear you had chosen our hotel for your stay in Tallinn.

Great to hear that you had a chance to visit our Pürovel Spa & Sport pool and sauna area during your time with us. We hope that you had a little time to discover the beautiful city of Tallinn and also dine in our divine restaurants during your stay!

We look forward to welcome you again in the nearest future!

Kind regards,

Swissôtel Tallinn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the 13th floor. The view of the city was nice. Furniture is modern and comfortable. If you like privacy, you may not like the bathroom which is separated from the bedroom by glass walls. Breakfast on the concierge floor is extraordinarily good.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ViviCharlotte_NC_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Swissôtel Tallinn. We think breakfast is important and we put a lot of effort on making it as enjoyable as possible for our guests. We are truly happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had time to dine in other food outlets in our hotel as well!

It would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again in the nearest future!


Kind regards,

Swissôtel Tallinn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

A lovely hotel, well thought out facilities in the guest room .
Was a real pleasure staying there, will definitely recommend the hotel to anyone planning a trip to Tallinn.
Only negative comment I have about the hotel is that the room was too hot , could not lower the temperature .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts
Thank Asha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STL_Swissotel, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Tallinn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending us to other travelers, we are very happy we have created such wonderful impressions!

Hopefully you also found a chance to relax and enjoy some quality time in our 11th floor Pürovel Spa & Sport during your stay with us. If not there is plenty of reason to come back! Plus the three restaurants we have here are excellent and definitely worth a visit!

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Swissôtel Tallinn in the nearest future and we´d like to wish to you only great travelling experiences until then!


Kind regards,

Swissôtel Tallinn Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I booked this hotel, lured by the good reviews here. But here is the fact: first disappointment as I entered the hotel lobby. Although the space was not too small, there was not enough sitting area because of poor layout. At the time of check in, had to wait in a very long line at the reception desk because only 2 staffs were taking care of all the guests rushing into the hotel at the same time. Elevator required a room card to work, but it constantly did not recognize the card so I had to keep inserting it 4 to 5 times on average to make it work, what a stress! The carpet in the corridor had some kind of strange marks everywhere as if water had flooded in the past or something, giving an impression of an outdated hotel. The guest room was quite spacious with a nice view over the city, but the bathroom was a minus with a semi see -through glass wall which I would not recommend unless you wish to share what is going on in the bathroom with the one you stay with. The bathroom appliances were modern and fancy, but there was an issue with the sink. The bottom of the sink was flat, no slope causing a very slow drainage. Breakfast buffet was pricey and at 22 eur you could expect more than limited choice of food and the cold coffee. I strongly recommend going out and eating in a restaurant near the old town where you could spend just half of that money for a decent breakfast. I have many other things to say, but I will stop here with the most important impression I had of this hotel : the staffs are lacking hospitality. Not helpful. when I asked them about how to get to a place, I was given an inaccurate answer, so I had to walk a long way with my luggage when there was a shortcut which I realized later on. I am not saying that they are not friendly or neglecting their required task. It is just that they never do more than the basic task they were told to do. simply not willing to proact. And this is the very last complaint. On the day of check out, at 11:30 am, the housekeeper knocked the door and even before I ran to the door to answer she opened the door on her own and tried to enter, it was only 11:30 am, the check out time is 12 so I had to tell her that i will be checking out soon so no need to make up the room now. As I packed all my luggage and was about to leave the room for good, it was 12:15 and the phone rang probably reminding me that I was late by 15 minutes and urging me to leave the room as soon as possible. Come on, 15 minutes after 12? Why is the hotel in such a hurry? Is this the hotel of 5 star luxury hospitality? I will never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank CarolineYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
588 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#10 of 86 in Tallinn
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £124 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing