We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Combination between leisure and business”
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2010

The Swissotel Tallinn is by far the best hotel in and around Tallinn. You feel that there is structure in the operation, consistancy with individuality.
Before my wife and I went to Tallinn as one of more and more upcoming metropoles, we had to choose between an individual hotel like Savoy, Telegraaf, Schloessle and Swissotel.
We surely were a little bit concenred because the hotel reflected more of a business o office building on the pictures we have seen at several websites.
But I gotta tell you that once you enter the building, you see 5 Star level straight away. Extensive interior, stylish lounge bar and deli shop and all kept in heavy brown colors with nice accents everywhere. We booked a corner room facing old town and the port. underneath the busy Gonsiori street made its way along the hotel seem to go into nowhere on the horizon. We had also a partial view to the neighbour building, which was intersting until it got dark outside. As much as we could see other people could see us, too. There are surely nice apartments in the other building! our room was on the 22nd floor and the views are breath taking. Especially, if you have the sun at mignight touching the sky. We had a challenge to sleep though BECAUSE it didn't get dark. But it wasn't a bad thing at all because I made some of the photos, I ever did.
And if you want, you can always clip the curtains together, so no sunlight(daylight) will keep you away from sleeping.
Breakfast at Cafe Swiss was wonderful. The staff do need a little bit more attentive training because we had to ask for more coffe or to clean up the table. The hostess was very polite and spoke english well.
A MUST DO when you are in Tallinn is to have dinner at Horisont Restaurant.
I have barely tasted food that good for a considerable cheap price. Usually food of the quality you get at this restaurant will cost double and is decorated with at least 1 Michelin Star. That brings me to the question why this restaurant hasn't been recognized yet. it is open for morethan a year now. Is the Michaelin Guise sleeping? The wine selection was great. i am a friend of New World wines but cannot look away, if a good Boreaux is on the list too. The wines are still quite young but the prices are ok. I can recommend Liebich Shiraz from Australia - a fantastic bouquet and mouth.
if haven't done it before dinner make sure you cisit the lounge bar connected to the restaurant afterwards. We did it and we stayed and drank until 2am. Remember the sun is not setting or at least not for long. The service in both, the restaurant and bar was excellent. The waitress spoke english well and were acting according to the fine dining environment.
The cocktail list reads like no other. Watermelon Martinie, Cucumber Martini, Honey and Grape Bellini etc. and trust me in this bar you will get one of the best Mojitos ever made.
After an evening like that you will fall in your bed and sleep like on a cloud. At least I believe that the feeling would be similar.
We also explored Tallinn by foot since the hotel is only 15 minutes away from the old town. The weather was on our side and the sun was shining. it is a faboulas town and incredibly high on history combined with architecture and design. This town is great.
We did visit a couple of restaurants besides Horisont. Vertigo is just off the hotel. The outlet is nice, very elegent, the hostess is well spoken and polite. The restaurant reflects the style of food or the food it doesn't have. The waitress however acted like it had to be a privilege for to to be served by her or to get a seat in this empty restaurant. She was snobby and ignorant at times. The menu looked inviting but after the waitress told us what was not available on the menu our mood turned around and did we. We left. We ate this time at Cafe Swiss in the hotel and the service was once again very nice. The service staff is really interested in their guests. They are acting as concierge for the hotel and make sure that you don't miss nothing in this town. He had a similar experience the night before in Horisont. They mentioned to us a couple of clubs, we should go to before we leave town. The waitress told us about Prive, Koheksa and Bonbon. We ended up in Prive. It was a nice evening.
The next morning, we couldn't believe that our town trip was supposed to end already. We had to check out. We had no chance to test the incredible pool or Spa, we could not go to the Executive Lounge and we missed so many things to see in Tallinn.
That leaves only one conclusion. WE WILL BE BACK SWISSOTEL.
Thank you for a very nice stay.
Once we are back I have to make sure to write down all the names of the people who were so accomodating. I am sure that every single sould at this hotel has a sense for hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7_seas_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,175)
There are newer reviews for Swissotel Tallinn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,390 - 1,396 of 2,175 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2010

I have started to stay at the Swissotel regularly for business trips to Tallinn. It's very popular with the company I work for and for good reason. It's a very nice hotel. The staff and very helpful and the rooms are excellent, both stylish and comfortable. It's only maybe a 10-15 min walk to the centre of the old town, so the location is ok.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamieosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2010

I stayed here with my father and two brothers for a long weekend. It was our annual golf trip, which we do every spring before golf courses open their doors in Finland.

We stayed at the One Bedroom Swiss Executive Suite, which was very good for four persons. Hotel is new, so room was in very good shape and everything was clean. Swiss Executive Lounge was also very good. A good variety of food and drinks. Hotel has also very good sauna and pool facilities.

Tallinn is nice town in spring/summertime and next time in town I’ll definitly stay here again.

Photos and more hotel reviews at my travel blog:
http://petterikukkonen.wordpress.com/2010/03/02/swissotel_tallinn_tallinn_estonia/

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Loved our stay at the Swissotel Tallinn! Great specious rooms, modern, amazing service from the start to finnish. The location is 10 minutes walk from the old city and right next to Stockmann which is convenient. We loved the breakfast, which was diverse, fresh and again with attentive service from the helpful staff. We will def. come back again and recommend this to all our friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelVav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2010

Staff is impeccable: smily, friendly, easy going, The rooms are perfect with a view, but more than anything else... spare time for the spa: wonderful cosy changing rooms, steam room, sauna overlooking the city, elegant swimming pool and a real fitness room with the latest equipment... open from 6 till 23, that is what I call service. You also want to try the restaurant and excellent food, creative, fusion between Slavic/scandinavian and more European traditional food. Top choice!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leedailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

The room was modern and comfortably furnished with a nice view over the city and the sea.The coffee machine was a big hit with our young daughter who loved to prepare coffee for mommy.
The only negative thing that needs to be mentioned in the room is the leaking shower and the awfully flat sink . Both are great to look at but lack of functionality.
I was also bit dissappointed with the cleanliness since the same paper piece was lying in the same spot in the floor for days without being picked up .Also bathroom floor was not cleaned/mopped properly .
The fitness room was despite being not too spacey adaquately equipped and fully sufficient for a regular workout.
Breakfast was quite good with great pastries.
Overall I thought that the value was quite good for the rate paid.
It needs to be mentioned though that the location of the hotel is not very close to the old city and is about 20 minutes walking distance.
Also liked the spa and the swimmong pool.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madamtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2010

Arrived the hotel after a long bus ride from Riga. The hotel is located in the middle of Tallinn next to Stockmann department store.

Check-in was at the executive lounge on the 28th. floor and not in the reception. I had booked a room with lounge access. Check in was quick, and got a room with view over the old town as I had requested. Room 2804, just next to the lounge.

The room is big and bright with huge windows, and a big comfortable bed. The bathroom is just amazing. Huge tub, and the largest rainshower head I have ever seen. Heated floors.

Lavazza coffee machine, iPod dock, LCD TV, nice minibar.

Nice swimming pool on the 11th. floor, and a okay gym.

Tips!
The airport is very close to the hotel, and both bus nr 2 and a taxi takes you to the hotel within 10-15 min.

I would stay again, if I got a better deal. €155 per night is to much for Estonia and Tallinn.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oslo000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 86 in Tallinn
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 86 in Tallinn
1,720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 86 in Tallinn
1,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nordic Hotel Forum
Nordic Hotel Forum
#10 of 86 in Tallinn
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £124 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing