We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with wow factor but....”
Review of Swissotel Tallinn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Tallinn
Ranked #3 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“A hotel with wow factor but....”
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Recently spent 5 nights at the Swissotel in two stays separated by two days.

This hotel has the wow factor by the ton but is really over designed where style and form take precident over comfort and character.

It is located in a sterile dead part of the small city centre (I think they'd call it the business district), okay for the Euro-business man but not a good choice for the tourist. There is a new branch of the Finnish retail giant Stockmann next door (the Helsinki branch is so much better if a little more expensive due to VAT etc, staffed by polite people, not rude and indifferent like in Tallinn) and a few minutes walk further away is the rest of the newer city centre and shopping area. It is then another 10 minute walk to get into the heart of the old town - believe me, it becomes a drag to do it everyday to get to the interesting sights, restaurants and shops located in the old town.

Check in was efficient and polite and we were dispatched to our standard room on the 23rd floor with no fuss at all. These standard rooms are not shown on the web site so don't be swayed by those web pictures!

We had a broken safe and no iron (but there was an ironing board). Credit due, all this was rectified quickly and efficently but it should not had occurred in the first place - don't they check the rooms before putting them out for occupation?

The room had good views over the east of the city. However, it was cold, sterile and unwelcoming - all hard surfaces, lacquer, stainless steel, nasty zebrano wood veneer (all over the hotel), laminate wood flooring and painted walls. It was all very expensive looking but souless and the two 60's inspired swivel chairs were uncomfortable too. There was a good cappachino machine - Lavazza, that was simple to use and produced excellent coffee (fill with boiling water from the kettle first to get a hot cup!). The lighting in the room was over done too and we just kept the LED bedside lamps on which gave a cosier feel.

The bathroom was beautiful, bronze, black and gold mosiac and very large. We only had a shower but 5 people could have fitted in it! The wash hand basin was a grey granite slab and was a good example of form over function. The tap was so close to the basin bottom that anything other than a trickle from the tap caused water to splash all over the place including yourself.

The worst aspect of the bathroom was the frosted glass wall facing the bedroom. This is 'designer ' gone mad. Who thought that was a good idea! Liked the underfloor heating though!

Breakfast was very good but the service was erratic, lots of very pretty girls stood round doing nothing! Took ages to get coffee and once the buffet was depleated it took numerous requests to get fresh stocks! However, there was a good choice and it all tasted good.

On our return visit, we had a similarly efficient check in and the luggage we left from our first stay was returned promptly. We had a similar room but two floor higher in exactly the same location. This time the safe worked but there was still no iron which we had to ask for. This time we had breakfast in the room and this was very good - served on time, nicely presented and plenty of it - we could'nt finish it all! But the remains stayed in the room most of the day - still there when we returned late afternoon and cheese we did not eat really smelled the room out!

Check out was similarly efficient and there are taxis waiting outside the hotel 24 hours but they were a little more expensive than ones we used from other locations in the city.

We had lunch in the Swiss Cafe on the day we left and it was very good. The Swiss Cafe is also 'very designer' and very expensive looking with beautiful crockery etc. Its not too uncomfortable either despite odd shaped chairs and fitted seating. The restaurant was virtually empty but there were lots of staff (those pretty girls again!) but the service was slow - what do they do?! We had five different servers for a one course meal for two!! The meal was very good actually, and very reasonable in cost. The Swiss Cafe keeps silly hours though, only open two evenings a week but every day for lunch. Maybe it is just not well used? We also had cake and coffee at the ground floor coffee shop. Very delicious and impeccable service - but then we were the only ones there and the server must have been glad to be occupied!

On reflection, we'd have preferred to stay in the old town (there are some lovely looking 5* hotels there too) and we don't think that location would have been too noisy despite the heavily tourist orientated feel the place has. If only the locals in the shops, museums and cafes were a little more friendly! Three days would have been sufficient to do the small city justice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whinbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,609
    379
    71
    19
    20
See reviews for
255
836
113
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This is a beautifully fitted out hotel located about ten minutes' walk from the historic Old Town. The room (an executive one) was quite large, with a large bathroom equipped with bath and shower, and we had access to an executive lounge when it's open from midday until 10pm daily.

The room and the public areas are plush; decor is lovely and stylish and very tasteful. The staff, however, we found rather off-putting. They were efficient and professional, but with a rather cold and unwelcoming manner, which we think is perhaps part of the brand, and is intended to give a professional image to the business executive guest. But it doesn't quite work - more warmth is needed; good hotel staff will exude friendliness and a welcoming courtesy that isn't over-familiar and makes the guest feel at ease and at home. This was lacking at the Swissotel, though we couldn't fault the service. But it will prevent our revisiting this hotel.

What we were most unhappy with was the executive lounge, which all guests staying in executive bedrooms have access to. Here tea, coffee and soft drinks and cakes, biscuits and fruit are available free of charge throughout the day, and, in addition, light luch and light dinner is available and, after 5pm, a range of alcoholic drinks (all self service). However, the hotel categorised this facility (on booking.com) as 'full board'. We were disappointed, having expected to have restaurant service lunch and dinners, with a choice of dishes. Not only were the meals on offer too light to satisfy us - especially for dinner, but there was little choice (no vegetarian choices), and it was cafeteria quality, left standing on a hotplate for up to four hours while people come and hel themselves - or find it's run out. Calling this 'full board' is very misleading; we ended up having to go out to restaurants for dinner - and Tallin isn't cheap. On this basis, the hotel is overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smitherson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We spent 3 nights in July in a standard room. The hotel was the best part of Tallinn. We were offered an upgrade to a business class room, and did not want to spend the money since breakfast was in the business lounge, and after seeing the standard room, we could not see any benefit unless you really want the larger room. The espresso machine and other items are standard in all rooms. Also request a room with the shower instead of the tub, and the bath will not appear as see through, and the huge tiled shower is what I liked.
The hotel is located in the business center about a 10 minute walk to Old Town. We thought about staying in Old Town, but we liked the accommodations and price better at the Swissotel. We were very happy with our choice. We found Old Town to be over run with cruise people, and if you so much as paused outside of any shop or café, someone would try to hassle you to come inside or take a table. We found this totally annoying. On this trip we visited St. Petersburg, Stockholm, Oslo, Bergen, Copenhagen, and Helsinki as well as Tallinn. Tallinn is the one city we would never consider going back to. We couldn’t wait to leave and we had a fantastic time in Helsinki.
The hotel breakfast buffet was excellent, and the dinner we had at the Horisont restaurant was the best of our month long trip. It still wouldn’t be a reason to return to Tallinn.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EurotravelerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Clean, good sized bedroom and bathroom. Quiet and well constructed room. A bit of a problem with the aircon/heating dial that malfunctioned and one day the room was not cleaned until I'd mentioned the omission to housekeeping. Good buffet breakfast- always enough seating spaces in the breakfast room. Very pleasant and helpful staff. DVD player and mobile phone charger requested and delivered to the room within 5 minutes.Tallinn is small and walk-able so the fact that the hotel is not located in the old town makes no real difference. Reservation was made direct with the hotel and it responded promptly with all relevant information.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Excellent service, great room but the only thing I didn't like was the see through bathroom/toilet. Even if you're staying with your partner, it's not comfortable to have a see through toilet..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeiMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level 6 Contributor
593 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We had a total of four nights at this hotel, in room 2710, with wonderful views over Tallinn and the port. Being on a club floor meant that the substantial buffet breakfast in the Café Swiss and a light buffet lunch and dinner (including a selection of wines and spirits) in the Club room were included in our rate. The room was spacious with modern amenities – including an espresso machine, complimentary internet and quality bathroom amenities. The beds and pillows (there is a pillow menu if you prefer a different type of pillow) are excellent and the result was a good sleep and waking feeling rested every morning. Staff are friendly and helpful with recommendations. The location is an easy four block stroll to the old town, about 100 meters to the Stockman department store and two blocks (in the direction of the old town) to a large new shopping centre. We will be back for a third visit – after 15 visits to Tallinn this hotel is the best for quality and although not inexpensive, it is value for money.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

It was my 3rd stay in Tallinn. Each time I stayed in Swissotel Tallinn

150 Euro per night for executive room , 3 meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) included !!! None of European hotels of such level can beat this.

Service is great, sleep quality is great, breakfast selection and quality are very good.

The only disappointment is a strange smell in the room. During 2 out of my 3 stays there was a smell commonly associated with some chemicals used for killing insects... That is why I'm giving here just 4 out of 5.

Location is good for business.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexTrav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 85 in Tallinn
505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Telegraaf
Hotel Telegraaf
#4 of 85 in Tallinn
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Sky Hotel
0.6 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Tallinn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Tallinn

Property: Swissotel Tallinn
Address: Tornimaee 3, Tallinn 10145, Estonia
Phone Number:
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#2 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Tallinn 5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This contemporary hotel is set in Tallinn's city center, 800 meters from the Old Town. The hotel offers 238 elegantly appointed guest rooms. Uniquely in Tallinn, the hotel has Executive Floors and a dedicated Swiss Executive Club Lounge. The hotel houses two restaurants and a deli for guests on the run; Purovel Spa & Sport delivers private fitness and relaxation facilities, including an indoor pool, a gym, a sauna and a steam room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Swissotel Tallinn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Tallinn Hotel Tallinn
Swissotel Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Swissotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing