We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a 'marmite' kind of place”
Review of Braavo Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Braavo Spa Hotel
Ranked #44 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 20 April 2012

You'll either love or hate the Braavo - as previous reviews prove. Guide books always mention the bright colours on the walls, but you need to know the hotel really plays second fiddle to Estonia's biggest gym which is part of the complex.

It's more like an upmarket hostel than a hotel. Facilities are basic but clean and adequate. The breakfast isn't very good but the prices are so reasonable, you shouldn't really complain.

Good points - free parking in a city with few and expensive facilities. Free admission to the gym and sauna. I tried the latter and it was good. Great location just a couple of steps from the old town. Families will like the Braavo. There's a big supermarket nearby if you're self-catering.

Bad points - well, it's basic. There's an unfriendly system to get into the car park, best to park somewhere near and walk to reception to arrange to get past the barrier. NB it's very busy with gym people in the early evening. Skylights in upper rooms mean you wake up early! I can well believe reports of noisy aerobics sessions although we found it quiet - until the bin lorries arrive after seven.

Would I stay there again? Yes! But it's not a luxury place - best to spend all day enjoying Tallinn instead of lurking about the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms near the gym if you want to sleep in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farehamvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mann700, Manager at Braavo Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Good Day

Thank you for bringing out the things that You liked and the as well things You didn´t find so good. True, our biggest values are location in the old town, free parking and a good value of money. As You said we are not a luxury hotel but if You are looking for a good accommodation in the old town then that is what we are offering. Our staff is friendly and always there for You. We give a parking card for each client so they wouldn´t have to come here every time they need to leave the parking place. To me it seems that You didn´t have it. I am sorry that You had come to the reception every time You needed someone to open the gate. I hope to see You on Your next visit to Tallinn!

Annika Ülem
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

location was great! shower was excellent!price was good! breakfast was ok! but......room was right about aerobics studio with classes starting every hour from bout 7am! music blaring nearly caused the whole room to shake! all well and good if you're an early riser but not so good when you've sampled the local beer the night before-also housekeeping didn't change our towels on the first day and phone to reception didn't work! overall 2/5

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadnicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mann700, Manager at Braavo Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Good Day

Thank you for Your honest feedback. I read that from many places that there are some rooms which are below the aerobic class and people can not sleep in the morning. This is a problem that we need to deal with. In summer time it is not a problem since the sport club is not working that actively. But yes in winter time it is not so pleasant. Today I can only promise You that we will try to work it out this summer that in future nobody would have to suffer about it. Still I hope that You enjoyed Your stay and Tallinn.
Sincerely Yours
Annika Ülem
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have just returned from Tallinn, where we stopped at the Bravvo Hotel.
If the reception, try to put you into rooms 301 to 309, refuse them !
These rooms are directly over the gym, where the aerobic classes begin at 08:00am.
The sound of pulsating disco music, coupled with the instructor shouting out commands, at this time in the morning is intolerable.
The rooms are very basic, and the breakfast, is poor.

Room Tip: find quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mann700, Manager at Braavo Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Good Day

Thank You for choosing our hotel for stay in Tallinn. As I wrote in my response I am fully aware of this problem and can just tell You that in the summer time we don´t have any aerobic lessons and it is not interrupting our customers. In winter time I know that twice a week we had a morning class and sometimes the music might have been too loud. At the breakfast we serve boiled eggs, porridge, warm sausages, cereals, yogurth, 2 different juice, water, milk, coffee, tea, toast bread, cheese, ham, fruits, tomatoes, cucumbers. I am so sorry if some items were ran out because the variety itself is good.
Best regards
Annika Ülem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Booked hotel through an online booking website that I have used numerous times with no problems and also use in work so am aware of its capabilities.
When the group arrived at the hotel, the numbers had dropped but on explaining this to the hotel they were happy to change triple rooms to twin rooms, Then when the bill was being paid we learned that the hotel decided to still charge triple room rates and they gave a nonsense story that all rooms are the same and they just put in extra beds. They were happy to move guests to twin rooms which are always cheaper, leaving them with triple rooms free to sell but charged triple room prices. Completely unhelpful and borderline rude. Unwilling to do anything with this situation even as a good will gesture.
The food is also terrible so a disappointing trip all round. Just avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shivers2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mann700, Manager at Braavo Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Good Day
As I was trying to explain in my several letters, it was not the case. Iif You have a booking through Booking.com that means You should modify Your reservation yourself. You knew it for a long time that the number of guest is less but still expected the hotel to make the changes on the day of arrival. Our hotel was full that day and we had chosen the rooms to the guests as it was indicated in the booking form. It was impossible for us to change the rooms. We always try to help clients if they have some questions regarding their reservations and as well we do change the reservation if it is very urgent and clients don´t have any access to the internet. I completely undertsand that these things can happen and it is our duty to offer the best service. I am still sorry that our communication didn´t meet up Your expectations and hope that You won´t have the same misunderstanings in the future. Best regards, Annika Ülem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Just got back from a four night stay at Hotel Braavo in Tallinn. We are a family of four and we all loved it here. The room was very comfortable and cleaned daily with fresh towels. We were bed and breakfast, but there was also self catering facilities in the room and we did eat in one night. The bathroom had a great shower, with very nice under floor heating. The beds were upstairs and were very comfortable.
None of us had a problem with breakfast at all. It's not a full English, but I wasn't in England !!!There was something for everyone, including porridge, which my youngest loved.
The hotel is situated in a great location. Tallinn is a wonderful city, with so much to see and do. Elk soup in the medieval inn at the town hall was 1 euro and tasted great.
If I had to find a fault about the hotel it would be that we could here the music from the gym, but it wasn't a problem.
We will definately go back to Tallinn and would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aitchjay_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mann700, Manager at Braavo Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Good Day
Thank you for your warm feedback. It is very nice pleasant to read that You stayed so satisfied and loved everything about our hotel and Tallinn. We do have a really good location in the old town with many extra amenities. We hope to welcome You back soon.
Best regards
Annika Ülem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I was shocked to see the 'Avoid avoid avoid' comments, discovered after I had booked a couple of months ago. Went expecting the worst and was very pleasantly surprised. Excellent location, just outside the Old Town by 50m, friendly informative staff, very good sized rooms, simply but adequately furnished, comfy bed, great shower/bath, though maybe a little high for people with joint difficulties, walls on the thin side so noise could travel but I was there for 7 days and slept well, curtains could have been thicker to reduce the street lights at night. Breakfast was fine, cereal, muesli, porridge, boiled eggs, breads including the excellent Estonian Rye bread, yoghurt drink, savaloys, cold meat, cheese slices, it was more than adequate, and I didn't tire of it. I used the complementary gymnasium and saunas which were excellent and the WIFI was an excellent connection! And yes I would stay again!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trudgerrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mann700, Manager at Braavo Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Good Day
Thank you for finding time to write souch a long and positive review about our hotel. It is a pity of course that Your expectations were not so high in the beginning but hopefully Your positive review will help other customers.
Best regards
Annika Ülem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Just back from a two night break a total mess of a hotel.Tallin is a wonderful livley city and we will defnitaly return but not to this excuse of a hotel. booked because they had a pool, well not anytmore, its a large gym with rooms, breakfast a joke 5 tables for over 30 rooms and little or no food except cucumbers and a young lady taking hand cut tickets with no smile or greeting, in fact the staff in this hotel never SMilE...No phone in our room which was just at entrance on ground floor ..yet to access the room we had to clime up and down 52 steps with our luggage no lifts, eventually we got a phone which was just as well as the sheet on a double bed was a single when i requested a larger one thats the only sized sheet they have and i was the only gust to ever complain, i settled for a second sheet and made the bed myself as housekeeping were gone home. No tea making facilitys no resteurant dont expect to get as much as a bottle of water in this dive, extra pillows were also a problem.. but whatever else you do please do not let them book you a taxi cause just like another contributor we were ripped of 20 euro and we even invloved the police who advised it was a scam between taxi driver and staff in hotel we asked to book the bus that delivers you to your hotel direct great service 5 euro each but receptionest advised that a taxi would be cheeper 6/7 euro and we belived her.Great City will visit again but will never set foot in this dive and would never reccomend to even my worse enemy.

Room Tip: Dont Choose any room
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MaryP48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mann700, Manager at Braavo Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Good Day
The issue with the taxi companies has been on the goverment for many times already. They rob clients and there is not much that we can do. We have a reliable partner Reval Takso whoes services we have been using for many years already. But so-called scam taxis are usually waiting just behind the corner and as soon You are out they offer You their sevices. Unfortunatelly You fell into this trap. That is why we always give the taxi number so the client would know which taxi is theirs.
Our breakfast room is very big. There is places more that 70 people. The bigger part goes down the stairs. Since the building is in the old town and under Heritage Conservation and it is strictly forbbidden to build any kind of elevator into the buidling. It is the same with all the buidling within the old town. Tea/coffee making facilities are only in the Apartments. I believe that we haven´t advertised it anywhere that we have it in the standard rooms. I am so sorry if You read it from somewhere. At least I am very happy that You enjoyed Tallinn.
Best regards
Annika Ülem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Meriton Conference & Spa Hotel Tallinn
3.1 mi away
Pirita Spa Hotel
Pirita Spa Hotel
#50 of 86 in Tallinn
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tallink Spa & Conference Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Residence Boutique Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 86 in Tallinn
935 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lavendel Spa Hotel
Lavendel Spa Hotel
#52 of 86 in Tallinn
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braavo Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braavo Spa Hotel

Address: Aia 20, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £43 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Braavo Spa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Braavo Hotel and SPA is ideally situated in the city center of Tallinn, very close to the Estonian Fairs Center, Saint Catherine's Passage and many churches, guild halls and museums and only few hundred meters away from busy city life - shopping centers, restaurants, museums, boutiques, nightclubs and pubs. Braavo Hotel and SPA is a small private hotel offering personal service to every client. Hotel is also very convenient for clients travelling with a car. Altogether we have 37 rooms. 27 rooms were built in 2006. 9 new room we opened in 2008.In addition we have 8 very special Apartments. These are are just superb for families or just friends visiting Estonia. Apartments are ideal for families with children arriving to the hotel or just friends visiting Tallinn. Apartments have 2 floors where upstairs are beds and downstairs is considered as a living room. The advantage of these rooms is the spacious. All apartments have a click clack bed in the living room. Braavo Hotel and SPA has also great, new attraction, water center. All room rates include morning spa access from 06:00 - 10:00 for 2 hours. Water center has 9 different pools and 5 different saunas on more than 800 m2. Real fun for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Braavo Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braavo Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing