We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable, not great -- Hotel Bern”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Acceptable, not great -- Hotel Bern”
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The room is clean, a bit small. Windows do not open. It was very hot when we arrived, air conditioning took a while to cool down the room. A/C control is not obvious. Wardrobe space is limited. Shower (not tub) is odd, drains on the floor (which is slanted.) Thus, the whole bathroom floor gets flooded. Not good. Only twin beds. The mattress is thin on top of the box spring and slid under me. Location was perfect (in old town.) Actually we walked from the ferry terminal (about 1 km.) There is free wireless internet in the room. Breakfast was OK, cereal, fruit, cottage cheese, youghurt, coffee (quite good),.eggs salmon. One day orange juice was not available.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry to read that our bed, room size and bathroom did not meet your expectations but let as confirm you that we do have both double and twin rooms in our hotel and we are working on the bathroom floor issue mentioned.
We hope your journey back to States was comfortable and your nice memories about Tallinn will bring you back here one day.
With kindest regards,
Hotel Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    584
    168
    32
    9
See reviews for
155
561
113
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

we booked 2 rooms in hotel bern tues-friday. the rooms were clean,the wet room good and the beds comfortable and warm.we all had peaceful sleep in both rooms despite being above a small club we heard no noise at all. the location was fab as it was only a 5 mins walk to everywhere- the old town for sightseeing and the new town for great shops!the staff at the 24hour reception were very helpful and it was easy to book alarm calls ,order airport taxis and they sell tour bus tickets at competetive rates and provide directions and all info you are likely to require for this great city.the breakfast was varied and tasty and there was something to cover all tastes and again the staff we quick efficient polite and helpful.i would recommend this this hotel as great value for anybody planning a trip to tallinn.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DevonTick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We just stayed 2 nights and the service was great. The location is central but not in a noisy area and there is a supermarket across the street for all your non-restaurant needs, including a little pharmacy and currency exchange window. The rooms are a good size as we didn't feel cramped and offer robes and slippers, things we didn't have the other comparable hotels in St. Petersburg. The only things that we didn't love is that there was no separate shower floor so the whole floor got a bit wet. The Tallinn card is great but hard to understand so the front desk does a great job of explaining it as well as all the other things you might want. They even offerred to pack us breakfast boxes when we asked to book a taxi for 6:30am, 30 minutes before breakfast opened. There was also free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJPJD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Not the most attractive of entrances to the Hotel Bern ,a courtyard turning from a less than attractive street. Once inside we were greeted by delightful staff at reception who throughout our stay proved to be most helpful and friendly .The hotel decor is a little dated but the rooms are comfortable and clean with good quality ensuite. The breakfast buffet was varied and of an excellent standard. The Hotel is positioned in an ideal area of the city,just outside the Old City Wall and within easy reach of transport links. An enjoyable first visit to Tallinn,and without a doubt I choose the hotel that best suited our needs.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MumofthreeSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Just returned from a 4 night stay in this hotel. Well located for all the sights. Hotel staff were very pleasant, breakfast was good and rooms were spotlessly clean if a little small. It was a nice touch to get bath robes and slippers provided. Overall a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended. Supermarket situated directly across the road from the hotel which was very hand for water and snacks.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quiet & peaceful
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank mairead14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Just stayed at this hotel for a week. I was a bit worried when we turned into the street, but had no need to. The hotel was very close to the Old Town. The staff were all helpful and very pleasant. Our room was a good size although I did notice some were quite small. Bed was comfortable, had television in room and mini bar. Rooms were cleaned daily. Breakfast was very good with an excellent choice with something to suit everyone.
We used the 48hr Tallinn Card while staying in Tallinn and this was very useful and saved us a lot of money. There is also a guide which I was not aware of before going www.likealocalguide.com. which gave details of places to eat & drink, tips on sightseeing which was also excellent. It is lovely to eat and drink at places on the Town square but if you are on a budget there are plenty of places off of the square that offer excellent value for money. Our hotel was booked through Expedia and at the time of looking for accommodation was the best value. The hotel does also have the internet & library, Restaurant & Nightclub if required. We did not hear any noise from the nightclub at all during our stay. If using local buses, trams or trolley buses, if you buy tickets at Kiosks around the city. (there is also one at the airport) they are 96cents if you purchase a ticket on bus etc they cost 1 euro 60 cents.
The bus service to and from airport is good (Number 2 Bus )and bus stops across the road from Viru centre coming from airport and outside Viru Centre going back to airport. Service is about every 20mins to half and hour, and only takes about 15mins. Staff everywhere we went during the week were all very helpful and would certainly go back for a weekend and to the same hotel.

Room Tip: Compare several internet sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AnnM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Tallinn is absolutely fantastic and the Estonian people should be incredibly proud of their accomplishments over the last 15 -20 years. I myself hadn't been there in about 14 years and was thrilled to see so much development and progress. The atmosphere is more like Helsinki than Moscow. Very highly recommended for a long weekend trip!
Hotel Bern is a decent, quiet place with a fantastic breakfast, strong wi-fi signal, and a grocery store across the street. If you will have a car, please note that being outside the walls of Old Town seems to be an advantage. Hotel Bern is an 8E cab ride to/from the airport.
One downside is that there is no fitness facility. There's a big swimming pool/fitness center compound 2 blocks away that seems to be quite newly renovated, but I never quite made it there.
Another downside is the rooms -- I had a single room that was pretty small and pretty plain. It sure was quiet, however.
I would stay at Hotel Bern again but if you are big into exercise, you might try for a room at the Kalev (sp?) water park/fitness facility.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nnsanci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#18 of 85 in Tallinn
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 85 in Tallinn
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#22 of 85 in Tallinn
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing