We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We stayed 3 nights in hotel Bern. It was worth of our money (~30 euros/person/night).
Staff was very friendly, breakfast was good and which is most important rooms were very clean and airconditioned. Hotel Bern is situated near the center of old town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reijo_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    582
    167
    32
    9
See reviews for
154
560
112
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We booked at Bern on the strength of the tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. Ok, it's not on the most attractive street in Tallinn just outside the old town walls but it's a perfect location only about a 5 minute slow stroll to the town square and half that to where all the tour buses/trams etc depart from. Having a good supermarket right opposite was useful for supplies (and the Vana Tallinn there is much cheaper than airport duty free ;-)

Taxi ride from/to the airport is about 10 mins and shouldn't cost you more than 10 euros including a generous tip.

The young front desk staff were all brilliant - there were three or four different faces during our five night stay and all were really friendly and helpful. It was nice to get a good city map and a few leaflets as soon as we checked in without having to ask, with a short walkthrough description of where the main places were, where buses left from etc. A great first impression.

Our room on the 3rd (top) floor was basic but clean and a decent size with a good shower room. Only complaint - could have done with some more hooks/hangers and a safe, not really a big deal though. Free wifi everywhere in the hotel.

We overlooked the hotel courtyard entrance, which also has the back door entrance to a bar located on Inseneri. We heard music from the bar as we returned to the hotel a couple of nights but not once we got into the room. The windows didn't open anyway, and since the aircon unit in the room was good this didn't bother us. For some reason I'd got the impression this was a gentleman's club or something from some previous reviews, we only looked through the windows but it just looked like any old bar to me.

It looked like some rooms on the 1st (entrance floor) were on the same level as the courtyard. I was glad we were on the 3rd floor but maybe it would have made no difference - might be something to bear in mind.

Buffet breakfast was functional rather than exceptional. But I still managed to feast on enough every morning that I missed lunch and lasted all the way through to dinner! Breads and pastries in particular were very good, fruit, yoghurt and range of continental meats, cheese and fish were ok. Hot food was limited to scrambled eggs and either pork meatballs or frankfurters - but in fairness they tasted better than they looked. Maybe I've had one too many good full English breakfasts in my time and I'm being a bit unfair! Coffee was good and there were a range of teas to choose from.

The hotel organised car hire for our last day - at about half of the price of the best deal I could find with any of the international rental lot. Wish I could remember for certain the name of the company so I could post it here - they had a few to choose from but I just let them book one for us - it may have been Hansarent but not 100% sure. Anyway, we got a Citroen C3 with free sat nav (didn't even ask for it) delivered to the hotel the next day and collected the next morning with complete insurance waiver (I'd spent the last 3 days marvelling at driving in Tallinn and this seemed sensible, but in reality once you get out there it's fine!) for about 50 euros. Great way to explore Lahemaa without the restrictions of a coach tour and thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cacbabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

For the price this was excellent value. The location is superb - right next to the enchanting Old Town, and directly opposite a really good little supermarket, but very quiet. The former night-club sometimes mentioned has gone, replaced by a very subdued and genteel drinking parlour. We had room 210 just opposite it, and heard nothing. The desk staff were delightful - and always extremely helpful. The room was fresh and clean.

We had asked for top floor, but they strongly suggested we try 210 on the second floor, as not all the rooms upstairs had opening windows, and this one had. The weather was quite hot, and we were very glad to have followed their advice -- though there is an excellent air-conditioning unit in the room.

The breakfasts were simple self-service, but very good, with a variety of meats, cheeses , scrambled egg, breads, fruit and cereals, yoghurts and jams.

In the library room there was free access to a PC and internet.

Tallinn exceeded all our expectations, and the four and a half days we had were barely enough, including a day at the beach, and another going round the very interesting art galleries in Kadriorg Park. Bus and trams rides are only 90c, and free for the retired.

To the staff management: suur aitah, and congratulations.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rixes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC, USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

The hotel is perfectly situated a couple of blocks to the main gate into the old town. Directly across the street is a supermarket, great for picking up some necessities. Just further down the street is a public indoor swimming pool, great to beat the cold of the winter. The front desk staff was incredibly friendly and helpful recommending restaurants, bars, and a local sauna/spa.
The rooms were adequately sized and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom is a bit odd with wood paneling. It is also a European-style wet-room with the shower spraying everywhere and a drain in the middle of the room. Our view was into the parking lot, but it was fine.
Breakfast in the morning was fine. The quality was so-so (especially the eggs, eeh) but the variety was very good.
Overall, a great little hotel that was clean, comfortable and conveniently located by the Old Town.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjb42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Hard to think of anything to add to the glowing reviews already posted, just a great value nice place to stay. 10 min walk to airport bus or main square, 5 mins to city tour bus stop and market, fab restaurants and craft shops etc., 2 mins to currency exchange and turkish cafe with terrace and cool music, 1 min to supermarket. We got a Tallinn card it was fantastic value- all tours, transport and museum entries free.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Hotel is in a good location about 10mins walk from the old town. there is a supermarket opposite.

Hotel did not have tea making facilities in the room but that was the only thing that could have been improved.

great place to stay

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank srm1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a positive comment. Thank you for your kind words.
Should you visit Tallinn in the future, it would be our greatest honor to host you again in our hotel.
Wishing you all the best from Tallinn,
Hotel Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We were a group of 6 people (3 marriages), that staied at Bern hotel for 4 night.
We want to thank to all reception employees, for their patience, understanding and kindness.
The situation was perfect as it was realy close to the old town.
The rooms very very clean, and for all of us, everything was perfect as well.
We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manolo_Spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you for your kind words. It is utmost pleasure to read that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. It was truly our joy to welcome and assist you during your visit to Tallinn.
We sincerely hope that we will have to honor to host you again at the hotel Bern.
With kindest regards,
Hotel Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 83 in Tallinn
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 83 in Tallinn
819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 83 in Tallinn
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing