We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent location”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

We liked the hotel, really nice rooms and helpfull service staff. Excellent location to the old town.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sersocial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    584
    168
    32
    9
See reviews for
155
562
113
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

I stayed here for 4 days in June 2011. It was a good location, near the Ferry port to Tallinn and the old Town. Very quite area and a supermarket across the road. The receptionists were very frindly and helpful, however the housekeeping let the hotel down. The room was also pretty basic.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We have just returned from 4 night stay at the Hotel. Well where do I start? The Hotel was fab, food at breakfast was same every day, usual fruit, cereal, yogurts, meat, cheese, bread, scrambled egg (fab) and small pieces of sausage. Room was very nice and as it was our anniversary we got a vase of red roses and a half bottle of champagne! Very nice touch. We did the City Tour bus on our first full day which was well worth it. The second day we visited Helsinki - please ask at the reception for them to book you on this - we got 10% discount and there are far more services on the Linda Line than the Viking Line, we left Tallinn at 10 o clock and returned on the 5 o clock at night, which was plenty of time in Helsinki (very expensive). Helsinki is well worth a visit. The third full day we stayed in Tallinn and did the usual sights, The Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, Toompea Castle etc, which was very nice. The weather could not have been better either, sunshine wall to wall (we were thankful for the air con!)
The only drawback with Tallinn is that we thought that the people were not very friendly. We have visited Poland many times and find the people much more accommodating. They did not really talk to one another never mind us! There is also a lot of Russian people there, with a very heavy influence of Russian restaurants too! Although we did have a meal in one on the Old Town Square called Troika and it was very enjoyable (if not expensive!) but it was for our anniversary so we didnt mind.
The hotel reception staff we very very nice. They could not do enough for us. We had a bag put in the safe with all our valuables in and this was free! And they got you to sign every time you went into the bag so you knew that no one else would be allowed to ask for it. I also asked for a kettle one day and was told that they did not provide one but the girl came up with a flask of hot water and cups and spoons for us to make our own coffee, this was also not trouble for her she was lovely! She also helped us with the internet (in the library) when it wasnt working.
Be very careful where you drink as I am under the impression that they charge what they like for this. We mostly drank 0.5l lager and 0.33 lager (large and small) and were charged anything from 3.50 euros to 11 euros, nearly next door to one another!!!
The Old Town Square is obviously very expensive for drinks as you have the view etc so just be careful.
All in all we enjoyed our visit but would not return to Tallinn itself. One of the best thing about our visit was the Hotel it was fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for Deluxe Room on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank medsec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

We have just returned from a 4 night, first visit, to Tallinn and stayed at the Bern hotel, which we chose and booked on the internet.
It turned out to be an excellent choice we think
The location couldn't be better - it is on the edge of the old town - everything is easily within walking distance. Also directly opposite a small supermarket, and extremely close to the terminal for the hop on/hop off buses - which we made good use of - buying 3 day tickets (23 Euro each - but we found them well worth it - as although you can reach everything in the old town on foot - we wanted to explore the outer town too - and the buses were an excellent way to do that).
Reception were helpful and spoke english. The room was clean and modern. The breakfasts were good too - buffet style - but with both hot and cold choices. We didn't eat that the hotel, as Tallinn is blessed with an enormous choice of restaurants, being a hot tourist spot, but there is a restaurant for evening meals too.
The small supermarket just over the street was a blessing too - being open from 8.00am until 10.00pm every day (including Sunday) for the odd item of food/water.
We are glad we picked this particular hotel and recommend it to others - and we couldn't believe how inexpensive it was. Certainly great value for money.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank typicalcustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2011

very close to the Old City. Friendly staff. Excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaanusbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

This hotel was fantastic. The position was brilliant, breakfast was great, it was impeccably clean and the staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kgr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This hotel is located on edge of old town , handy to all sights and new town, Whilst the room is basic it was very clean , had air con, and staff very helpful, Breakfast was included in the rate we had and was varied with plenty of choice. Whilst the breakfast room had no outlook as it was in the basement, this was not a problem . The hotel has excellent wi fi which we found useful. we requestded a quiet room and when we arrived they confirmed that the room was quiet with no street nosie which it was. As the hotel is set back from the street on the edge of town I would think most rooms are quiet. there is very I would stay here again as the staff were always attentive to any questions we had etc We got a bus from the airport to the edge of the old town . It only took 20 minutes

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#18 of 85 in Tallinn
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 85 in Tallinn
827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,269 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 85 in Tallinn
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing