We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right price, right location”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“right price, right location”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Just outside the main busy streets. Quiet at night
The hotel regards the ground floor as being the first floor- our room was on the second floor i.e. one floor up
The room was of a good three star standard not a four star.
The shower arrangement was a poorly designed wet room ( although it worked) which meant water all over and a daily towel change was necessary. A luxury was the bathrobes & slippers provided.
It would have been easier with a safe in the room but articles could be left in the safe at reception.
The air conditioning unit was efficient & necessary.
The breakfast buffet was very good with a good selection of meats,cheeses,cereals, fruit & scrambled egg & a sausage dish.
The reception staff were very pleasant & helpful and good english speakers
Be careful with taxis ordered by reception. One during the stay was good but on leaving for the airport the one called was twice the price we paid on arrival

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalesman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    582
    168
    32
    9
See reviews for
154
560
112
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I had a brilliant stay at Hotel Bern, the breakfast was hot, the rooms were clean, and the staff helpful. The location was great, the hotel is situated between old town and the new town and everything that you want is in walking distance.

The staff were very helpful in suggesting different tours, assisting in making bookings. I'm usually a very independent traveller however having the staff help out was just fabulous. The wifi was good to use, they had no problem storing our luggage when we arrived early. I would definitely stay here again.

Tip: There's a decent place to drop off your laundry one road in towards old town. If you go through the carpark opposite the hotel to the next street, turn left, it's along there on the side of the street closest to old town. I think the street is Uus. They charge per kilo and you can collect the next day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanilender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

While not being in the smartest of streets ths hotel is still in a great location, very easy to find from the mere pst where the airport bus drops off,"less than a five minute walk". Two minutes from viru the cobbled street that is the start of the old town and leads you to the main square which is about a leisurely ten minute walk away. If you turn the opposite way when leaving the hotel and walk through the car park accross the road you can also find another route to the old town and also this sets you on your way towards the harbour. Its location is the best feature of the hotel but it also has very welcoming and polite and helpful staff in all departments,and the breakfast is adequate to start the day with. The rooms are basic but comfortable and the only minuses are the lack of wardrobe space and the wet room/toilet that just gets too wet after a shower and you end up having to mop the floor.,If you are not looking for anything too fancy and want a pleasant hotel in a great location at a reasonable price then i would recommend the hotel bern. And if you like indian food there is a great indian restaurant called Chakra nearby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Bern for 3 nights in July 2011. The hotel is located right on the edge of the old town, but in a quiet location set back from the road. Rooms are modern and basic, but have air-con and were very clean. Reception staff very helpful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was continental style and was more than adequate for our needs. Talinn is a great place for a long weekend and we would certainly recommend the Hotel Bern to anyone planning a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daveandles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Stayed here with friends for three nghts on a short break to Tallin.
Great little hotel. Super friendly and helpful staff. Small but comfortable and spotlessly clean and airconditioned room. Excellent eakfast. Extremely well situated for the old town. And last, but not least wonderful value for money. Would unreservedly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter than those at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oomdavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My wife and I stayed in the Bern for 3 nights on our recent short break to the lovely city of Tallin and we can only endorse all the previous excellent reviews. Our room was spacious, modern and clean. The buffet breakfast had a varied selection of fruit,yoghurt, meat and cheese. The reception personnel were efficient and extremely helpful with all enquires regarding what to do and see during your stay. The room did not have a safe but reception provide pouches for all personal valuables which they look after at no charge.
The location of the hotel is ideal being only a 8-10 minute walk from the No 2 bus stop to and from the airport and also a few minutes walk to the Old Town.
In addition to the Old Town a visit to the interesting and lovely Kadriorg Park (No 1 tram or 25 minute walk) is a pleasant way to spend an afternoon.
We have no hesitation in highly recommending the Bern Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcrichton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Just got back from a stay at Hotel Bern and would definately stay again!

Staff were friendly and helpful, brilliant with directions and recommendations for bars to try out (even what to order when there!). Breakfast buffet had a good selection, from eggs and sausage to salmon, cold meats, cheeses and fruit. Rooms were clean and nice.

Hotel was practically in the Old town, and only a few minutes from the newer parts with lots of great restaurants nearby.


If we go to Tallinn again would definately come back!

Room Tip: maybe bring a small travel mirror for the desk as there's only a full legnth mirror on the wardr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
2,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#17 of 83 in Tallinn
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 83 in Tallinn
819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 83 in Tallinn
685 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 83 in Tallinn
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing