We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Perfect location! Near old town, less then 1 minutes to Viru Gates and Viru street. It's possible to drive by car directly to the hotel (usually this is problem to go to some hotels placed in old town, many streets are only for pedestrians). As for room: simple, clean, very quite, and it was very nice to have robe and slippers :) Attentive and hospitable personnel. Everything was fine!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barrancas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    584
    168
    32
    9
See reviews for
155
562
113
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cathathowells@yahoo.com
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The Bern Hotel is literally just at the start of the cobbled street area. It is a few minutes walk from the old city gates, the bus station (in the city centre) and trams. We were dropped off by the bus station out of town, but it cost very little money to travel by taxi to the hotel. It was also very cheap to travel by taxi to the airport, it only took us 20 minutes to leave the hotel reception, travel by taxi, go through security and arrive at our departure gate!!!

Having read the other reviews I was worried about the noise from the club next door, but we were staying there in July and it was very quiet at night despite our room overlooking the “club”. It is a themed German “ale house” with waitresses dressed up (there is a similar one in the centre of Tallinn). The beer was very expensive and for this reason it was extremely quiet at night. It is certainly not a strip club as some guests have claimed and I nearly didn’t book the hotel after reading their comments!

The receptionists were very helpful, speaking excellent English. Please note there are NO public phone boxes anywhere in Estonia, so you need a mobile or pay hotel phone rates. There was only one free computer with internet in the little library/meeting room, and it was extremely slow.

The aircon in the room was welcome as it was over 30 degrees in Tallinn. We would buy picnic ingredients including warm pizza and garlic bread from the supermarket across the road from the hotel. Nice pubs to visit are the Scotland Yard behind the hotel, the Hell Hunt, the Mexican themed restaurant and, of course, the main Ale House with live music and traditional dancing. We also enjoyed watching classical music in the Moroccan themed Master’s Courtyard. In several of the restaurants traditional Russian dancers would provide entertainment to diners and passersby.

Tallinn itself is like being in mediaeval land at Alton Towers with a lot of the restaurants, bars and their staff being themed and therefore expensive. We ourselves preferred Riga, but the towers and walls were lovely and some of the views were fabulous. It is certainly not a place for the disabled with cobbled streets and steep climbs. We also visited the nearby beach using the local bus, which was not the best beach I have ever been on and the water was extremely shallow.

Any other questions – just shout. Cathy & Kevin

Room Tip: We overlooked the front door & bar next door in July, but it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank cathhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We were very happy with our choice of hotel because the staff were friendly and attentive and the room was quite spacious with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was quite varied, including things such as cereals, yoghurts, walnuts, dried fruit, salmon, herrings, cottage chesse, toeast, french stick, ham, chesse, scrambed egg, meat balls, sausages, pastries, fruit, various types of tea, coffee amd juices - phew!

I liked the fact that we could hire bikes from the hotel which cost just one euro per hour. However, the best thing about this hotel is its fabulous location in the heart of the Old Town. With many attractions within walking distance, we only took the bus twice in the week: once to go to the open air museum (No 20 from ther railway station) and the other one to Pirita harbour ( No 36a from the bus station). Kadriog Park was also a great day out, taking the No 2 tram from just outside the city walls.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank urbanbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbaek, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at Bern during the Easter 2011. Very nice hotel with an excellent location close to the old city with restaurants, bars and shopping. A supermarked is located just across the street. We had 3 rooms, all in good condition with a modern but basic design and a small bathroom. Very clean and very quiet. A nice breakfast with a good selection of hot and cold items. I love Tallinn, and will come back another time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights in June 2011.
It isn't a Hilton or a Radisson and doesn't pretend to be. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.
Our room was large and clean even if the furnishings were a little dated.
Breakfast was included; it was simple but plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skierCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenks, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The exterior is attractive and modern for a nice small European hotel. The lobby is very nice. THE STAFF ARE GREAT. A particular THANK YOU to Sven Liiv who helped us multiple times and is very friendly and knowledgeable. All the staff were terrific. The elevator is the best I have ever seen in a small hotel.The breakfast is fine, better then most small hotels. The room is standard size for a EU hotel, fairly basic but very functional. The shower room design works remarkably well and the bathroom air venting is fantastic. This is the only bathroom of that design I have ever seen that work well and is not a issue at all. THE AIR CONDITIONING saved our trip, we were there in July and it actually works (rare for EU hotels) The only complaint would be the coffee is not to our taste, however the McDonald's that is five minutes away solved that. The location could not be better - we would NOT want to be inside the city wall - to busy and crowded during the day. The grocery store across the street is fantastic, everything you need at reasonable prices. The one improvement I would suggest for the hotel would be get rid of the mini bar (does anyone really ever use those??) and leave the fridge for the guest use. Maybe giving a option of mini bar or fridge would suit all. Next Tallinn trip we will definitely stay there again. Tallinn is so much more interesting then Helsinki hands down. Try EstAdventures tours for a very inexpensive and fun day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retireeurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberlour
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed in the top floor of this little hotel which is on the edge of the old town quarter of Tallinn and a quick walk from the centre of the old town.

The double room was not huge,but it was very quiet,modern,comfortable and very clean.
We were overlooking the small hotel carpark/courtyard with the picture window that allowed us a partial view of the rooftops of the centre of the old town area.

We had a modern shower/wetroom with complimentary bathrobes and slippers with a flatscreen T.V,full airconditioning and minibar facility but no tea/coffee making facilities or minisafe.

Breakfast was a very Scandanavian affair and was absolutely wonderful with several bowls of the most wonderful yoghurt to eat alongside the granola cereal,dried fruits,fresh melon,grapefruit and orange slices.

There were platters of sliced cheeses and cold meats and salamis for our continental cousins plus the most wonderful sliced salmon and herring which I tried with rye bread.

There was a toaster for sliced white and baguette bread as well as croissants and pastries plus homemade jams.

Some teas were available but no English Breakfast tea,instead there was Earl Gray alongside fruit teas,which you put in a cup and added hot water from the flask provided at the buffet table.
Likewise the coffee was a help yourself arrangement from a large flask dispenser at the buffet table.
There were jugs of apple or orange juice from which you helped yourself from at the buffet table.

The best thing about this hotel were the young friendly helpful staff who were just fantastic by giving us helpful hints about how to get from A to B.
We were given super directions about how to travel to Tartu, which we did on our last day of our holiday.
Tartu is a university town some 2 hours away by bus and is similar to Tallin but without the overcrowded tourist traps,Irish themed pubs and stripclubs!
Lot's of beautiful green spaces and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Speysider58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
803 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#18 of 85 in Tallinn
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Savoy Boutique Hotel
Savoy Boutique Hotel
#5 of 85 in Tallinn
1,269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#13 of 85 in Tallinn
827 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#23 of 85 in Tallinn
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing