We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Hotel Bern had a great location, just a couple of minutes' walk from the old town, and near a supermarket. Breakfast was good and the room was nice and clean.

We didn't have a problem at all with noise from the street - or from the disco opposite our room, even though we were there on a Saturday night. The air conditioning unit kept making loud clicking noises at 6.30am every day even though it was switched off, which was annoying but that probably just affected our room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jemmab060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    578
    164
    32
    9
See reviews for
153
556
112
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Superb location, great breakfast, clean and comfortable room, good value, outstanding service from kind, helpful staff, we loved Tallinn and Hotel Bern. Just outside the Old Town Wall, short walk to tram for Karoig and KUMU, close to two lovely parks (don't miss Canute Garden around the block). Stayed in 2nd floor room with wife and son (12), clean, comfortable and functional. Front desk staff, Sven and colleagues were wonderful, helping with directions, booking rental car. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familia_Canela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Well, the hotel is nicely located not far from the old town itself. It has a supermarket right on the other side of street, with the usual clients visiting it in the late hours of the weekend. Like it or not... There also seems to be a night club right next to the hotel, but i didn't hear any noise, so maybe its not open anymore ?

The hotel itself is really okay, the staff is really nice and friendly and helped me with a lot of problems, that sadly occured, without mourning. Things to note are the following: The rooms are small and not to cozy, there are a lot of things lacking, that you may want to for a longer stay (such as a safe on the room or a bigger closet for your clothes), a better bathroom (didn't like the shower which is prone to flooding your room). The corridors within the hotel also remind you very well of communist times :)

Breakfast was good, with an okay selection and good quality of what was offered. Only the coffee was really not to good. Breakfast staff also seemed to be a bit indifferent to whats going on.

All in all i would rate this as a good 3 star experience, but certainly not 4 stars. Keep that in mind while booking !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3d-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

we found this very reasonably priced hotel close to transportation and all Tallinn main attractions......not fancy, but clean with a friendly, helpful staff and ample breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eurolady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The hotel is well located, just outside the old town walls. It is set back from the road, so there is no street noise. Our room was very quiet, simply but tastefully furnished and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was compact, but not too small and well appointed. Breakfast was good. However, the best thing about this lovely hotel was the wonderful staff. They were friendly, attentive and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Overall, a very pleasant stay. We warmly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Stayed here with my daughter in early August for four nights. Location great, not 15 minutes from Old Town (as in other review) but less than 5 minutes walk. Staff great, especially Maarja, very helpful with recommendations. No noise from the bar next door. Breakfast was fine. Found the computer in the meeting room OK and not too slow. We kept some of luggage here for three nights while we went to Helsinki which was agreat help. Room fine and very clean. A great quiet lttle place, ideal fro popping back to in the afternoons for a couple of hours before going out in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichByName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Ouseburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
730 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Great value small hotel with excellent staff. The Bern is a real find close to the old town and just a ten minute walk fron the ferry terminal. Excellent reception team who were most helpful with tourist info. And when we asked for a take away breakfast as we were getting the 0730 ferry to Helsinki, could not have been better. Our room clean, had all we needed. Sure this is not five star, but the service was and the rates are exceptional. So five star rating from me overall and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#23 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#32 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#17 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing