We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The receptionist at the hotel gave us a very warm welcome. We were a bit early and our room was not ready, however, we were given a glass of warm wine and told we could wait half an hour whilst our room was prepared or we could go for a short walk. We selected the walk and were immediately given a map showing us the old town which was only a couple of hundred yards away.
We returned a couple of hours later and were shown to our room having been given loads of advice on hand outs of things to do from the receptionist.
The room was on the small side but very comfortable. The bathroom was a wet room but was spotless and surprising very efficient. I can turn any bathroom into a swimming pool. However, the shower curtain stops splashes and the area round the sink and toilet remained totally dry.
Breakfast was simple but nice. A small selection of cheese and meats, fruit, scrambled egg and meat balls. Cereal and a toaster that actually worked!
By the way the airport is only a Euro 7 drive away and so much easier than trying to find the hotel from the bus stop.
To sum up this hotel is cheap and cheerful and we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superhoopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,267 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed for two nights between Christmas and New Year for a quick break. It's very close to the old town, five minutes walk, and clean and tidy. The staff were always pleasant and halpful. The room and bed were perfectly alright, the decor a little odd and dated, but clean. Breakfasts were good, typically scandinavian, lots of choice. We arranged our transfers with the hotel too, though I think they were just taxis, its good service. Overall, great value, perfect for what we wanted, just nothign amazing to write home about.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel is in a quiet location, perfectly situated for the old town. The room we had was small, but comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was served and was quite substantial with plenty of choice. The staff were all very polite and extremely helpful making this a very pleasant place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is located close to tourist and business destinations, a short walk gets you to old city or business center.

The room was comfortable, and warm. It was -25 degrees outside, but the room was well heated. There was also an air conditioner which I did not use.

The breakfast is modest, but the quality of food is excellent. The next door restaurant also offers a decent selection of good food and drinks.

The service is very friendly, the hotel even allowed our car to park in the courtyard for some time for free.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaifaLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is a fantastic little hotel that fully deserves its good ratings on here.

We arrived two hours before check in but were allowed to check in early at no extra cost, and the young chap who checked us in took the time to highlight on a city map where we should visit. Our room was of a good size with a very comfortable double bed and with plenty of storage space. The bathroom was actually a wet room with an excellent shower, and shower gel/shampoo was provided as was a hair dryer.

There was a small mini bar in the room which had pretty reasonable prices, and there is also a bar area at the reception although in fairness that's probably pushing it a bit description wise.

Breakfast was good, being served at decent times (you could have a lie in and not miss it) and with a good selection of meats, cheeses, breads, cereals, fruits etc along with hot options also.

Location wise the hotel is no more than a five minute walk to the entrance gate for the Old Town and a ten minute stroll to the centre.

There is a left luggage facility, and on our last day when one of our party was ill after checking out, we were allowed the use of a room until it became time to depart for the airport some hours later for only €20.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattfromLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in January, my boyfriend read on someone else's review that "it was the staff that made it a 4 star hotel" and he really agreed with this. The staff in this hotel are literally beyond helpful, they'll do anything for you, we took a day trip to Helsinki and since we were missing breakfast the hotel made us a pack up of sandwiches, fruit and yogurt and orange juice, which was so kind.

The breakfast was of good quality, pastries, cereal, yoghurt and each day a couple of hot items, the only thing is the staff in the breakfast room are maybe a little bit over helpful but still you cant have it all.

Room lovely, comfy bed and lovely ensuite. Briliiant location. Would definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Innocent_Eyes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Came to the Bern in September and it is just as good second time around. Friendly staff, good service , excellent service. Good value close to city cente Simple hotel. Go no further. Bern runs like cloclwork. Gets my vote.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MStJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
920 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
#20 of 86 in Tallinn
1,137 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £45 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing