We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a nice city”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Bad Neustadt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a nice city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

The Hotel is located very central in the city near the old town. All interesting places in the old town can be reached in a short walk. Also the tram and bus stations near the Viru Center.
The double bedded room was small but adequate. The room equipment was good. The only weakness was the permanent noise coming from the forced air condition, especially in the night.
The breakfast was ok.
Compared with the hotel I stayed in Helsinki four weeks ago it was a pleasant stay for less money and more comfort. I would recommend the hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ralf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Ralf,

Thank you for the kind words!

It is great to hear that we managed to exceed your experiences from the accommodation in Helsinki. Thank tou for the recommendation and welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    573
    164
    32
    9
See reviews for
152
555
111
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Number 2 bus from airport, 20min ride to Laikmaa bus stop then 5min walk to hotel. Modern building with thick concrete walls and sound proof glass. Room was quiet and warm, no bath but wet room instead. Breakfast a little short on choice but adequate. Hotel located just outside the city wall and only a short attractive 5min walk to the city square.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AndyJL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the notes!

Surely this will be of help for others, too.
Until the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I so want to give this hotel at least 4 out of 5. Staff were lovely and really helpful, good location right between old town and city centre, nice room, and right next to a Beer Garden. But I have to mark down due to the noise from the courtyard. Each nights sleep was wrecked by youngsters shouting, screaming, singing until 4 or 5 in the morning. If it had been until midnight or even 1.00am I could have accepted it, but until past 4.30am is too much. If you do stay here insist before booking on being in a room that does not face the courtyard.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ElFantasma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

We are very sorry that your potentially great memory was a little bit spoiled by the noisiness.
Hopefully we can right this for you some time in the future!

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Have just come back from a long weekend staying at Hotel Bern, it was excellently situated just in the edge of the old town in Tallinn and a few minutes walk away from all the main attractions.
The reception staff were really good not only were they pleasant but had a good knowledge of the area giving us some information on sight seeing.

There is a bar next to the hotel which i guess could be noisy, however we were on a different side and were often in the bar in the evening.
It's a bit lethal to walk past if you have already had a couple.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Fiona,

Thank you for giving your opinion!

We are pleased to hear that you were happy about your choice being Bern Hotel!

The doors are always open to have you back!
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

It is a beautiful hotel at the gateway of old town.the location is very good as the old town is only few mints walk the hotel is managed by only one staff at a time but the staff is generally helpful the room is good in size and beds r adequate though bathrooms need improvement typical Scandinavian wet type bathrooms I did not like the buffet breakfast was mainly cold with few hot choices.there is a small pub in just adjacent to hotel with lots of noise at night, but it's ok if you close the window.there is also a supermarket opposite of the hotel and lots of beautiful restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank durgaprasad n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the post!

Surely this will be of assistance to lots of our guest in the future!
You are welcome back anytime in the future, of course!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights with friends. Lovely place, very helpful and knowledgeable staff as to where to eat and visit. Restaurants recommended were booked for us and we were very happy. Breakfast was plentiful with plenty of choice. I just wish they had mugs for tea and coffee though...I felt greedy going back several times! I couldn't fault the place. Would definately stay there again if ever I came back to Tallinn.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPins009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your attention!

It is always nice to hear that a guest left satisfied! But be sure that we take the helpful suggestions seriously enough to improve by the time you are back in Tallinn!

Until the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Two night stay at hotel Bern was perfect for the two of us - 60+ female companions. Not a fancy hotel but roomy, comfy beds, bar fridge, clean. Exceptionally helpful staff, breakfast good too. A few steps from the old town.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roz12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Roz,

Thank you for the kind post!

We are happy to hear that you were pleased enough to share your thoughts here on Tripadvisor!
You are welcome to return any time!

So long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#32 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing