We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything excellent”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Lommedalen, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything excellent”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Excellent Hotel. Excellent service. Just like earlier this year we had an excellent stay at Your hotel. Sure we will recomend this hotel to all our friends, and we will also come back to this hotel on our next trip to Tallinn. Thank You for an excellent stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Arthur,

Thank you for your post!

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your second stay, also!
In fact, we are already looking forward to the third one!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    578
    164
    32
    9
See reviews for
153
556
112
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, United States of America
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I travel for business to Tallinn about four times a year. I always stay at the Hotel Bern, because it has everything I need, is close to the old town, and is a very good deal in terms of pricing.

If you're looking for luxury accommodations, then go somewhere else. This is a no-frills straight-up hotel. The rooms are functional, beds comfortable, and most importantly, there's an espresso machine at the front desk.

The front desk staff is friendly, helpful, and always has great suggestions for restaurants, events, and other services. I really really enjoy talking with them and learning more about Estonia and the local scene.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Sharon,

What havent we said yet?

Thank you for your continued trust in us and your kind words here on Tripadvisor!
See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Hotel Bern is a cosy hotel in the heart of Tallinn's Old Town.
The rooms are of a good size and spotless. The staff at the hotel are very helpful and always polite. Breakfast is also very good. All the places of interest as well as important government offices and tourist information are within walking distance.

I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Christianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Christianne,

Thank you very much for your comments!
Your insights will surely help others to decide whether to visit Tallinn & Bern Hotel or not.

As for your wish to stay here again, you are welcome here any time!

Greetings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed as a couple for three nights 18-20 October in room 217.
Hotel itself was very efficient and reception staff were helpful.
Our room was warm and quiet although we were there over the weekend. There is a lift to all floors.
Hotel is situated close to the city centre and old town.
The self service breakfast, although repetitive, was delicious with an extensive choice to suit all tastes. The free Wi-Fi did not require a password and worked well all the time.
The large supermarket opposite is open long hours and has an ATM inside.
No problems at all. Hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if that is what you wish. Some rooms overlook a popular tavern and can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huw_Roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Mr Roberts,

Thank you for the comments as well as the recommendation!
We are glad that you enjoyed it here at Bern!

Until the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Excellent Stay and nice little hotel and good value !!! Stayed there 2 nights. Very comfortable, a good location close to Old Town, a nice room, a good breakfast and a helpful and welcoming staff !!!!
P.S. a supermarket just across the street!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anastasiia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, The staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Anastasiia,

Thank you for the kind words!

We are very happy to see that you were pleased to stay at Bern.
You are welcome here any time, of course!

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States of America
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed there five nights. Very comfortable, and a good location close to Old Town. Also an excellent breakfast and a helpful and welcoming staff. and good value. The only drawback was that the windows did not open -- I do like fresh air at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Raymond,

Thank you for the tips!

Surely it will be helpful for other Tripadvisor users.
We were lucky to have you and would appreciate the honor to host you again!

Until then, we wish you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The location of the hotel could not be better! A walking distance to the harbour and the old town just around the corner. And a supermarket just across the street.
Nice cosy rooms and friendly service. Definently my new favourite hotel in Tallinn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Oona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Oona,

Thank you for the props!

It is wonderful to read that we have a brand new friend from Finland! :)
So naturally we are looking forward to have you back any time!

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 83 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#23 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#32 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#17 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing