We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bern

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent location and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Very good location. A very good breakfast. Small rooms but comfortable. Christie at reception was outstanding. The rooms were spotless . Highly recommended. Very close to supermarket and cafes and only ten minutes from central bus station

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Boooofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Boooofy,

Thank you for your lovely post!
We'll make sure that Christie gets her greetings! :)

You are always welcome back here at Bern, of course!
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    569
    162
    32
    9
See reviews for
150
550
112
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Good location near the Tallinn old town. Rooms were quite modern. Everything else was good, but breakfast could have been better. We also woke up in the middle of the night when drunken people were leaving from the nextdoor bar. So if you don't sleep tight, this could be a problem.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gauntlet81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Teemu,

Thank you for your comment!
Surely it will be informational for some of the readers of Tripadvisor.

Greetings to Finland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burghead Moray, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay hotel staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, thought it was great value for money and would certainly consider paying a return visit, We would probably have eaten in Hotel resturaunt
if it had been available
Terry & Pauline Ewen

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Pauline,

Thank you for your kind share!
We appreciate your time and effort put into writing here and we sure hope to show our gratitude the next time you are here at Bern.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, US
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

I was told by the receptionist that I could pay at the end of my stay. Apparently management changed its mind half way. But instead of putting a note on my door to visit the desk, my door card was disabled without any warning. Such action by management is rude and inconsiderate. It shows that management treats guests as potential thieves.

The shower stall is separated from the rest of the bathroom only by a thin curtain, nothing on the floor to keep the bath water from flooding the entire bathroom. There is a squeegee in the bathroom, but still unpleasant to have a flooded bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Eddie,

Thank you for your opinion!
I am very sorry that you did not feel comfortable by the way we handled this question.
However, I assure you that we do not consider any of our guests to be potential thieves, but there still is a regular policy to make sure everything runs correctly when you manage a hotel.

We certainly did not want to dishonour you in any way. My sincerest apologies.

Best wishes,
Sven Liiv
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have just returned from Tallinn after a 5 day stay in the Hotel Bern. The staff are very friendly and helpful and we enjoyed the breakfast each morning. The hotel reception and our room were immaculate. The bed was very comfortable and the only thing change I would make would be a bedroom window that opened but hat is a very minor point. The location could not be better with only having a very short walk into the Old Town. We would definitely highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Tallinn.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lesark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Lesark,

Thank you for your kind words!

It is good to hear that you were so pleased with your stay at Bern. Without a question you will be greeted with gratitude the next time you are here! :)

Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Nice place to stay, good location between harbour and old city. Quiet rooms & Hotel even during New Years Eve! At the reception helpful people, e.g, ordered tickets for us to a concert and suggested good restaurant Leib nearby, which would have been difficult to find......................................

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Johanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Marketta,

Thank you for your review!
It is good to see that you can still see the positive aspects despite your partial concerns.
You can be assured that we gave our 100% to make you comfortable and we will definately take your suggestions and try to improve thanks to your advice.

Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nastola, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our room was very small and with a whole-floor carpet and there was a noise from the bar downstairs until 4 o'clock in the morning.We were not able to sleep from 1.30 until 4.00 o'clock at all. We were very disappointed as I had 3 weeks before sent an e-mail message and asked for rooms (we were two couples) with a wooden floor (as two of us are allergic ones) and asked also for the silent rooms. I got the reply from your reception that my wishes have been taken care of. Anyway the other couple got the allergic and silent room. We could next day move into the allergic room on the silent side of the hotel. It was not so convenient to change the room and leave a luggage to the reception, as a new room was at disposal at 14.00 o'clock in the afternoon. I asked for a compensation that we could keep our room until 14 o'clock on the day of departure, but this was not possible. There were not enough hangers and hooks in the room. Breakfast room was cozy and clean, and the selection was satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marketta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Marketta,

Thank you for your post!
Hopefully it showed that we were doing our best to make your wishes happen, at least the ones that were possible at the time.

At the same time it is heartwarming to see that you still managed to find our staff friendly and helpful. It showes your objectivity and intelligence when it comes to hotel business.

We are looking forward to make an improvement when you get back to Tallinn and Bern!
Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#33 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing