We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travellers from Russia”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Excellent hotel with excellent service and location. It is situated near Old Town (about 3 munutes by walk).
The same breakfast menu every day, but tasty :)
A personel agreed to hold our baggage after our checkout for several hours and helped us to take a taxi to an airport.
Thanks a lot!!!

P.S. Free WiFi in a room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sergey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Sergey,

Thank you for your warm comment!
It is good to see that you enjoyed hotel Bern.

You are welcome and see you next time!
Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

excellent location, pleasant staff. To the Old City, 2 minutes on foot, the bottom is quite a decent beer :) the Only disadvantage of the lack of Parking space, but on the contrary paid for that kind of like you can not pay, because there is no cameras. I think that next time come back here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sergey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Sergey,

Thank you for your post!
It will certainly be helpful for those who travel by car.

You are welcome back any time!
Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is in the old town and a very short walk from the medieval town square, where the Christmas market is held. Hotel breakfast is very good and plenty of food, staff very helpful and it is clean and comfortable.
The market is small and not the best but the people are friendly, the food is good and there are some good bus tours round the town. Loads of choices for eating and drinking Old Hansa is a must ! Troika is a stunning cellar restaurant with excellent food and superb vodka!
The Church on the hill is stunning and the view is very good but the best view is from the Teletron tower. We did a 3night stay at end of November and it was a great experience, but take your thermals it can get very cold!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Lynne,

Thank you for your view of Tallinn's best sightseeings!
Surely this will be very helpful for other travellers of Tallinn.

Your kind words are very humbling and we are looking forward to see you here again!
Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Very good location. A very good breakfast. Small rooms but comfortable. Christie at reception was outstanding. The rooms were spotless . Highly recommended. Very close to supermarket and cafes and only ten minutes from central bus station

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Boooofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Boooofy,

Thank you for your lovely post!
We'll make sure that Christie gets her greetings! :)

You are always welcome back here at Bern, of course!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Good location near the Tallinn old town. Rooms were quite modern. Everything else was good, but breakfast could have been better. We also woke up in the middle of the night when drunken people were leaving from the nextdoor bar. So if you don't sleep tight, this could be a problem.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gauntlet81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Teemu,

Thank you for your comment!
Surely it will be informational for some of the readers of Tripadvisor.

Greetings to Finland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay hotel staff were very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful, thought it was great value for money and would certainly consider paying a return visit, We would probably have eaten in Hotel resturaunt
if it had been available
Terry & Pauline Ewen

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pauline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Pauline,

Thank you for your kind share!
We appreciate your time and effort put into writing here and we sure hope to show our gratitude the next time you are here at Bern.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I was told by the receptionist that I could pay at the end of my stay. Apparently management changed its mind half way. But instead of putting a note on my door to visit the desk, my door card was disabled without any warning. Such action by management is rude and inconsiderate. It shows that management treats guests as potential thieves.

The shower stall is separated from the rest of the bathroom only by a thin curtain, nothing on the floor to keep the bath water from flooding the entire bathroom. There is a squeegee in the bathroom, but still unpleasant to have a flooded bathroom.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Eddie,

Thank you for your opinion!
I am very sorry that you did not feel comfortable by the way we handled this question.
However, I assure you that we do not consider any of our guests to be potential thieves, but there still is a regular policy to make sure everything runs correctly when you manage a hotel.

We certainly did not want to dishonour you in any way. My sincerest apologies.

Best wishes,
Sven Liiv

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#32 of 86 in Tallinn
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £45 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing