We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Hämeenlinna
1 review
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The receptionist was very friendly, spoke exellent english and she was
extremely helpful. The location of the hotel is very good. The smell outside
the hotel was unpleasant. The rooms were decent. We had a group of
young boys, who were playing floorball in Tallink floorball tournament and
I think they were also satisfied for the choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hannu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Hannu,

Thank you for your post!
We are very happy to see that you were satisfied with your choice this time!

Of course, we would be more than happy to have you return to Bern any time! :)
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    566
    162
    32
    9
See reviews for
150
548
112
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Great little hotel. Its at the edge of the city centre so you get the benefit of being so close to town but don't pay the city centre prices. Breakfast was great - hot counter includes eggs, and sausages, you have a wide selection of cheeses and hams, loved the smoked salmon (really good) as well as selection of cereals, fruits and breads. Rooms were very clean. ALL staff were very nice and welcoming. The even prepared me a take away breakfast on my last day since I had to catch an early flight (Thanks Marisa (receptionist)). Bed was comfy and I liked the fact that in front of the hotel there seems to be the only supermarket in the area. It opens till 11pm so its great to pick up snacks or beverages to take with you during a day out. The décor is a bit of a mix and match of old and new but honestly I think its proximity to the centre, closeness to the busses and even the port (8 min walk away) makes this hotel a great location when visiting Tallinn. Staff are above all exceptionally nice and its always great to have a welcoming face. Also booked a tax to the airport - only cost Euro 8 which was the same price from the hotel to the airport. It takes just 10 min to arrive which is great especially when you have an early flight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zanioculcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Zanioculcas,

Thank you for your very informative post!
This will surely be a big help for others decisions when travelling to Tallinn.

We cannot wait to have you back! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Nice hotel just on the edge of Old Town, very helpfull reception staff, only complaint they did not have Soya milk at breakfast so had to go across the road to supermarket to buy my own, but they did keep it in kitchen fridge and produced at breakfast. would definitely stay here again if in Tallinn.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Terry,

Thank you for your comment!
It's great to see that you had a good time with us here at Bern.

It will be even better to see you return. :)

Until then,
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Well, better than expected for its price. Very good location right on the boundaries of the old town at a pretty quite location. Nice rooms, clean, decent breakfast and free wifi. Friendly staff. Overall an economic solution, so that unless you are having special request, such as gym, etc it's a very nice choice

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 154948Vasilis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Vasilis,

Thank you for your opinions!
It is good to see that you were happy with your choice and we would be more than happy to meet you several more times back here at Bern Hotel.

Until the next time! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Nice staff, helpfull, glad young people
Nice hotell, good situation, clean
The breakfast was sufficient, enouht for me. You could order more if you wanted, fried, boiled eggs.....
We had a room facing to the street. It was a litlle bit noisy, but I shouted: be quietet. They sad they are sorry. Rest of the night I slept like a baby


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ritta770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Ritta,

Thank you for your commet!
It is nice to see that you took your sleeping quality very seriously and even helped us with this situation. :)

See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff was welcoming and helpful, room was clean and the breakfast buffeé excellent.
The hotel is in my opinion very well-located: close to both the old town as well as the shopping centres. There's also a Rimi supermarket just outside the hotel area, which comes in quite handy of you feel like buying a snack or something to drink.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for your informative review!
There's a good chance that you have helped some other users to make their decision, also.

We can only hope that you will be returning some time soon and we could show you our gratitude when you do. :)

Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Although clean and functional this hotel was not up to the star rating. Our arrival was not helped by a lorry emptying the septic tank in the courtyard. The staff were always friendly and courteous and the breakfast was simple and adequate. The location was great -just outside the old town wall. All in all very OK but not special in any way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Lynda,

Thank you for your comment!
It's great to hear that you found our hotel well-located and friendly. We will surely try to make your experience even more special the next time you are here.

Until then! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#32 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#15 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing