We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natalia”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It was awful when we cannot sleep because of bar's clients. In the same yard on hotel and night bar - not good. Also was not good to me that there were not parking place, especially when I traveled first time on my own. And worse thing was, that there were ants in room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Natalia,

Thank you for the feedback!
We are very sorry that your stay here at Bern was a bit disappointing. Hopefully it did not ruin your whole trip.

We would be very grateful to have another chance to make this up to you. Just let us know!
Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

It is on the edge of Old Town so you can walk anywhere. It is also close to tram and buses so you can explore other areas easily. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are compact but quite adequate, clean, comfortable, and all conveniences, including free internet. The breakfast is very good. I have stayed here 4 times and will continue to do so!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Mary Ann,

Thank you for your continuous support!
We are very happy to have hosted you for so many times and will be more than glad to have you back at Bern Hotel any time you wish to return Tallinn.

Until then, all the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Three nights stay in clean, cozy and comfortable hotel, my favourite one in Tallinn. Super friendly and helpful staff made our stay really pleasant. Great location, just a short walk from Raekoja plats.


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bearyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Bearyy,

Thank you for your comment!
It is great to hear that Bern is your nr 1 choice! ;)

Looking forward to have you back,
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Decent location- near a supermarket. Friendly staff. Very poor bedding! Near a pub for bikers - noisy. There were problems with the Internet. In general, a good choice, but it is clearly not a 4 star.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aleksandr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Aleksandr,

Thank you for the post!
We are sorry that you feel that way but will be most delighted to have you back for another try.

We do want to make every experience special and personal here and would love to get another chance from you as well.

Hopefully we meet soon!
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our room was at the bottom floor. The noise that came from the bar next door was very disturbing and when the bar closed people moved literally behind our window to continue their party. At 2am. I askes if we could have another room to get some sleep. Luckily , one room on the otherside was available. The girl at the reseption was helpless and said that they should have security and she has been asking those people to make a move and shut up. And this was Monday night!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Anna,

Thank you for your post!
We are sorry that you found it a little too noisy for your taste but as you said, we are working on it together with the security as well as our nearby neighbors.

Hopefully you will find it more peaceful during the next visit.
Until then, all the best to you!

Best regards,
Bern's staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed two nights at the hotel with our friends in June. Nice, quiet and gozy hotel just nearby Old Town of Tallinn. Friendly and helpful staff, tasteful breakfast and very clean hotelroom with AC.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Mika,

Thank you!!
The headline of your post did it all for us - we are extatic about your post!

Looking forward to have you back.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Hotel Bern and this is an excellent hotel. I will comment individually on each of the elements to give you an informed view. However first of all, I take exception at some of the reviews posted - particular comments regarding room, bathroom and noise...

Rooms - Rooms are well furnished and equipped. Beds are superb and very soft and extremely comfortable. Temperature of room also controlled by air conditioning, which was easily used and accessible. Very comfortable room that is ample sized. 3 curtains and blinds that really kep the light out.

Bathroom - Very modern, stylish and clean. All of the things you would expect are available. Yes the shower is in the bathroom and doesnt have a separate tray but it doesnt cause an issue?? There is a floor squeegy mop that after 1 wipe the floor is clear of water. In my opinion, the way they have this designed actually makes it much cleaner. Its actually a clever design!

Breakfast - A very good breakfast. Offering a selection of hot drinks, toast, 3 cereals, and a variety of juices. All of the standard cold meats and salads also available. Hot food was a bit limited - offering only meat balls and scrambled eggs each day. It would have been nice to have some additional options.

Location - Perfect and central. 2 minutes walk to the Old Town. There is a very good bar under the hotel called Beer Garden. A nice large pub that again is very well appointed. Except Fri and Sat the pub closes at 12pm and the side door is actually closed and locked forcing any late drinkers out the other side away from the hotel.

Finally, we were there on a Fri and Sat night, and stayed in Room 312. This was on 3rd floor - directly above front door overlooking court yard. We did not hear any noise or have any problems. Indeed there is even a security guard in the courtyard on busier nights.

Overall, a superb hotel at a good price in a very good location. I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor room, though only 3 floors anyway. Room at front offers slightly better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avfc4life16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, the staff at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear avfc4life16,

Thank you for this outstanding review!
You cannot even imagine how well it works for us to have a great environment here after something like this happens.

There is no doubt that we would love to have you back!
Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#32 of 86 in Tallinn
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £45 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing