We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Really Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Tartu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Really Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

It was a really cousy hotel, conveniently located.

+ nice room
+ could borrow umbrella
+ great location
+ reasonable price

- could not open the window
- something wrong with the roller blind (could not use that)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 22 October 2009
Dear Lauksi,

We kindly thank you for your review and comments.
We are very much hoping that on your next visit to Tallinn we will have the honor to host you again and please let us make sure that you would get a room where windows can be opened.

Warm regards from Tallinn,
Kärolin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    568
    162
    32
    9
See reviews for
150
549
112
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Great location, really friendly staff, a nice room and a fine breakfast. And all that for a good price. Definitely can recommend that place!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tobHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 22 October 2009
Dear Sir,

We sincerely thank you for your review and recommendation.

Should you visit Tallinn in the future, it would be our greatest honor to accommodate you again in the Hotel Bern.

Warm regards from Tallinn and from Bern staff,
Kärolin Narits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

I stayed at hotel bern with four friends, we had two rooms. The hotel arranged a minibus to pick the five of us up at airport. The staff are all very helpful and extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom is a wet room and is fine for 2 people but not good for 3 people all wanting to shower one after the other. The bathrobes and slippers provided were much appreciated. The hotel is situated very close to the old town. We arrived late at night and there was a handy foreign exchange kiosk near the hotel.. Most establishments only accept kroons but you could also pay using a card. If you go to Tallinn do treat yourself to a feast at La Hansa .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iomtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 7 October 2009
Dear Ms,
Thank you for your review about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear you positive comments and in replay we would like to add that it was utmost pleasure for us to host a group of joyful ladies.
When we read some of the positive comments people like yourselves write to us it makes us feel that we are doing a very worthwhile job.

We would like to wish you all a beautiful autumn,

TallinnHotels and Bern are welcoming You back to Tallinn!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

Had a great stay at hotel Bern! For this price it is a real find and the friendliest hotel I have ever been to.

-The first impression was excellent. The STANDARD TWIN ROOM was spacious and was bigger than I had got impression of when looking at pictures of the rooms. The room was very clean at arrival, and the decor looked new and well put together. I loved the room and I would be happy to stay there again.
-The LOCATION is very good. 5 minute walk to the city sentre (where the best shopping is) and 3 minute walk to the beautiful old city. There are two good restaurants nearby; Da Vinci and Chicago. Both are very good for lunch. There is also a huge Rimi grocery store opposite the road. A beauty salon (was busy everyday) is next door.
- The best thing about the hotel is no doubt the SERVICE. Everyone at the front desk is eager to help and they seem to know most things. There was no odd one out who didn't seem happy to help or answer questions.

There were some minor issues though;
-The BREAKFAST was boring. Hot food was sausage and scrambled eggs each day. They did not have plain salami or ham so I had to settle for the croissants the days I bothered to eat there.
- We stayed 4 nights and our SHEETS were not changed during any point of our stay. On our 4th night I was also able to see a lot of dust gathered in the room. A towel I had placed on the bathroom floor had been folded and put back onto the counter.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseHenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 29 September 2009
Dear Ms. Louise,
We would like to thank you for your review and for the kind words about our location and service.
It is a joy to read that our effort to offer the friendliest service in our hotel has been noticed by you.
Your comment gives us lot of energy to continue for reaching our goal.
We would also like to say that we highly appreciate your comment about breakfast and housekeeping. We can assure you that the issues you mentioned about your room not being cleaned and boring breakfast will be dealt with great importance. It is utmost important for us that our quests can sleep in a quiet and clean room and will enjoy the breakfast in the morning.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Tallinn and let us say that it would be our greatest joy to welcome you back in the future.
We wish you beautiful autumn and every success in your future travels,

Kind regards from TallinnHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby in the UK
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

Stayed at the Bern for four nights during September 2009. Hotel is in a great location to the old town, about a five minute walk. Staff are friendly, helpful and very courteous; breakfast is a mixture of bacon, meatballs, eggs, cereals and cold meats etc, in a nice quite dining room. I can only comment on the room I had, which was compact and was very seventies looking, and was on the ground floor right opposite the main entrance to a gentleman’s club. Having said that didn’t experience any noise or problem what so ever.

Overall, great location, friendly staff, good breakfast and clean rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chariotchoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

Good location in Tallinn's Old Town. Excellent beds. Nice, peaceful breakfast room down in the basement. Basic buffet breakfast, a good start for a day.
One of our room was in a wing that was earlier dedicated for smoking rooms. We could smell the tobacco still in the corridor. Fortunately, in the room itself there was no smell of tobacco. Room colouring and furnishings were not modern, although the hotel seemed to be quite new.
Reasonable pricing (including buffet breakfast) makes this hotel a good choice for Tallinn city break.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finnish_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

I have just returned from a wonderful trip to Tallinn. I booked the Hotel Bern after reading the positive reviews on trip advisor and was not disappointed. The hotel has two major positives- the location and its wonderful staff. The hotel is situated very close to the old town- approx 3 mins walk to the Viru Gates. Opposite the hotel is a large supermarket, an off-licence and a chemist and nearby is an atm and post box. The Viru markets are just around the corner- buy your souvenirs there-much cheaper than the shops. The second positive is the staff. I have travelled to many parts of Europe and have never met such friendly helpful staff. The girls on reception were particularly helpful and gave us advice on trips, buses etc, making phone calls where necessary, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you girls!!
Breakfast was very good with the usual mix of hot and cold food- juices, yogurt, cereals, meats, cheese, even had smoked salmon. We did not use the bar or restaurant so I cannot comment on them. The double room was adequate. It was very clean. There wasn't much storage space for two people but this was not an issue for us. As with most European hotels there was no tea making facility in the room so bring your own travel kettle! AC was excellent but we did not need to use it much.
The one negative was the noise from the nearby night club. I am a light sleeper and was woken up several times with shouting outside my window.
Tallinn itself is a wonderful city and well worth a visit. It is quite expensive so bring plenty of money!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandIrisheyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#23 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#33 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#15 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Economy Hotell
Economy Hotell
#17 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing