We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem of a place.”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #24 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We have just returned from Tallinn after staying at the Hotel Bern, we choose this hotel because of the good reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival the staff were so attentive and helpful, we asked for a room on one of the upper floors and the receptionist was very good (unfortunately I did not find out what her name was but she deserves a special mention of thanks for being so helpful, it was the lady who was looking after the desk on Saturday 24th October).
The reception and rooms are modern and pleasant, very clean and comfortable beds, breakfast is a buffet style and again the staff were very good ensuring that it was well stocked, the quality of the food was also very good.
The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the Old Town square and also about the same from the bus stop to and from the airport.
I would definately recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to encourage someone to use it, in fact we loved the Hotel and Tallinn so much we are looking at booking again for next year.
Thankyou to all the staff for making our stay so much more pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lostandfound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2009

Hello "lostandfound",
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive comment about your stay. We are delighted that you chose our hotel because of the good reviews and you did not have to disappoint. It was utmost pleasure to read that our receptionist Ms. Airis has done a remarkable job offering you an outstanding level of service.
Thank you for your kind words about the breakfast, rooms and the location. Thank you for your recommendation and for the wish to stay with us again in the future.
We are very much looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards from Tallinn,
Kärolin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2009

It was a really cousy hotel, conveniently located.

+ nice room
+ could borrow umbrella
+ great location
+ reasonable price

- could not open the window
- something wrong with the roller blind (could not use that)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2009

Dear Lauksi,

We kindly thank you for your review and comments.
We are very much hoping that on your next visit to Tallinn we will have the honor to host you again and please let us make sure that you would get a room where windows can be opened.

Warm regards from Tallinn,
Kärolin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Great location, really friendly staff, a nice room and a fine breakfast. And all that for a good price. Definitely can recommend that place!

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tobHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2009

Dear Sir,

We sincerely thank you for your review and recommendation.

Should you visit Tallinn in the future, it would be our greatest honor to accommodate you again in the Hotel Bern.

Warm regards from Tallinn and from Bern staff,
Kärolin Narits

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

I stayed at hotel bern with four friends, we had two rooms. The hotel arranged a minibus to pick the five of us up at airport. The staff are all very helpful and extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom is a wet room and is fine for 2 people but not good for 3 people all wanting to shower one after the other. The bathrobes and slippers provided were much appreciated. The hotel is situated very close to the old town. We arrived late at night and there was a handy foreign exchange kiosk near the hotel.. Most establishments only accept kroons but you could also pay using a card. If you go to Tallinn do treat yourself to a feast at La Hansa .

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iomtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2009

Dear Ms,
Thank you for your review about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear you positive comments and in replay we would like to add that it was utmost pleasure for us to host a group of joyful ladies.
When we read some of the positive comments people like yourselves write to us it makes us feel that we are doing a very worthwhile job.

We would like to wish you all a beautiful autumn,

TallinnHotels and Bern are welcoming You back to Tallinn!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Had a great stay at hotel Bern! For this price it is a real find and the friendliest hotel I have ever been to.

-The first impression was excellent. The STANDARD TWIN ROOM was spacious and was bigger than I had got impression of when looking at pictures of the rooms. The room was very clean at arrival, and the decor looked new and well put together. I loved the room and I would be happy to stay there again.
-The LOCATION is very good. 5 minute walk to the city sentre (where the best shopping is) and 3 minute walk to the beautiful old city. There are two good restaurants nearby; Da Vinci and Chicago. Both are very good for lunch. There is also a huge Rimi grocery store opposite the road. A beauty salon (was busy everyday) is next door.
- The best thing about the hotel is no doubt the SERVICE. Everyone at the front desk is eager to help and they seem to know most things. There was no odd one out who didn't seem happy to help or answer questions.

There were some minor issues though;
-The BREAKFAST was boring. Hot food was sausage and scrambled eggs each day. They did not have plain salami or ham so I had to settle for the croissants the days I bothered to eat there.
- We stayed 4 nights and our SHEETS were not changed during any point of our stay. On our 4th night I was also able to see a lot of dust gathered in the room. A towel I had placed on the bathroom floor had been folded and put back onto the counter.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseHenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2009

Dear Ms. Louise,
We would like to thank you for your review and for the kind words about our location and service.
It is a joy to read that our effort to offer the friendliest service in our hotel has been noticed by you.
Your comment gives us lot of energy to continue for reaching our goal.
We would also like to say that we highly appreciate your comment about breakfast and housekeeping. We can assure you that the issues you mentioned about your room not being cleaned and boring breakfast will be dealt with great importance. It is utmost important for us that our quests can sleep in a quiet and clean room and will enjoy the breakfast in the morning.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Tallinn and let us say that it would be our greatest joy to welcome you back in the future.
We wish you beautiful autumn and every success in your future travels,

Kind regards from TallinnHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Stayed at the Bern for four nights during September 2009. Hotel is in a great location to the old town, about a five minute walk. Staff are friendly, helpful and very courteous; breakfast is a mixture of bacon, meatballs, eggs, cereals and cold meats etc, in a nice quite dining room. I can only comment on the room I had, which was compact and was very seventies looking, and was on the ground floor right opposite the main entrance to a gentleman’s club. Having said that didn’t experience any noise or problem what so ever.

Overall, great location, friendly staff, good breakfast and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chariotchoogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Good location in Tallinn's Old Town. Excellent beds. Nice, peaceful breakfast room down in the basement. Basic buffet breakfast, a good start for a day.
One of our room was in a wing that was earlier dedicated for smoking rooms. We could smell the tobacco still in the corridor. Fortunately, in the room itself there was no smell of tobacco. Room colouring and furnishings were not modern, although the hotel seemed to be quite new.
Reasonable pricing (including buffet breakfast) makes this hotel a good choice for Tallinn city break.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnish_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
1,126 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £42 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing