We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money. Nice room, great bathroom and wunderfull breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Genk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value for money. Nice room, great bathroom and wunderfull breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

It was a pitty I arived so late and had to leave so early, but the hotel was great.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 7 November 2009
Hello TEXBOR,
Thank You for writing. Always good to get positive feedback from our clients. We are waiting You back to Bern.

regards,
Alver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    567
    162
    32
    9
See reviews for
150
549
112
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2009

This is a great little hotel, just two minutes walk away from the main things to see and do in Tallinn's old town.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and were happy to deal with any query. The rooms were standard hotel rooms but clean and comfortable.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelawnneedsmowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 5 November 2009
Hello "Thelawnneedsmowing"
We hope your journey back home was safe and enjoyable one. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, thank you for recommending us highly.

Wishing you all the best from Tallinn
Kärolin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley Uk
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We have just returned from Tallinn after staying at the Hotel Bern, we choose this hotel because of the good reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival the staff were so attentive and helpful, we asked for a room on one of the upper floors and the receptionist was very good (unfortunately I did not find out what her name was but she deserves a special mention of thanks for being so helpful, it was the lady who was looking after the desk on Saturday 24th October).
The reception and rooms are modern and pleasant, very clean and comfortable beds, breakfast is a buffet style and again the staff were very good ensuring that it was well stocked, the quality of the food was also very good.
The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the Old Town square and also about the same from the bus stop to and from the airport.
I would definately recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to encourage someone to use it, in fact we loved the Hotel and Tallinn so much we are looking at booking again for next year.
Thankyou to all the staff for making our stay so much more pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lostandfound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 29 October 2009
Hello "lostandfound",
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive comment about your stay. We are delighted that you chose our hotel because of the good reviews and you did not have to disappoint. It was utmost pleasure to read that our receptionist Ms. Airis has done a remarkable job offering you an outstanding level of service.
Thank you for your kind words about the breakfast, rooms and the location. Thank you for your recommendation and for the wish to stay with us again in the future.
We are very much looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards from Tallinn,
Kärolin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2009

It was a really cousy hotel, conveniently located.

+ nice room
+ could borrow umbrella
+ great location
+ reasonable price

- could not open the window
- something wrong with the roller blind (could not use that)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 22 October 2009
Dear Lauksi,

We kindly thank you for your review and comments.
We are very much hoping that on your next visit to Tallinn we will have the honor to host you again and please let us make sure that you would get a room where windows can be opened.

Warm regards from Tallinn,
Kärolin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

Great location, really friendly staff, a nice room and a fine breakfast. And all that for a good price. Definitely can recommend that place!

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tobHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 22 October 2009
Dear Sir,

We sincerely thank you for your review and recommendation.

Should you visit Tallinn in the future, it would be our greatest honor to accommodate you again in the Hotel Bern.

Warm regards from Tallinn and from Bern staff,
Kärolin Narits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2009

I stayed at hotel bern with four friends, we had two rooms. The hotel arranged a minibus to pick the five of us up at airport. The staff are all very helpful and extremely friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bathroom is a wet room and is fine for 2 people but not good for 3 people all wanting to shower one after the other. The bathrobes and slippers provided were much appreciated. The hotel is situated very close to the old town. We arrived late at night and there was a handy foreign exchange kiosk near the hotel.. Most establishments only accept kroons but you could also pay using a card. If you go to Tallinn do treat yourself to a feast at La Hansa .

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iomtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 7 October 2009
Dear Ms,
Thank you for your review about your stay with us. We are very pleased to hear you positive comments and in replay we would like to add that it was utmost pleasure for us to host a group of joyful ladies.
When we read some of the positive comments people like yourselves write to us it makes us feel that we are doing a very worthwhile job.

We would like to wish you all a beautiful autumn,

TallinnHotels and Bern are welcoming You back to Tallinn!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

Had a great stay at hotel Bern! For this price it is a real find and the friendliest hotel I have ever been to.

-The first impression was excellent. The STANDARD TWIN ROOM was spacious and was bigger than I had got impression of when looking at pictures of the rooms. The room was very clean at arrival, and the decor looked new and well put together. I loved the room and I would be happy to stay there again.
-The LOCATION is very good. 5 minute walk to the city sentre (where the best shopping is) and 3 minute walk to the beautiful old city. There are two good restaurants nearby; Da Vinci and Chicago. Both are very good for lunch. There is also a huge Rimi grocery store opposite the road. A beauty salon (was busy everyday) is next door.
- The best thing about the hotel is no doubt the SERVICE. Everyone at the front desk is eager to help and they seem to know most things. There was no odd one out who didn't seem happy to help or answer questions.

There were some minor issues though;
-The BREAKFAST was boring. Hot food was sausage and scrambled eggs each day. They did not have plain salami or ham so I had to settle for the croissants the days I bothered to eat there.
- We stayed 4 nights and our SHEETS were not changed during any point of our stay. On our 4th night I was also able to see a lot of dust gathered in the room. A towel I had placed on the bathroom floor had been folded and put back onto the counter.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseHenkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 29 September 2009
Dear Ms. Louise,
We would like to thank you for your review and for the kind words about our location and service.
It is a joy to read that our effort to offer the friendliest service in our hotel has been noticed by you.
Your comment gives us lot of energy to continue for reaching our goal.
We would also like to say that we highly appreciate your comment about breakfast and housekeeping. We can assure you that the issues you mentioned about your room not being cleaned and boring breakfast will be dealt with great importance. It is utmost important for us that our quests can sleep in a quiet and clean room and will enjoy the breakfast in the morning.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Tallinn and let us say that it would be our greatest joy to welcome you back in the future.
We wish you beautiful autumn and every success in your future travels,

Kind regards from TallinnHotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#31 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#15 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing