We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 10 December 2009

Everything was like we hoped and better. Super service and helpfull people :)

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 84smiley84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 15 January 2010
Dear Smiley,
We very much enjoyed having the opportunity to host you and we are very much hoping to greet you once again in our hotel.
Warmest regards to Norway,
Hotel Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    586
    173
    32
    11
See reviews for
156
569
114
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

I give this hotel only 2 stars, only because of one thing: Our bathroom smelled like sewage. I guess they were having some problems with their plumming at the time we were there. It was not so bad that we bothered to ask for another room, but anyway. We asked for a little discount because of the smell, when we checked out, which we got. And they were very sorry, they told us many times how sorry they were. The personnel was very nice, nothing to complain about there.

Our room was also rather small. It is not made for big suitcases. I guess we were unlucky there too. So beware: room 202 is no bargain!

Otherwise we liked the hotel. The breakfast was great as well as the location. There is a mini-bar in the room, as well as bathrobes and slippers.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoneball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 15 January 2010
Dear Stoneball,
Once again let us say our deepest apologies for the disappointment caused. We wish we would have known this at the time so we would have been able to give you room which you would have liked.
We are very much hoping that we will have an opportunity to make this all up to you. Please contact us when you are plan your next trip to Tallinn so we can offer you only the best.
Wishing you a wonderful winter,
Hotel Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2009

If you need somewhere to stay in Tallinn, look no further than the Bern hotel. It ticks all the right boxes. We stayed here for a few days and were most impressed with everything.It's perfectly situated, just a few minutes from all the main sights. It's spotlessly clean, very comfortable rooms, great breakfast, most efficiently run and last but not least the hotel staff are the most pleasant people we have met. A special mention for the lovely Airis who was most helpful to us, and nothing was too much trouble for her. On the last night we returned to our room and found a tray with two glasses, a bottle of wine and a box of chocolates on the bed to help celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary, which was the purpose of our visit to Estonia. A total surprise and a wonderful gesture from Karolin, the manageress, which just crowned what was a superb break in beautiful Tallinn.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank puddin1WestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 16 November 2009
Hi "puddin1WestMidlands"
Thank You so much for taking the time to write Your review. You have been very kind to us with your feedback.

Thank You for noticing our efforts to make our guests feel warm and welcomed. Thank You also for your kind words about Airis, she is our star. She always has a smile to share and a desire to make our guests happy.

I am happy to read that our little gesture was much appreciated. We wanted to wish You happy anniversary and to thank You for staying with us.

It would be our greatest honor to host You and Your friends and family in the Hotel Bern.

We wish you all the happiness and good health.

Kindest regards from Tallinn and welcome back,
Kärolin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2009

It was a pitty I arived so late and had to leave so early, but the hotel was great.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Sales and Marketing at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 7 November 2009
Hello TEXBOR,
Thank You for writing. Always good to get positive feedback from our clients. We are waiting You back to Bern.

regards,
Alver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2009

This is a great little hotel, just two minutes walk away from the main things to see and do in Tallinn's old town.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and were happy to deal with any query. The rooms were standard hotel rooms but clean and comfortable.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelawnneedsmowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 5 November 2009
Hello "Thelawnneedsmowing"
We hope your journey back home was safe and enjoyable one. Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, thank you for recommending us highly.

Wishing you all the best from Tallinn
Kärolin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley Uk
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We have just returned from Tallinn after staying at the Hotel Bern, we choose this hotel because of the good reviews on tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival the staff were so attentive and helpful, we asked for a room on one of the upper floors and the receptionist was very good (unfortunately I did not find out what her name was but she deserves a special mention of thanks for being so helpful, it was the lady who was looking after the desk on Saturday 24th October).
The reception and rooms are modern and pleasant, very clean and comfortable beds, breakfast is a buffet style and again the staff were very good ensuring that it was well stocked, the quality of the food was also very good.
The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from the Old Town square and also about the same from the bus stop to and from the airport.
I would definately recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to encourage someone to use it, in fact we loved the Hotel and Tallinn so much we are looking at booking again for next year.
Thankyou to all the staff for making our stay so much more pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lostandfound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 29 October 2009
Hello "lostandfound",
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive comment about your stay. We are delighted that you chose our hotel because of the good reviews and you did not have to disappoint. It was utmost pleasure to read that our receptionist Ms. Airis has done a remarkable job offering you an outstanding level of service.
Thank you for your kind words about the breakfast, rooms and the location. Thank you for your recommendation and for the wish to stay with us again in the future.
We are very much looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards from Tallinn,
Kärolin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2009

It was a really cousy hotel, conveniently located.

+ nice room
+ could borrow umbrella
+ great location
+ reasonable price

- could not open the window
- something wrong with the roller blind (could not use that)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 22 October 2009
Dear Lauksi,

We kindly thank you for your review and comments.
We are very much hoping that on your next visit to Tallinn we will have the honor to host you again and please let us make sure that you would get a room where windows can be opened.

Warm regards from Tallinn,
Kärolin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 86 in Tallinn
844 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#20 of 86 in Tallinn
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 86 in Tallinn
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 86 in Tallinn
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing