We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Cozy Value”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 10 May 2010

The rooms were not big, but spaceous enough for our use - very clean, easily usable (in the sense that everything was easily accessible). The location is only 5-6 minutes walk from the central parts of Old Town, and is RIGHT next to the awesome Kalev Spa. There is only two minor points of annoyance - the windows have, like many places in Tallinn these metal plates in the frames, which causes rain to sound like somebody is playing a metal drum right outside the window. Easily countered with a towel on the plate though, so no big issue. The breakfast however was not really something I'd recommend - I've had much better at worse places, so I'd recommend grabbing your breakfast somebody else. Apart from that, the hotel is awesome, and the personnel very smiling and helpful. We definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2010

Dear Keviel,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write here your comments. We are very grateful for your kind words about our hotel, thank you for your recommendation.
We would also like to assure you that we shall study the points you have raised about our breakfast and the disturbing sound caused by metal window frames as it is most important to us that our quests can sleep peacefully and enjoy the breakfast.
Our kindest regards to Denmark,
Hotel Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

813 - 819 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2010

Thanks for the tips here in TA, This was a Great suprise. Have not seen such a lovely and friendly stuff for a long time.
Only disadvantage was the smell in room - a little bit toiletish...
Otherwise rooms and the hotel were clean, breakfast was good and the breakfast table was taken very good care of.
Location is good, close to the old town. We paid about 80 €/night. You can always find a cheaper hotel but I doubt is you find such a good service.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jari_Kempele_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2010

Dear Jari,
We can hardly say how grateful we are to you for your kind words about our staff and service. Thank you also for drawing our attention to toiletish smell that may occur in bathrooms. We are looking into this matter carefully.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Bern.

Yours truly,
Hotel Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Me & my wife have been very pleased with the hotel. The style is really nice. The location is really good to explore Tallinn. There is also a supermarket very close to the hotel. The staff is very helpful & smiley! The room was clean & the bathroom was really pleasant. The breakfast was OK! The only wrong thing is that from our room, we could hear some noise from the reception. The walls must not be so thick then. It is however not so dramatic! :)
Recommended for a nice stay in Tallinn.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joonatan2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2010

Dear Joonatan.

We are very happy and thankful to see that you and your wife were pleased with our hotel. We will take a note from your statement that noise from reception may be heard to some of the rooms.

We wish you the nicest springtime and we are hoping to welcome you again in our hotel.

Hotel Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Nice hotell, very friendly staff and good breakfast. Suitable for couples.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank _s_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2010

Dear S.

Thank you for your thoughts about our hotel. We hope to host you again during your next stay in Tallinn.

Best wishes,
Hotel Bern.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Everything was just great - location, staff, breakfast, room... It's worth every penny. And don't worry about the night club. Our room faced the entrance of the night club and we stayed there at the weekend but were not disturbed at all.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bodatorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2010

Dear Mr. Kevinmarney,
We are very thankful for your feedback. Our hotel is located in the Old Town and you are absolutely right about the variety of historical buildings, restaurants and bars that are in the neighborhood.
Your observation about the port, which is indeed about a 5 minute walk away, may be very helpful for those arriving in Tallinn by ferry.
We are very glad that You brought up this night club there and assured that the night club next door did not cause you and your partner any problems.
Thank you for the positive comments about our staff and the breakfast buffet.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Bern
TallinnHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Service was very polite and breakfast delicious. The floor of the bathroom was not nice because the water from the shower didn´t go in to the drain, there was not enough heeling angle. The heating was a little bit too warm in the night. It was nice that the hotel staff reserved us a table from the restaurant of Old Town, Peppermill.

Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamiTampere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office and Housekeeping Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2010

Dear Mamitampere,
It is a pleasure to hear such kind words regarding the service and breakfast at hotel Bern.
We also thank you for making us aware about the trouble you had with the shower and your room being too warm at night. We can assure you that these issues you mentioned will be dealt with.
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and recommending it to others.

Best wishes,
Hotel Bern
Tallinnhotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

This hotel is very close to the Old Town of Tallinn with its many historic buildings, restaurants and bars. The location is particularly convenient for those arriving in Tallinn by ferry as it is less than 5 minutes away from the port. The staff were genuinely friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was a traditional continental buffet but with a wide choice and good quality food. My one reservation about the hotel is that there is a night club/pool hall/''gentleman's club' immediately next door to reception and facing some of the rooms. This caused us no problems with noise as we weren't there at the weekend, but anybody planning to stay Friday/Saturday night should probably ask not to be put in a room facing this establishment.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevinmarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#33 of 86 in Tallinn
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £45 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing