We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Average Hotel”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 11 June 2010

Putting it quite bluntly, it's the staff that make this hotel. Set behind a courtyard, adjacent to a gentleman's club, opposite a patch where shady characters including a beggar hang out, with no views whatsoever, the hotel certainly cannot boast about location. It's conveniently placed opposite a pharmacy and a supermarket, but otherwise the street is not one I would choose to live in. Just on the border of the Old Town, but away from the tourists. Comfort in rooms leaves much to desire, as the bathrooms have no bath (they only have a walk-in shower, like gymnasiums), the furniture looks like it's been purchased from an IKEA lookalike, and the beds are so soft and spongy with a mattress so thin it would be much more in place in a prison cell than a 4-star hotel. But then, the staff are so great ... nothing is too much of a bother for them, they always greet you (except for one particular receptionist) with a friendly beaming smile and are so polite and helpful. Everywhere is spotlessly clean - this must be the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at. The breakfast is also very good and sets you off with a great start.
The one point which definitely makes me not recommend this hotel is the uncomfortable beds.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrekwentFlajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,235 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2010

From the moment we arrived to our departure Annike made us feel at home and welcome. We were unsure about accepting a room overlooking the street but she was happy to move us if we were unhappy. (As it turned out the street facing rooms did not suffer from noise pollution and we were very happy with what we had been allocated).
We arranged a Tallin Card and audio guide through the hotel which initially didn't work. Again Annike ensured the problem was rectified and that we did not lose any time that we were entitled to with the equipment. Breakfasts covered a huge range of tastes and we were impressed that in addition to the traditional fare we are used to there was extremely delicious fish including very fresh smoked salmon. When it was time to go, Annike was there again organising our taxi, giving us a complimentary cup of coffee and packed breakfast to send us on our way.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

This hotel is modern, neat and offers an exceptionally good buffet breakfast. (Really, I'll miss that breakfast!) If, however, you're looking for an interesting, unusual, beautifully decorated hotel, the Bern might NOT be your first choice. On the other hand, if you want to rest assured that your stay will be comfortable, it can be fully recommended.

The hotel is situated in a modern building at the back of a little enclosure. The location is certainly nothing fancy, but the lobby itself was surprisingly pleasant in comparison. The location was still very handy for visiting the Old Town. There is, also, a supermarket just across the street.

Our room was neat and clean; it had a red-hued decor, nothing in it was exceptionally pretty but not unpleasant either. In other words, a very ordinary but still pleasant enough room. Apart from the bed there was a writing desk and a closet, and not much extra space. The bathroom (with shower and no bath) had a more unusual, modern, wooden-coloured decor, quite pleasant really, and plenty of space to put our toiletries on. Bath robes and slippers were provided (in the closet).

My only negative points come from the rather loud air conditioning. As the room was small, it was something of a necessity, but while switched on it was also fairly noisy. So we ended up keeping it partly on, partly off during the nights. There is a remote control above the writing desk for controlling it (and a manual leaflet somewhere on the desk).

The staff was friendly and polite and spoke good English. Reception was open 24 hours and drink were sold probably at all hours, too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vesta_Tilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Hotel is in excellent palace near old town. Beatiful, small hotel were you got good servise from staff. Room were cozy and neat. And best was that you could use internet for free. And if you didn't have computer, you can use hotel computer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tappinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

Situated right next to the old town of Tallinn but within easy walking distance to the main city centre shops too, The staff were helpful from the moment we arrived and it was never that obvious there was a night club situated right next door although maybe we missed the busy times there because we were out ourselves.
We are frequent travellers to Tallinn and will check this hotel first in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robuk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2010

Dear Robuk,
We thrilled to find such a positive comment. Thank you very much for your kind words and generosity. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, when you are planning your next visit to Tallinn. We would very much like to inform you about interesting events happening in Tallinn, so your return trip would be even more exciting.
Our kindest regards and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you soon.
Hotel Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

A good hotel, located close to old town and port. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms are quite new, comfortable and quiet so we had a good night sleep. We liked the breakfast very much.

Nothing negative to say, would definitely go there next time as well.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2010

Dear Travelling54.

Thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. We are looking forward to hosting you again during your next stay in Tallinn.

Wishing you all wonderful summer,
Hotel Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

The rooms were not big, but spaceous enough for our use - very clean, easily usable (in the sense that everything was easily accessible). The location is only 5-6 minutes walk from the central parts of Old Town, and is RIGHT next to the awesome Kalev Spa. There is only two minor points of annoyance - the windows have, like many places in Tallinn these metal plates in the frames, which causes rain to sound like somebody is playing a metal drum right outside the window. Easily countered with a towel on the plate though, so no big issue. The breakfast however was not really something I'd recommend - I've had much better at worse places, so I'd recommend grabbing your breakfast somebody else. Apart from that, the hotel is awesome, and the personnel very smiling and helpful. We definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2010

Dear Keviel,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write here your comments. We are very grateful for your kind words about our hotel, thank you for your recommendation.
We would also like to assure you that we shall study the points you have raised about our breakfast and the disturbing sound caused by metal window frames as it is most important to us that our quests can sleep peacefully and enjoy the breakfast.
Our kindest regards to Denmark,
Hotel Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#33 of 86 in Tallinn
374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £45 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing