We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent location”
Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Nice and friendly staff, you can go walking to the best sites in the city, Very clean .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grancanario70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2010

Dear Grancabario,
We are delighted to read that you and your friends had a great stay in our hotel and in Tallinn.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Hotel Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

820 - 826 of 1,268 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2010

Hotel Bern is located at a very good spot, right at the border of old and new Tallinn centers, well within a walking distance of passenger harbour. A supermarket and a pharmacy are located at the opposite side of the street. All the shops you can think of are near by.

Rooms were beautifully decorated, smart and elegant, modern style. There were plenty of good quality cosmetics, slippers and bathrobes waiting for guests. The only thing that bothered me was the noisy air conditioning. Buffet breakfast was included in the room price, it was very good. Hotel staff was friendly and multilingual.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nestorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2010

Dear Sir/Madam,
Having you in our hotel was a great pleasure. We are especially glad you were pleased with our room facilities, although thank you for pointing our attention to the air-conditioning. We will make sure that the air conditioners will not make any more disturbing noise.
Despite that we sincerely hope you will be back to stay with us and we will do our very best to make your stay memorable one.
Have a wonderful autumn,
Hotel Bern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We found this hotel quite good value considering excellent location right on edge of the lovely Old Town and all its shops, bars and restaurants. Cheap supermarket opposite. However our room was very basic with tired, old fashioned decor and not very big. Though in its favour it was clean and, surprisingly for such a room, bath robes and slippers provided. The air con was also appreciated. The shower room was tiny with a scrap of a plastic curtain and even if we had the shower on little more than a dribble, the whole floor flooded. The maid provided clean glasses on only one of the four days we were there. However, reception staff were wonderful. Friendly and helpful and happy to give us a glass or bucket of ice on request. The breakfast was adequate, nothing fancy. We didn't find the hotel noisy at all (except when it rained and the water on the metal outside made quite a din!)
Make sure you ask reception to ring a taxi for the airport. There are usually taxis hovering round about and we asked one how much to airport. The vague reply was 'about 200 EEKS'. However, the taxi the hotel got for us only charged 95!!!
In the Solaris shopping centre outside the Old Town is a buffet restaurant called The Lido. Having previously tried this in Riga we were glad to find the Tallinn one even better for lunch. Lots of choice and very cheap. As for the Old Town, we particulary liked the garlic restaurant just off the square. Eating in the courtyard was lovely and the food very good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynneybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

Great wee hotel on the edge of Tallinn’s Old Town. Quite a small room but very clean and comfortable. Would highly recommend if you’re on budget. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful, and will give you a five minute intro of what to do and see in Tallinn.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

+ friendly service
+ good location
+ cosy room
+ jacuzzi in DeLuxe room
+ 24h reception

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luupinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

The hotel is located just nearby the Old Town. The room was nice, we were three adults sleeping in one room so space wise it was a bit limited (we had a twin room with an extra bed). The breakfast room is located in the cellar, no windows there... The most negative with the hotel was the noise during the evening/night. There is a courtyard where hotel guests sit and drink (pretty late) and the noise level was very high. However, good price for an overall decent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarieG77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

Stayed at the Hotel Berne for 5 nights. Easy check in.Very clean rooms, fresh towels everyday.Powershower in wet room.Reasonable breakfast(missed a descent cup of english tea).Quiet location just 5 mins. walk to old town.Supermarket opposite hotel.
money changed just further down road.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnoStaffordEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#23 of 86 in Tallinn
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 86 in Tallinn
920 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barons Boutique Hotel
Barons Boutique Hotel
#29 of 86 in Tallinn
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
#20 of 86 in Tallinn
1,137 reviews
0.7 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £45 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing