We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bern

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bern
Ranked #25 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Eltham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great value, great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

We spent 3 nights at the Hotel Bern. We were impressed by the location and the quality of the hotel for the money that we paid. The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel is spotless. Breakfast was fresh and there was a reasonable choice. if you are going to Tallin and don't want to spend a fortune this is definitely the place to stay. The rooms are fairly basic but clean, spacious and comfortable. If you like curry there is an excellent restaurant called Chokra a couple of minutes walk from the hotel. The pizza place opposite is also much nicer inside than it looks from the outside and is very reasonably priced. There is an excellent leisure centre literally two minute away so take your cossy with you if you like to swim. The museum of Estonian history is a great place to spend an hour, really interesting.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElthamTraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    573
    164
    32
    9
See reviews for
152
555
111
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

My friend and I stayed here for 3 nights, cost us £75 each, and that included a great breakfast. The staff at the reception desk were so incredibly helpful and friendly. The hotel is in an ideal location, close to the old town and a lovely cocktail bar called the Butterfly Lounge. There is a Gentleman's Club next door but you barely noticed it or anyone outside. Would recommend this hotel happily.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabster49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

Friendly staff, clean & spacious rooms, great price, good location (just around the corner from the tram/bus stop - if you arrive by ferry there is a shuttlebus which drops you at this stop), supermarket/chemist opposite. We did see a nightclub near the Hotel entrance but we didn't have a noise problem but we didn't stay on a Saturday night. Breakfast was okay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpeake69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

hotel is very well situated, just a few minutes walk from the old town. its rooms are very clean and comfortable. the breakfast buffet was fresh, delicious and varied. the hotel staff are exceptional. always helpful, they went the extra mile to ensure your stay was memorable
and very helpfull in planning your day or assisting you with travel plans.
great place to stay

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duke157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Nice Hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast buffet is outstanding (especially given the size of the hotel), rooms are small and a bit "dry" but fully equipped & clean (only safe is missing but there are deposit boxes available at reception), bathroom& amenities clean and up-to-date.

Location is excellent right at the historic old town center of Tallin. All POI´s within 5 minutes walking distance plus a huge variety of restaurants, cafes and bars/pubs.

There is a "Gentleman´s Club" which shares the inner courtyard with the hotel. There might be some "traffic" during weekends when the club is open. This is just a guess, I was there on a weekday so it was closed and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellerCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Bern Hotel was very well located right outside the old town wall (1 minute walk, less than a block), in a happening part of the amazing city of Tallinn. It is also walking distance from the bus station. The place was really nice, sparkling clean and for the reasonable price the rooms were much higher-end than I was used to staying in. The staff (especially Arius) went out of their way to help with any questions or assistance they could give about traveling in Tallinn or Estonia in general (and best of all they seemed genuinely quite happy and determined to help out). Full buffet breakfast, free internet and Tallinn is just an awesome place, can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pretzolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is utmost pleasure to read that we and have done a very good job hosting you and your friends in our hotel. Thank you for noticing the effort and care our staff and especially and Ms. Airis puts into their work.
It is such a joy to read that our beautiful city and country won your heart. We hope to welcome you again!
With kindest regards,
Hotel Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

The Hotel Bern cannot be faulted on any score. Friendly and obliging staff, comfortable, quiet room, good breakfast choice, great location between the old and new parts of Tallinn, just seconds from tram and bus routes and a few minutes from the port. The wet-room-style bathroom is small but well equipped. Very good value for money and an excellent choice for visiting a beautiful and friendly city.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank incol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TallinnHotels, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bern, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Sir,
We just wanted to write you a small note to thank you for your lovely words about Tallinn and our hospitality.
Hopefully you will consider our beautiful country for your next travels. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back.
Our warmest greetings to United Kingdom,
Hotel Bern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#8 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 82 in Tallinn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merchant's House Hotel
Merchant's House Hotel
#24 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Taanilinna Hotell
Taanilinna Hotell
#32 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#16 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
Kreutzwald Hotel Tallinn
#12 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bern

Property: Hotel Bern
Address: Aia 10 | Old Town, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tallinn
#14 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bern 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A host with an individual and attentive approach!* Located in Tallinn Old Town, amidst historic sights and cultural events* Cordial and helpful staff* Rooms with connecting doors for families* Equipment includes a bathrobe and slippers. Hotel Bern is situated in a bright and peaceful backyard, about 100 m away from the main street of Tallinn Old Town, called Viru street. About the same distance to popular shopping center, Viru Centre, hop-on hop-off buses, Spa which has a 50-meter swimming pool and children pool plus all Old Town important sights are in a reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bern Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing