We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wise choice”
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wise choice”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This is a standard hotel, very conveniently located near the Old Town, near the business district and near some good pubs and restaurants.

Actually it's in the middle of a post-industrial zone, which is completely renovated and full of shops, bars and restaurants. Nice spot in this overall dull city :)

The rooms are very standard, and could be better. It's as plain as can be. The TV is very small and located under the ceiling. The internet connection is free but the Wi-Fi is VERY slow and the signal is disappearing all the time. It works OK in the lobby though.

The good thing is the price. For this price this hotel is quite OK :)

Supposedly there is a free sauna for everybody, but I was not interested, so I'm not sure.

Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    232
    196
    52
    18
See reviews for
75
195
88
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in Hotel Metropol for 2 nights in August 2011. I was staying with my other half.

The location of the hotel is good - we came over on the ferry from Helsinki and it is very near the port so was handy for us. It is also only a very short walk from the Old Town - just over 5 minutes to Viru Gate and about 10 minutes to the beautiful Old Town square.

The hotel itself is perfectly fine. I wouldn't call it a 5 star hotel but then it doesn't market itself as one! It pretty much does what it says on the tin really! It is a good hotel with nice, quite spacious rooms with the usual amenities. Rooms were cleaned and made up every day and towels changed if requested (by leaving them on the floor as with most hotels nowadays). Our TV did not work but this wasn't particularly a problem as we did not exactly go to Tallinn to watch TV! Beds were comfortable.

The staff on the desk were helpful - we arrived earlier than you were supposed to check in but as our room was ready they kindly let us in straight away. They spoke a decent level of English too so no communication problems.

There is a massage service (which you pay extra for) which was very good and worth the money.

Breakfast was fine - all the usual continental style foods - fruit, cereal, yoghurt, cold meats, scrambed eggs, bacon, juices and tea and coffee etc. They also served the traditional Baltic herrings (although this was not so much to our taste!) It is a buffet so you can just have as much or as little as you please.

Cannot make any complaints about the hotel. Although I would say that the lobby is very grand and looks nice and the rooms are perhaps not as posh as the lobby but still perfectly fine and nothing wrong with the hotel in any way. I would recommend it to others!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KARDJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2011

It was our first Europe trip. We were charmed with this hotel. Room with sauna was excellent. It is wonderful to take a warm sauna after a walking in rainy weather. It was friendly service, clean room and tasty breakfast. This hotel was a reason to come back to Tallinn one more time for us.

Room Tip: Room with sauna is a great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

I stayed here with my friends for 3 nights. The hotel is located well, lose to the ferry port, the old town and for restaurants and bars. It is just a 10 minute walk into the old town.

The rooms were clean, although a little dated. The bathroom again was clean, but will probably be due a little updating in the near future! Having said that, it was perfectly adequate for our stay. The beds were fairly comfortable and very soft! Wifi is available in most of the hotel - but our room was on the end and so the wifi didn't work, which was a little frustrating. However, it is free and available in most places!

The breakfast was not so good, we even skipped it a couple of days. Toast was about the only appealing item on the menu for me!

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel has a karaoke bar. It is quiet during the week, but did get busier on the Friday evening when there was a host from 9pm.

We visited the Occupation Museum and KGB museum in Hotel Viru. Both were good. The KGB was better. We also visited the prison. It is probably the most bizarre place I have been to. The entrance is not signposted at all from what we could see - even on reaching the prison itself! There is no information given to you and no 'directions' of where to go. The place has a very creepy feel about it. However, it was interesting and I am pleased I went! Well sort of!

Tallinn is a great place, and full of very nice people. I will definitely return to the city!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room in the middle if you want wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger7577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

very pleased with location, it was just outside the wall to the old town, cross small road and your there.
The hotel was of very good standard, modern and very clean. Room was a good size and comfortable, breakfast was continental but enough choice to have your fill.
Would definatly recommend and return, no negative views on anything.
Tallin is a place that would appeal to all age groups. Loved the buildings and atmosphere of the medieval city. very interesting and lots to see which was helped as there were points of interest printed in english to understand the place.
We particularly liked going to view the sea that had frozen and to see locals cutting holes into the frozen river and fishing. Even though there was snow it made the holiday not spoilt it as walkways were cleared and made the place more magical.
Loved every minute of our 5 day break.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
376 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 668 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Tallinn in February/March was very cold, but hotel was warm and we had a quiet room.
Good breakfast- lots of herring dishes. Need studded grippers to cope with ice on streets.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydneyy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Hotel is located very close to ferry and Old Town, next to a backpacker hostel and an updated warehouse converted to shopping district. Very youthful vibe, rooms are shabby but clean. Breakfast OK, parking OK, staff is efficient and very very friendly.
Might go back again, price is very good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#20 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
#37 of 83 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#31 of 83 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#41 of 83 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#46 of 83 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Property: Metropol Hotel
Address: Roseni 13, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropol is located in the centre of the Tallinn city, near to the old town. About 1 km from train station, 2 km from the bus station and 4 km from the airport. Hotel offers modern amenities and technologies, meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing