We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well done”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“well done”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Excellent value for money and well located for the Old Town, and port and bus terminals. Good breakfast -scrambled eggs , sausage, hams, salami, cheese, coffee and cold drinks.
Room was good sized and clean and comfortable. Power shower with towels and gel provided.
Bar open until 1.00am. Saku beer 0.4l is 3e and they had a three for two offer which ran all night. Car parking adjacent, but you do feel the hotel is built on a parking lot.
Will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank bobfromwales_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    229
    194
    51
    18
See reviews for
75
194
87
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Good location in Tallinn City Centre, less than five minutes walk to the old town and less than ten minutes walk to the harbour (port). Located off the main streets so very quiet at night. Reception staff friendly and helpful. Room was a good size - clean and tidy. Bathroom had an excellent shower and under-floor heating (an added bonus). Free wi-fi too. Did not have breakfast at the hotel. Good value for money and would stay at the hotel again if or when I am back Tallinn.

Room Tip: Naturally try to stay away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Gaz-Liverpool-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Nice hotel, close to most things, free internet in reception and really comfy beds

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefc05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

If you're travelling with your own car this is a good choice. Most of the hotels in old town don't have own parking space. The rooms are quite OK and the breakfast is very good (lot of selection). The room prices are also very good, a bit cheaper than in most hotels in old town. It takes only 5 minutes to wal to old town, if even that. I can reccommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaLekCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My father & I used this hotel for 5 days during our stay in Tallinn,and the hotel proved to be a hit,as we were a 5 minute walk away from both the old town and the ferry terminal.The hotel itself is in the Rotermann district (or the new town),which is just a couple of minutes walk from the bus stop (at the Viru Center) where you get the bus to and from the airport.There are some decent restaurants there as well,and are a lot cheaper than the restaurants which are around the main square of Tallinn.

As for the hotel itself it's very decent for a budget hotel.The staff were pleasant and everything was pretty convenient.We decided to get our breakfast on the day,instead of pre-booking it.As this sometimes got in the way of our plans (Especially if you are planning a day trip over to Finland - which is worth doing) but the breakfast was good,not English breakfast but good continental style fare.Our rooms were ok not exactly flash,but the room did the job for what we wanted,so it didn't bother us in terms of our enjoyment of our time in Tallinn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tartanterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

This is a standard hotel, very conveniently located near the Old Town, near the business district and near some good pubs and restaurants.

Actually it's in the middle of a post-industrial zone, which is completely renovated and full of shops, bars and restaurants. Nice spot in this overall dull city :)

The rooms are very standard, and could be better. It's as plain as can be. The TV is very small and located under the ceiling. The internet connection is free but the Wi-Fi is VERY slow and the signal is disappearing all the time. It works OK in the lobby though.

The good thing is the price. For this price this hotel is quite OK :)

Supposedly there is a free sauna for everybody, but I was not interested, so I'm not sure.

Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7dust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed in Hotel Metropol for 2 nights in August 2011. I was staying with my other half.

The location of the hotel is good - we came over on the ferry from Helsinki and it is very near the port so was handy for us. It is also only a very short walk from the Old Town - just over 5 minutes to Viru Gate and about 10 minutes to the beautiful Old Town square.

The hotel itself is perfectly fine. I wouldn't call it a 5 star hotel but then it doesn't market itself as one! It pretty much does what it says on the tin really! It is a good hotel with nice, quite spacious rooms with the usual amenities. Rooms were cleaned and made up every day and towels changed if requested (by leaving them on the floor as with most hotels nowadays). Our TV did not work but this wasn't particularly a problem as we did not exactly go to Tallinn to watch TV! Beds were comfortable.

The staff on the desk were helpful - we arrived earlier than you were supposed to check in but as our room was ready they kindly let us in straight away. They spoke a decent level of English too so no communication problems.

There is a massage service (which you pay extra for) which was very good and worth the money.

Breakfast was fine - all the usual continental style foods - fruit, cereal, yoghurt, cold meats, scrambed eggs, bacon, juices and tea and coffee etc. They also served the traditional Baltic herrings (although this was not so much to our taste!) It is a buffet so you can just have as much or as little as you please.

Cannot make any complaints about the hotel. Although I would say that the lobby is very grand and looks nice and the rooms are perhaps not as posh as the lobby but still perfectly fine and nothing wrong with the hotel in any way. I would recommend it to others!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KARDJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#22 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
#37 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#31 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#39 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#46 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Property: Metropol Hotel
Address: Roseni 13, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropol is located in the centre of the Tallinn city, near to the old town. About 1 km from train station, 2 km from the bus station and 4 km from the airport. Hotel offers modern amenities and technologies, meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing