We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Haifa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I spend two days in this hotel after arriving by ferry from Helsinki. With a walking distance to the city center, the old town, the ferry terminal, the hotel location is perfect for getting around to know Tallinn. The room was spacious and calm. Toilets OK, a bit small but with all what is needed and clean. Breakfast was good and big enough. Will definitively recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    228
    193
    51
    18
See reviews for
75
194
87
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We visited hotel Metropol with our little family on 24th of May (just one Friday night). My husband checked in with our little 5 month old daughter and told me later that everybody were very kind and helpful. The room was spacious and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The curtains made the room exactly as dark as needed when You want Your baby to fall asleep.
So everything seemed to be perfect until the party started in the karaoke bar two floors beneath us. And it lasted until 3 am. After that most of the karaoke "stars" thought that they should keep on singing outside and in front of the hotel (under our window). We did have loud "neighbours" as well - they came into their rooms after the karaoke bar was closed and we heard everythig they talked and laughed about until 5 am (the noise from rooms beside you comes through the ventilation system). Because of that, unfortunately, we didn`t get to sleep much that night. In case it would have been only me and my husband, we would have asked for another room, but it would have been too much to move all our things, baby`s bed and the baby in the middle of the night...
So this was our only disapointment (the location of our room), because we had informed the hotel a week prior arrival that we are coming with our baby and we would have appreciated if they`d given us a "quiet" room.
Nevertheless we recommend hotel Metropol! And in case You`d like to sleep in a quiet room, ask a room as far as the karaoke bar as possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the karaoke bar as possible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moncito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Nice Hotel. Arrived from the Helsinki - Tallinn ferry. Made to feel very welcome by good staff. Room very large and on 5th floor - perhaps the decor was a little 'dated'. Good views across Tallinn. The food, however, was really excellent both for dinner and breakfast. Can recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobButler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
279 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

Nice low-budget hotell. Rooms are quite large but oldfashioned and this is not plus ;). Good situation near harbour. There are nice restaurants nearby (I.g. Alter ego) and lots of liquerstores ( cheap and cheaper comparing Finlands prices).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarmo_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

As here before told the location of Metropol hotel is excellent: walking distance to Old Town, Viru Center and ferry port. Our double room was big and clean but slightly rundown. Breakfast was
decent with eggs, sausages,Russian style oven cheese, fruit salad, dark, whole corn and white breads and bisquits.Next day we bought lamb meet in Stockmann supermarket
and when leaving our suit cases to the luggage store after 12 pm we asked the reception staff if they could put our fresh things to fridge. Receptionists didn´t seem to be very friendly or helpful but they brought fresh food to the cold room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ercarai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikskile, Latvia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The hotel is located on the border of old town and city, so it is very conveniently located for both tourist and business visits, although the clientele definately were not business ones. I stayed for one night on a weekday, so most of the other guests were families from Russia, as far as I could see at breakfast. Perhaps it is different on weekends. Hotel has a strange practice to charge you beforehand at check-in, so that may be an indicator.
The hotel staff was efficient but didn't bother with pleasantries, even at the bar - too bad, no tips for them.
The room was big but the facilities were quite rundown in contrast to new look of the building and lobby. Everything was working fine though, and one doesn't come to Tallinn to watch TV anyway. Free WiFi was available everywhere with good speeds, no problems with Skype calls neither in lobby nor in the room.
The breakfast choice was basic, however it came to 2USD using booking special offer, so that's was adequate.
On overall this is good value-for money choice if you're travelling on budget.

Room Tip: Half of the rooms on the 6th floor are smoking rooms, so there is a smell of stale smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aivars R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Euroopa
Hotel Euroopa
#21 of 82 in Tallinn
575 reviews
0.3 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#39 of 82 in Tallinn
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#31 of 82 in Tallinn
915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
#38 of 82 in Tallinn
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#45 of 82 in Tallinn
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Property: Metropol Hotel
Address: Roseni 13, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropol is located in the centre of the Tallinn city, near to the old town. About 1 km from train station, 2 km from the bus station and 4 km from the airport. Hotel offers modern amenities and technologies, meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing