We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected, good price :)”
Review of Metropol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metropol Hotel
Ranked #36 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I dint know what to expect when we arrived, it erm imposing from outside! Reception is modern and very nice. We were assigned room 713 on the 6th floor, when we looked out of our window and saw we were on the front I was concerned about noise having read previous reviews. The rooms have no air com so as it was very warm when we visited we slept with the window open, with the exception of Saturday night we were disturbed by very little noise. And in fairness on Saturday I'm not sure if it woke me or I woke due to the heat. This hotel is in a trendy area of bars restaurants etc so may not be ideal if you have travelled with children as its inevitable there will be some noise. The area it's in is very nice, close to town and the port with a kids play area around the corner. The rooms are clean and functional if a little dated only noted so people are aware. My only real grumble would be breakfast which was ok but would have benefitted from more preserves and some pastries. We had a good experience here and can't really fault it during our 7 night stay.

Room Tip: 713 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lazytoad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed 2 nights in this lovely hotel, it is near to the old town and shopping malls. Viking ferry terminal is just 15mins easy walk. Very convenient. Staffs in hotel were friendly and breakfast was good.

I stayed on the 6th floor overlooking the old town. The room was hot in the afternoon because of direct afternoon sun, it has no air condition, however, I get a really nice sunset from my room. And room size was huge. Very pleased with this hotel actually.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vermiliondesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Avoid this hotel on Friday and Saturdays unless you like Karaoke, we were kept awake by the singing until after 3.00am (the Karaoke bar closed @ 3.00am). We did think about getting up and joining in but my knowledge of Estonian and Russian folk songs is poor.
Apart from this the hotel rooms were ok and at least had curtains which covered the windows and blocked out the light(essential for June in Estonia).

Room Tip: Make sure you do not use this hotel on a Friday or Saturday and if you do make sure you are on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Very well located, a short walk from the historic center. The hotel was easy to reach by local bus from the airport, since the final bus stop was only two blocks away.
Comfortable rooms, quiet surroundings, delicious buffet breakfast. Perfect compromise, I appreciated a lot this stay and would return without hesitation.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
Thank zrod83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Good value, serviceable hotel with clean and reasonably spacious rooms. I was slightly worried that the karaoke bar would mean noise and revelry, but saw no sign of it and found the hotel to be calm and quiet. It's in a good location for accessing the old town without being part of it - just a short walk away. It's also close to the airport bus stop and only a few minutes walk to the ferries for Helsinki. Breakfasts were fine, and there is a bar which also serves food - though I must admit that the it's the first time I've ever had a club sandwich containing a beefburger!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyvernian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed in the Metropole for 2 nights. It was a good sized room and the curtains were adequate for keeping out the light from the long May days in Estonia.
It is in a great location for wandering around the old Town without the hassle of staying in the old town. There restaurants and supermarkets within a couple of minutes walk and it is in a gentrifying and interesting section of Tallinn.
The hotel seemed very popular with tour groups and , as a result, breakfasts were a little difficult to deal with. Finding a table was a hassle on both mornings.
Desk staff spoke good English and were helpful.
Two things were a little irritating. There was no safe in the rooms and storage of passports and other valuables had to be done at the desk and there was a surcharge of 3.5 euros a day for this service. The other was the floor of the bathroom. This was heated and this made the bathroom overly warm and humid.
I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views than others. Check first before signing in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank In60s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel is 5 minutes walk from the Old Town. The rooms are large and I was fortunate to get a room with its own sauna in the bathroom. The breakfast is good with plenty of choice. The hotel staff are helpful and friendly and I was sorry that I only stayed here one night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara246810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.7 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#34 of 86 in Tallinn
987 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#42 of 86 in Tallinn
349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tallink Express Hotel
Tallink Express Hotel
#30 of 86 in Tallinn
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
Tallinn Seaport Hotel
#41 of 86 in Tallinn
416 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 86 in Tallinn
1,234 reviews
0.5 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#20 of 86 in Tallinn
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel

Address: Roseni 13, Tallinn 10111, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £34 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metropol Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Metropol is located in the centre of the Tallinn city, near to the old town. About 1 km from train station, 2 km from the bus station and 4 km from the airport. Hotel offers modern amenities and technologies, meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropol Hotel Tallinn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing