We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent modern hotel, offering great value for money”
Review of Hotel Euroopa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Euroopa
Ranked #17 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent modern hotel, offering great value for money”
Reviewed 2 December 2009

I stayed here for a brief 4-day trip around Tallin and Helsinki in September, and would highly recommend it to anyone planning on visiting Tallinn - not only because of the quality and location, but because of the price!

The hotel is very new, appears to only be a few years old. It's located on the side of the harbours, and so is a 5-10 minute walk from the town centre - the route crosses a busy road and can feel quite windswept at night, but it feels safe and is well-lit. For those taking a boat trip elsewhere in the region, the hotel is ideally situated for all the major ferries and hydrofoils.

The rooms are very spacious, I stayed in a standard room, and it still had a seperaten living area with sofa, desk etc. The bathroom was incredible, designer Grohe fittings. There was a wet-room style shower, but no bath - this didn't bother me, but might bother others.

Everything was very clean and there was an efficient turn-down service twice a day.

Breakfast is served downstairs, it was buffet style which pretty much everything you could want!

The hotel has a Sauna, Gym, etc but I didn't make use of these so can't comment. Similarly, I didn't really interact with many of the staff, but those I did speak to were very friendly and helpful.

Overall, I thought this hotel offered exceptional value for money given it's location - you should be able to find some good deals online - and is definately worth considering if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    320
    90
    10
    5
See reviews for
104
226
71
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hinsdale, IL
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

The hotel is located within walking distance of the old town. The decore is modern Scandinavian and wonderful. You have your choice of carpet or wood floors and the rooms are spacious with lots of wood accents and a sitting area. I loved the bar area too. The buffet breakfast was generous and good with many choices. The staff was very helpful and friendly. This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in recently.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cortona
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

very good hotel over the water, near the port and about 15 minutes walk to the city centre!!! Good and clean room and also breakfast was ok!!! I'm very happy for the choice and also the price was very good

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alearezzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

The hotel is quite new and the staff was helpful. It is located just outside the Tallink terminal in the harbor. Very convenient, if you're going to travel with Tallink. However, it also brings the only disadvantage I can mention: many of the guests staying in the hotel are Finnish tourists coming to Tallinn for the cheap alcohol, so they are not the nicest possible company. If you don't want to be bothered by them, come early to the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kuu-kanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

Stayed in the hotel in September 2008 as i was playing in SAKU SUURHALL with my band.
I got to say that overall impression is great - i like such kind of modern and quiet hotels with great architecture and design. In addition to that buffet breakfast was very delicious with a various number of food, especially good choise of fish (i guess it's Estonian visit card:).
Although i spent only two nights there i enjoyed my time there. Rooms are clean ans specious, stuff friendly.
Also i must admist the SPA are of the hotel. Even though i didn't have a chanсe to go to SAUNA but my friends did and they had a great time there.
If you have questions please ask.
Serge

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergiy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uusimaa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2007

Booked this hotel through a booking hotels website and wasn't too sure what to expect as the hotel's website doesn't show much of the hotel. However, the hotel was a pleasant surprise and great value for the 76 euros for a twin room.

It is brand new. It only opened earlier this year and it still smells of new carpet! The hotel is designed to reflect the nature of Estonia. The carpet looks like a flowers in the forest. The walls and doors are made of ash wood. The stone used in the hotel is dolomite.

The hotel is situated directly opposite the Nordic Jet Line Terminal but is really quiet. It is only 5-10 minutes walk to the old town. There is also an interesting Orthodox church that has just been restored at the end of the road from the hotel. The Estonian Museum of Architecture is also nearby.

The hotel is very modern and they have obviously made an effort to provide a quality product. It has wifi throughout the hotel and each room has a Philips flat-screen tv.

There is a good selection at breakfast, despite some of the strange things on offer - eg. steamed vegetables. Buffet choices were cereal, sausages, bacon, scrambled egg, hardboiled eggs , salmon, cold meat and cheeses and various juices as well as tea and coffee.

Staff were very friendly and helpful in the reception and breakfast area. Didn't notice staff anywhere else, yet everything was spotless and pristine.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank 60degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 520 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

This is a brand new **** hotel that opened in late May. It is situated right at the Admiralty harbor of Tallinn, a small pool from where the NordicLine large speedboat ferry to Helsinki leaves, and one side of the hotel, including all business class rooms and suites, faces the harbor, the old town, and the Baltic Sea.

The hotel is so new that there are many glitches, and rather than taking it slowly, they are often booked out (mainly by groups) and can't cope with the mass of people yet. The very young staff (I saw nobody over 25) is friendly and energetic, but sometimes a bit lost.

The rooms are quite austere, but the views are of course excellent. They still strongly smell of wood preservatives. The furniture is light wood, and while this is cool Scandinavian design, to me it seemed more like ***. The bathtub is plastic, and it's impossible not to flood the floor. There are no towel racks, nor hooks at all, in the bathroom (also no hooks in the main room). The room was of course brand new, but the daily cleaning was less careful than usual in Tallinn hotels.

The buffet breafast was quite okay. One day I ordered room service - no menu yet, I was asked what I would approximately like, and when I said just some generic stuff, I received a very nice selection the next morning - unfortunately sans cutlery or any bread or rolls. Well, they are trying, and one should give a hotel anyway some 2 months to sort things out (and I wasn't charged for the breakfast, which had some very nice parts).

The area is so-so; the harbor in Tallinn still attracts alcohol tourists from across the sea, and the neighborhood is not fully safe. The Old Town is in walking distance (10-15 mins.), but via dirt paths and crossing heavy traffic arteries; there is no public transport here, and one usually needs a cab (for which one has to wait because there is no cab stand). There is a supermarket with long opening hours just meters from the hotel entrance, and a nice restaurant on a moored boat ("Admiral") two minutes away.

All in all, the views and proximity to the sea are the best features of the hotel; it is much better than any other in the harbor area. For the price it charges, tourists or business travellers are better off in downtown places like the Domina City, and if you need a sea view anyway, you can go to the Radisson or the Olümpia. Only if you are looking for a hotel right at the sea yet in Tallinn is this the right choice for you.

  • Liked — balcony over the harbor
  • Disliked — glitches due to newness
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauri_Kurs, Sales Manager at Hotel Euroopa, responded to this review, 31 July 2007
Dear Aethelred,

thank you very much for your honest opinion of our hotel. I can assure you we have improved since your visit and we have gained valuable knowledge in those 3 months we have been opened. Still, if there are recommendations what we could do better, I would be happy to read.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palace
Hotel Palace
#2 of 85 in Tallinn
2,226 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Ermitage Hotel
L'Ermitage Hotel
#20 of 85 in Tallinn
765 reviews
0.7 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Central Tallinn
0.6 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#19 of 85 in Tallinn
1,049 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Tallinn Park
Hilton Tallinn Park
#1 of 85 in Tallinn
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Euroopa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Euroopa

Property: Hotel Euroopa
Address: Paadi 5, Tallinn 10151, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Tallinn
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
#17 Business Hotel in Tallinn
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tallinn
#23 Family Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Euroopa 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The unique design and spacious rooms of Hotel Euroopa makes it the most loved newcomer of the year by businessmen, holidaymakers and conference guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Euroopa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Tallinn
Tallinn Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing