We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medieval and charmant place to stay with friends or love”
Review of St Olav Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Olav Hotel
Ranked #74 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I recomend very much this place. If you don't mind stairs. If you do, stay anyway and ask for a room at the first floor. The building is like an old castle/mansion, full of paintings, the rooms are cozy, breakfast is good and the floor in bathroom is hot in winter!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had booked a room for four and when we were shown to our room it was a small room with two narrow beds and a couch which would fit one person with an overwhelming smell of sewage. When we went back to reception with our booking form which clearly stated we had booked a room for four they begrudgingly agreed to find us a new room the next day after much sighing and eye rolling. We were given an extra fold out bed for the night. The next day we moved up to third floor, the hotel does not have a lift and the porter watched us drag our suitcases up the stairs and gave no help whatsoever in finding our rooms in the mazelike corridors. If we ever needed to ask about anything at reception we were typically greeted with a blunt "what" when we approached, that was when the receptionist decided to look up from her phone or computer.

Our new room was fine and was clean. Locationwise, the hotel is perfect for exploring the Old Town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AKoalaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We concluded our tour of the Baltics with a stay in the beautiful city of Tallinn. Sadly the hotel we chose was not up to the same standard. Whilst the St Olav was cheap and centrally located the room layout is confusing, the rooms cramped and dirty and we were able to hear (all too clearly) those in the next door room. The breakfast was edible but the breakfast room invariably crowded so that you had to wait to get a table. Despite asking for adjacent rooms we were left on the ground floor with our kids on the top floor at the other end of the confusing network of passages and corridors. Overall the experience was very disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor were very noisy, especially those above the casino/nightclub. The walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Hotel in a good location. Found the breakfast very nice and filling.

First night we didnt have a good sleep, room located on the lower ground floor, strange noises kept us awake. After speaking with Reception a new room was located for us which was of a far better standard.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room above the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minimodmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I began my experience of Eastern Europe at the beginning of 2011 ,Feb, from Tallin and booked myself very cautiously in this Hotel, My first love was the reasonable price for 5 night stay. I was pleasantly surprised to find a hotel full of character and in a good location although may not be to every taste due to some little annoyances which didn't bother me and I am quite fussy ! So with a normal tolerance level should be no real problem to get a good night sleep! My bathroom just had a stale odour and when complained they were happy to offer me the room in the other building away from the main one across the yard ! That somehow didn't appeal ! So I stuck it out in the one given and didn't regret it. It was tucked away at the end of the corridor and quiet and private.
No lift but no pain too, since the walking through the corridors and stairs was such great experience with beautiful oldie worldie walls and carpeted floor.
The dining room is quite majestic for the level of the hotel with its lovely and large with huge painting on walls ,nice table and chairs . The choice of food on offer was very comprehensive and good quality and used to set me up for the sight seeing mission ...
The hotel is within walking distance of just about everything even the port area!
So thumbs up for a long weekend in Tallin I say !

Room Tip: Perhaps away from bar noise whatever that means for a good measure !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gardesh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Interesting hotel - not really a ***** If you are on the upper floors, you need agility, good fitness and be reasonably slim, as the stairs are windy and very narrow! Brilliant location, 2 mins to the Town Hall Square. Breakfast was very varied but too many people trying to eat in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finnscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We had made a reservation abouth month before a trip to Tallinn. A few days before trip they send us an e-mail that they can´t give rooms for us becouse of some problems with their bookingsystem they are overbooked. So, they give an option to move to other hotel, but it was far away from city centrum. And still, at the same time it was possible to make reservations to this hotel, just with more expensive price!

And as I said, we made a reservation weeks ago and I think there were lot of people who has made reservation after us. I don´t know what system they use to choose those who they just dumped away.

It was very hard to found a new hotel near from the old town, but luckily we got rooms from other hotel.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
3  Thank saku t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#43 of 86 in Tallinn
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#56 of 86 in Tallinn
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#63 of 86 in Tallinn
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.2 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#40 of 86 in Tallinn
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Go Hotel Shnelli
Go Hotel Shnelli
#34 of 86 in Tallinn
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Olav Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Olav Hotel

Address: Lai 5, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £47 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Olav Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Olav Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Olav Tallinn
Hotel St Olav

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing