We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of St Olav Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Olav Hotel
Ranked #54 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

the best thing about this hotel is it's location in the old town. It is only minutes from the main square. It is quite characterful but our room was on the top floor up some narrow stairs and was quite small. The breakfast was quite average but filled you up. The reception staff were quite unhelpful and not very welcoming. Also the bar was not open during our stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winteroak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    224
    187
    110
    94
See reviews for
134
314
51
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here in March 2011 and had a good stay in the centre of the Old Town. The hotel is quirky and atmospheric with labyrinthine corridors which made finding our room initially very confusing: endless, stairs, corridors and encountering beams at chest height we had to duck under! However, we soon found a quicker and less hazardous route! Our room was comfortable and warm, despite the freezing temperatures outside. Breakfast was plentiful although we found the waitresses slightly over-efficient, despite leaving our belongings we would return from fetching a top-up of juice to find our table had been cleared and we had to start our breakfast all over again! We would recommend staying here (as long as you have no mobility issues) - it was a good base from which to explore Tallin's medieval Old Town.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel, it was a little distance to walk from reception but it was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottingham_UKBeanbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I recomend very much this place. If you don't mind stairs. If you do, stay anyway and ask for a room at the first floor. The building is like an old castle/mansion, full of paintings, the rooms are cozy, breakfast is good and the floor in bathroom is hot in winter!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We had booked a room for four and when we were shown to our room it was a small room with two narrow beds and a couch which would fit one person with an overwhelming smell of sewage. When we went back to reception with our booking form which clearly stated we had booked a room for four they begrudgingly agreed to find us a new room the next day after much sighing and eye rolling. We were given an extra fold out bed for the night. The next day we moved up to third floor, the hotel does not have a lift and the porter watched us drag our suitcases up the stairs and gave no help whatsoever in finding our rooms in the mazelike corridors. If we ever needed to ask about anything at reception we were typically greeted with a blunt "what" when we approached, that was when the receptionist decided to look up from her phone or computer.

Our new room was fine and was clean. Locationwise, the hotel is perfect for exploring the Old Town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKoalaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
543 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We concluded our tour of the Baltics with a stay in the beautiful city of Tallinn. Sadly the hotel we chose was not up to the same standard. Whilst the St Olav was cheap and centrally located the room layout is confusing, the rooms cramped and dirty and we were able to hear (all too clearly) those in the next door room. The breakfast was edible but the breakfast room invariably crowded so that you had to wait to get a table. Despite asking for adjacent rooms we were left on the ground floor with our kids on the top floor at the other end of the confusing network of passages and corridors. Overall the experience was very disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor were very noisy, especially those above the casino/nightclub. The walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

Hotel in a good location. Found the breakfast very nice and filling.

First night we didnt have a good sleep, room located on the lower ground floor, strange noises kept us awake. After speaking with Reception a new room was located for us which was of a far better standard.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room above the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minimodmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I began my experience of Eastern Europe at the beginning of 2011 ,Feb, from Tallin and booked myself very cautiously in this Hotel, My first love was the reasonable price for 5 night stay. I was pleasantly surprised to find a hotel full of character and in a good location although may not be to every taste due to some little annoyances which didn't bother me and I am quite fussy ! So with a normal tolerance level should be no real problem to get a good night sleep! My bathroom just had a stale odour and when complained they were happy to offer me the room in the other building away from the main one across the yard ! That somehow didn't appeal ! So I stuck it out in the one given and didn't regret it. It was tucked away at the end of the corridor and quiet and private.
No lift but no pain too, since the walking through the corridors and stairs was such great experience with beautiful oldie worldie walls and carpeted floor.
The dining room is quite majestic for the level of the hotel with its lovely and large with huge painting on walls ,nice table and chairs . The choice of food on offer was very comprehensive and good quality and used to set me up for the sight seeing mission ...
The hotel is within walking distance of just about everything even the port area!
So thumbs up for a long weekend in Tallin I say !

Room Tip: Perhaps away from bar noise whatever that means for a good measure !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gardesh76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#39 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#55 of 82 in Tallinn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#46 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#27 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Olav Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Olav Hotel

Property: St Olav Hotel
Address: Lai 5, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Olav Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Olav Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Olav Tallinn
Hotel St Olav

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing