We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting hotel in the heart of old town”
Review of St Olav Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St Olav Hotel
Ranked #59 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exciting hotel in the heart of old town”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This nice and romantic hotel is at its best for a short staying due to quite difficult but very exciting movement up and down along those narrow steps and through very interesting corridors and little halls with many doors. Our room 323 was nice and clean. In the bathroom there was a slight smell of drain, which disappeared after using dush. It is good to remember that your neighbour can hear everything what you do. Our neighbours was quiet and we slept very well, the bed was comfortable. The service was rather reserved, but proceeded. The breakfast was of local style, quite rich and tasty. The breakfast room was very nice and there were no rush of hungry and busy tourists. This hotel is worth of visiting for people who like to experience something else than standard.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjaana54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    236
    201
    120
    104
See reviews for
143
337
55
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We had room 103 just in the first floor. A part of the floor was made of glass and you could see just right through it into a cave or something like that. There was no info about that before arrival - both of me and my mom were scared to not fall into the cave (as wierd as it sound like). See the picture for detalis.

The room was quite dark. We had a window out to a tiny backyard. We could never sleep with the window open since the backyard was so close and everybody could just climb into the window if they wanted.

The floor in the hotel is really old and every tiny noise can be heard. Since we lived in the 1 floor we could hear footsteps, people showering, talking, going to bathroom from im sure all of the rooms above us. We could not sleep at all the 4 nights we were there! Terrible!

The last day we told the staff about it and they just looked at us in a rude way and started to laugh. They didnt say anything, not "We are sorry" or anything. They just smiled at us in a rude way like we were some kind of idiots.

The breakfast was very good. The only thing was that when something was empty, like coffie or bread it took like 15 min in order to get more. Even if more people asked for more.

The only positive thing with the hotel is that is very close to the center.

Room Tip: Not room 103.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Hotel is housed in a 15th century building with exposed beams, wooden floors and stonework which give it a charming and olde world feel. No lift so a slight problem getting our heavy case upstairs then along a maze of corridors. Room was basic with flat screen tv, mini bar, beds had thin matresses but had no trouble sleeping, bathroom was quite modern with a good shower. One of the walls in our room was thin as we heard a girl speaking one evening for a short while. Breakfast was average with a selection of hot and cold items. Staff seemed a little reserved and only spoke if you spoke to them first. Hotel is in an excellent location only 2 minutes from the main square and 5 minutes from the train station. We couldn't expect much more for what we paid, no complaints and possibly would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kopavogur, Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

The staff are rude and not helpful. The breakfast was not good. The room was very uninteresting, narrow stairs and no lift. Please do yourself a favor, don´t stay there.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BjorkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

St. Olov is a magnicifent charming hotel and it has a good situation in Tallin centre, just one hundred meter from the main square. The very best restaurant very near the hotel is the famous garlic restaurant Balthasar (about one hundred meters from the hotel). We usually are very well treated in Estoania and Tallin, and so it was also at this time - in the hotel and all the restaurants that we visited and we enjoyed it all so much and we hope that this feeling was mutual!
Generally speaking! Everything was working well. Our room was fine and it filled all our needs Certainly will go back.

Remember this! We are "aerotravelling" and this is just our opinion.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AEROTRAVELLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The hotel has rude service at the reception, below average breakfast and rooms have no sound insulation whatsoever. Could hear people even snoring and every word that was said in next room.Minibar is poorly stocked. If going to Tallinn, do yourself a favor, and stay some somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurre200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2012

went to Talin Easter 2011 with my young son, choose for my stay Hotel St. Olav for its location,travelling with a small child I needed something in the center of town in order to reach restaurants easily at night time and easy sightseeing in and out of town.
My choice thanks to trip advisors and another website was perfect, couldn't get a better place and very good deal. I choose a standard room because I never spend much time in hotels. The room was clean, excellent nordic breakfast, no lift but that's not a great inconvenience despite the fact I am always travelling with a lot of luggage and I am a "shopaholic abroad". An advice to everybody if you have a lot of luggage ask for a lower floor cause to reach the rooms you have to take a maze of steep stairs.
Just 2 little smallnegative points: reception staff, much more friendly the Estonians than Russians and no bar in the hotel. Despite this I definitely would go back again

Room Tip: ask for lower floors, cause there is no lift, but it's not a major problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex61italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#54 of 85 in Tallinn
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#46 of 85 in Tallinn
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#45 of 85 in Tallinn
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
800 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#40 of 85 in Tallinn
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Olav Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Olav Hotel

Property: St Olav Hotel
Address: Lai 5, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Olav Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your St Olav Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Olav Tallinn
Hotel St Olav

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing