We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They overbook”
Review of St Olav Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Olav Hotel
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Tallinn
Reviewed 4 July 2013

After we had had reserved our rooms we read a few reviews of this hotel where it was warned, that they overbook. And that was just what happened to us although we also mailed and called the hotel in advance in order to be sure that the booking was ok. And they said it is. However, when we arrived to the hotel they said that there is an overbooking and we must move to another hotel. They offered us a hotel (St Olav Apartments) nearby which obviously belongs to the same company. They also offered our budget price room to be changed to a standard category room. And we accepted. I am happy that we did not see the budget room because even the quality of the standard room was poor. The room was down in the basement far far away from the reception. It was small and the air condition was lousy. The walls were made of paper and hence there was no noise isolation. Also the service was unsmiling.

Room Tip: I´d rather not reserve a room from this hotel since quite a number of the rooms do not have windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 888 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

No wardrobes or drawers for your clothes, 6 hangars!!! Receptionists have faces like a slapped ..... Getting information is like pulling teeth.
Clean, very central. But would NOT choose this hotel again.
Terrible stairs to climb with no lifts.
One of the worst budget hotels I've been in.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikkiserge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The hotel is nicely located and the rooms are nice, the building is old and interesting. It was so funny to see the red carpet in front, even when the streets were full of snow. For the price, this was fine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adalheidur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago with my husband and would say it barely passes as what I would call an hotel. The reception was manned by staff who seemed to have been dragged in off the street. There was no greeting, no smiles and no service at all. We asked for a drink in the seating area which looks like a furniture store with an array of old tatty bits and pieces and were told the bar was shut. This was at 10pm. Hardly late! The karaoke bar was refurbished and opened on our last night and made sitting in the hotel for a quiet drink impossible. There is a nice outside area with no umbrellas for either sun or rain but this is outside actual residents rooms so, if you sit there for a chat, they can hear you in their room when they are trying to sleep. This could be a lovely hotel but falls way short of it's ratings in my opinion. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pixiemuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Breakfast: Limited selection, but way better than only coffee and pastries!
Rooms: We stayed in the attic, so small clean and tidy bedroom, with a minuscule window, with sunset at 12pm and sunrise at 4 am it was a blessing!

It's a building inside the town walls so has been remodeled but it's still an old building with beautiful wood ceilings and an odd distribution, it's a maze of doors, staircases with unexpected turns, my advice bring only carry-on suitcases!

Good experience!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ixchel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This hotel has a beautiful design. It is perfectly clean, both the rooms and the common space such as the dining hall and corridors. The location is a little bit better than excellent. I very much liked the breakfasts, although the the cutleries could be cleaner.

The staff are unfriendly and rude, they never smile or even answer a greeting - one feels like bothering them by even being there. The young man at the reception wouldn't even bother telling us where to find our room (the hotel is relatively big and a kind of labyrinth). There are no bidets or bathtubs in the bathrooms, just showers. The corridors in the rear building smell of mould.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VladimirKenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Good points:
- location (the hotel is situated in the hostorical center)
- clean rooms
- free wifi
- breakfast (large choice of hot meals + everything you can imagine)

Bad points:
- absolutely unhelpful and rude staff (cold welcoming, no smiles, no greetings, no explanation how to reach our room- we were looking for it 10 minutes!)
- no elevators (luckily we had a room on the 2nd floor, but I can´t imagine climbing to 5th floor every day)
- no coffee and tea making facility in the room

The design of the hotel and hotel rooms is very unique and original, but I didn´t like it that much. The room seemed to me cold and unhospitable, but this is only my personal point of view. Maybe it would look better to put there a carpet or parquets instead of cheap linoleum...On the other hand, bathroom was designed in a much better way.

Not bad, but for my next stay I will find another hotel.

Room Tip: Room 109 is small, smelly and directly on the courtyard- don´t take it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Millie019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#42 of 86 in Tallinn
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#62 of 86 in Tallinn
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#56 of 86 in Tallinn
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel St. Barbara
Hotel St. Barbara
#22 of 86 in Tallinn
688 reviews
0.4 mi away
PK Ilmarine Hotel
PK Ilmarine Hotel
#21 of 86 in Tallinn
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Olav Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Olav Hotel

Address: Lai 5, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range: £38 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Olav Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St Olav Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Olav Tallinn
Hotel St Olav

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing