We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in Wonderful Tallinn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of St Olav Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St Olav Hotel
Ranked #54 of 82 Hotels in Tallinn
Sheffield
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Wonderful Tallinn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

Me and my wife stayed here in October.
Our room was small but it was perfect for our needs.

It was comfy and had a nice bathroom and was very clean.

We were on the top floor, which was up quite a few steep stairs but it wasn't a problem.
The staff were formal but helpful.

the location was excellent, it was just a 1 minute walk from the centre of the old town.

I would have no hesitation staying here again when visiting Tallinn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wato20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    224
    186
    110
    94
See reviews for
134
314
51
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

We stayed a week in Tallinn and we were not satisfied with the hotel. Our room smelled very bad and we had to sleep with open windows. I guess there simply was fungus in the building. The beds were awfull to lie in and the breakfast was average. Only very good thing to say about the hotel is the location central in the old city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inge526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed with the family (two adults and two teenagers) for one night in July. We booked by Eckerö Lines, together with ferry tickets from Helsinki. The hotel is in the heart of Old Town, reasonable walking distance from the ferry terminal.

Our two rooms were already available at noon. Both rooms were huge! And the bathrooms were even bigger! I expect we were upgraded for one reason or another, as we booked standard rooms. Other one of the rooms had even fully equipped kitchen. In any case, this was way beyond our expectations.

The service was kind and good, breakfast ok, and no complaints at all. Definately will come again if coming to Tallin again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

After we had had reserved our rooms we read a few reviews of this hotel where it was warned, that they overbook. And that was just what happened to us although we also mailed and called the hotel in advance in order to be sure that the booking was ok. And they said it is. However, when we arrived to the hotel they said that there is an overbooking and we must move to another hotel. They offered us a hotel (St Olav Apartments) nearby which obviously belongs to the same company. They also offered our budget price room to be changed to a standard category room. And we accepted. I am happy that we did not see the budget room because even the quality of the standard room was poor. The room was down in the basement far far away from the reception. It was small and the air condition was lousy. The walls were made of paper and hence there was no noise isolation. Also the service was unsmiling.

Room Tip: I´d rather not reserve a room from this hotel since quite a number of the rooms do not have windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iiro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

No wardrobes or drawers for your clothes, 6 hangars!!! Receptionists have faces like a slapped ..... Getting information is like pulling teeth.
Clean, very central. But would NOT choose this hotel again.
Terrible stairs to climb with no lifts.
One of the worst budget hotels I've been in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikkiserge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

The hotel is nicely located and the rooms are nice, the building is old and interesting. It was so funny to see the red carpet in front, even when the streets were full of snow. For the price, this was fine.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adalheidur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed at this hotel a couple of weeks ago with my husband and would say it barely passes as what I would call an hotel. The reception was manned by staff who seemed to have been dragged in off the street. There was no greeting, no smiles and no service at all. We asked for a drink in the seating area which looks like a furniture store with an array of old tatty bits and pieces and were told the bar was shut. This was at 10pm. Hardly late! The karaoke bar was refurbished and opened on our last night and made sitting in the hotel for a quiet drink impossible. There is a nice outside area with no umbrellas for either sun or rain but this is outside actual residents rooms so, if you sit there for a chat, they can hear you in their room when they are trying to sleep. This could be a lovely hotel but falls way short of it's ratings in my opinion. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pixiemuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#39 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#55 of 82 in Tallinn
3.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#46 of 82 in Tallinn
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bern
Hotel Bern
#25 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#27 of 82 in Tallinn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Olav Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Olav Hotel

Property: St Olav Hotel
Address: Lai 5, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Olav Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St Olav Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Olav Tallinn
Hotel St Olav

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing