We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St Olav Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Restaurant
    • Room Service
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Excellent 5/5
      Hotel Telegraaf(Tallinn)
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Breakfast included
      View Hotel
      Great 4.5/5
      Certificate of Excellence
      • Free Wifi
      • Breakfast included
      Reviews (929)
      Filter reviews
      929 results
      Traveller rating
      172
      259
      224
      138
      136
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      172
      259
      224
      138
      136
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsno liftmaze of corridorsquirky hotelinteresting buildingheavy luggagethe main squarelight sleeperbrilliant locationold citycold meatsporridgelabyrinthinehearteur
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      466 - 471 of 929 reviews
      Reviewed 1 September 2008

      very nice hotel in a very good location. it's as simple as that.

      great spot in old town, in the middle of everything.

      very good rates (at least when I booked).

      free breakfast buffet (not the best i've ever had, but tough to argue with free, right?)

      clean, recently renovated room with flat screen tv.

      tough to say something bad about it.

      • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Check-in / front desk
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank absolutblue
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 11 August 2008

      Highly recommended! St Olav is a lovely hotel a few minutes from the centre of Tallinn Old City. It is in an historic building and period features such as wooden beams have been retained, with restoration work matching the historic style - natural cork flooring, gothic-style soft furnishings, etc.

      The hotel is definitely a warren of passageways and it took a day for me to be able to go from my room to the restaurant and lobby without getting lost in the multiple passages and stairways. Some signs would be helpful, but getting lost was part of the charm of the old building.

      Breakfast was an excellent buffet. The staff were helpful.

      The only downside was the TV reception was very poor, lots of channels of snow! but I wasn't in Tallinn to watch TV so didn't mind too much....

      • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Check-in / front desk
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
        • Business service (e.g., internet access)
      Thank Catherine_Ursula
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 4 August 2008

      Great Hotel

      Has real character, location is brilliant just round the corner from the old square. Has a really nice courtyard which is nice and quiet. Loved the way the hotel has not mordernised the decor but the bathroom and bedroom were good and fairly modern. Breakfast was ample although Jucies were not the best. For me only one downside the Matresses are quite soft but i do like a very hard mattress. So big thumbs up to this hotel and its staff who were efficient.

      • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Check-in / front desk
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank the_calvinator
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 2 July 2008

      Our first meeting with St. Olav was far from the best. Our cab from the airport could not give change on 500 EKK for a 150 EKK fare. When a friend tried to change in the reception, it was an impossibility. Suggesting that the receptionist charge 150 EKK to our room and hand us the money was even more difficult. In the end another guest checking in lent us the money.

      After having paid the cab we waited about 20 mins to check in. 2 planes at the same time from Norway was making it diffucult for what seemed to be an inexperienced receptionist.

      The hotel in itself is charming with a maze of corridors and stairways. Funniest thing is a wooden beam crossing one of the corridors in about a grown man's chest height that you have to duck under. Hotel seems to be renovated or opened fairly recently in very old locals.

      Unfortunately I got a ground floor room. The room itself was very nice. Although they could have put up some shower curtains. But the noise from the clubs and bars were bad. Some even took to smoking right outside my room. One evening some students had their graduation party in the hotel. It seemed like they were having it inside my room! Fortunately they had to stop at 11 pm. But I needed a kip that afternoon, but that was impossible.

      A very decent breakfast was offered. A ballroom-like breakfast room playing classical with some 80's disco in between(!) was a nice touch. Though seeing the same receptionist that checked us in the evening for breakfast at 9.30 was interesting. And when she was there when we got back from sightseeing in the afternoon was very strange.

      But all in all, expect some problems here, but the charm of the hotel and the area really makes up for it..

      • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Check-in / front desk
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
        • Business service (e.g., internet access)
      Thank Noytronet
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed 26 June 2008

      Had a wounderful weekend in Tallinn and stayed at the St Olav Hotel. It was a bit hard to deside what rate we would give the hotel, we hesitated between three and four. The location couldn´t have been better, right in the middle of the Old town, just a coupple of minutes walk from the Raekoja Plats. We got a warm welcome when we arrived at the hotel and got our room (standard room) at once.
      It was like walking in a labyrinte to get to the room but the way was very beautiful. Everything was kept as in the old days with bricks visible on the walls. Here and there there were sitting areas with old furnitures.
      Our room looked nice with white walls with stocks. The size of the room was quite OK, good for us. The beds wern´t big but very comfortable. There were a flat TV, minibar, a coupple of shairs and a whriting desk. Also a goot coburb with a safetybox. Maby we missed a sitting area. Even though we liked our room the standard was not of a four star hotel, moore 3 +.
      The bathroom was small but felt fresh. The room was kept very clean and the cleaness would have been graduated as 5 if the maid had chainged the bed linning. Happened to get a chocolate spot on the sheet but the maid just turned it up side down instead of chainging it the day after. Not what you expect from a four star hotel. But all in all the whole hotel felt very clean and fresh and we enjoyed staying there.

      The breakfast was a bit dissapointing. We are not found of getting lemonade instead of juice in the morning. The hot part of the buffée wasn´t good either. The bacon was in some kind of tomatosauce, the saussage didn´t tast anything and neithter did what we think was some kind of omelette.

      But we liked this hotel, it was very warm and cosy. And as I wrote, the location was really perfect.

      One warning ! If you go from the airport by taxi, don´t go with a taxicompany called Takso. We vere told that a trip from the airport to the hotel wouldn´t cost moore than around 100 EEK. When we got to the hotel our taxidriver trayed to charge us 225 EEK. We refused and took the license number of the car, discovered the drivers ID and whrote down his namn and so on. Told him that we would report him. And suddenly we were down to 140 EEK. This was also too much but we didn´t felt lika arguing anymoore so we payd him. We left the name and the taxinumber to the lady in the reception and she sayed she would report him.

      • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Check-in / front desk
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
        • Business service (e.g., internet access)
      3  Thank Mats_Stockholm
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews