We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and quiry but rooms tiny and like a sauna”
Review of St Olav Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Olav Hotel
Ranked #59 of 85 Hotels in Tallinn
Hampshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great location and quiry but rooms tiny and like a sauna”
Reviewed 5 July 2010

The hotel is in a great location and has a beautiful exterior. Inside the hotel is odd in terms of decoration. However it makers a nice change from the usual chain hotel. The breakfast buffet is impressive if a bit scary with the raw fish. The staff were friendly also.

The main bad point is that my room on the top floor was like a sauna. I and other guests were complaining and asking for fans or if the fridges could be switched off which were producing a lot of heat but to no joy. I think I managed about half an hours sleep in total.

Also its not the best if your are not good with lots of staris. still for 35 pounds per night i cant complain really

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee_in_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    236
    201
    120
    104
See reviews for
143
337
55
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

At first they put us in to a small doghouse (number 108) with out window. It was like 3*3 metres, hot and noisy, cos the bar was close. We paid for standard room, so we complained about it and we cot bigger room nro 314. I still wonder if that room was also economy, cos it was in the attic. I recommend to avoid economy rooms...
I would have hope that the breakfast's foodstaff would've been in cold; warm cheese, ham and juice are bad and suspicious. The walls were paper.

Otherwise the hotell was great, location was ideal and the atmosphere was great. Beds were very soft

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LumihiutaleFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed here early June for several days. Walked from the ferry terminal - about 25 minutes with suitcases. Tallinn old town is super and a must see. This Hotel is nice, historical and right in old town. The room we were put in, 402 I think, was about 8' x 8' and real tight for my wife and I. The beds were about 2" wider than my shoulders and when leaving the window open for ventilation we were greeted by sea gull chatter at 3-4AM when the sun comes up. The breakfast buffet was OK, but not great. With no elevator, lugging our suitcases up four rambling flights was a pain. There are many nice Hotels in Tallinn priced much cheaper than the Olav. You could do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

We booked at a good price several months in advance but were told on arrival that there had been a flood and our rooms were unavailable. We were offered rooms at another hotel on the outskirts of the city which was unacceptable to us. The front desk staff spoke mainly Russian and were extremely unhelpful. There was no one with any authority on duty and management was unavailable even by phone. The staff refused to provide documentation that our reservation was not being honoured. Tourists with reservations at much higher prices were being checked in in the meantime. There was no evidence at all of a flood or of repair work being done. We felt totally scammed so avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Latitude54s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tallinn hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Breakfast was good, the hotel room was nice, the bathroom was spotless. The staff were very helpful. The location is great, very close to Town Hall Square and an intact section of the medieval wall. It's a very good value.

However, there was just one thing. I think we were in a back area of the hotel that might not have been used all winter, because there was a strong sewer smell when we walked into the area, and a similar smell in the bathroom. The smell dissipated quite a bit iin the bathroom when we ran the shower, so I don't think it was a common problem.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2010

Having read other reviws on here I was not expecting much after noting that the hotel was situated next to what looked like a strip club and over a bar - and indeed one evening when we got back there was a lot of noise coming from the disco in the bar below. However, I had specifically askd for a quiet room when I booked and that is exactly what we got - room 305 - at the back of the very rambling and beautifully presented hotel. The beds were comfortably soft, the room was clean and warm even without the heating on (it was very cold outside) . There wasn't much pressure in the shower but otherwise the bathroom was great too. The walls are plasterboard so I can see how some visitors have complained about noise (take earplugs) - we visited out of season and there were not too many other guests so maybe we were just lucky.

The breakfast too was excellent with plenty of variety - cold cuts or cheese, some sort of fried vegetable rice dish (delicious), boiled eggs (hard and soft), frankfurters, fruit, fresh juice and a wide selecton of bread and jam. The only criticism I would have is the coffee which was lukewarm - so I had tea. The staff were efficient if not particularly friendly but that seems par for the course in Estonia.

We also got 3 nights for the price of 2 but even without that the value was outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E17gardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Our first stay in Tallinn was made easy due to the very cental location of this hotel,all of the old town can be easily reached on foot,even in deep snow.
Our room was economy class but still spotless and very warm , the hotel has no lifts and the stairs are quite steep.Breakfast consists of a good choice of hot and cold foods.
We did not eat our main meals in the hotel,but the prices they charge are cheaper than most other diners around and they were offering a 20% discount for guests.
Overall i would recommend this hotel as a great place to make base to explore the old city of Tallinn.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilchapps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tallinn hotels
0.2 mi away
Olevi Residents
Olevi Residents
#54 of 85 in Tallinn
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Three Crowns Residents
Three Crowns Residents
#46 of 85 in Tallinn
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gotthard Residents
Gotthard Residents
#45 of 85 in Tallinn
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Meriton Old Town Garden Hotel
0.3 mi away
My City Hotel Tallinn
My City Hotel Tallinn
#7 of 85 in Tallinn
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
Baltic Hotel Vana Wiru
#40 of 85 in Tallinn
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Olav Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Olav Hotel

Property: St Olav Hotel
Address: Lai 5, Tallinn 10133, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Tallinn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Tallinn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Olav Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your St Olav Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Olav Tallinn
Hotel St Olav

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing