We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great evening in Tallinn!”
Review of Egoist - CLOSED

Egoist
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: European, French, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Description: Restaurant Egoist is one of the most elegant catering facilities in Tallinn. Good wine, delicious food, exquisite but cosy atmosphere guarantee a pleasant experience. The historical atmosphere is created by the building, which dates back to the 17th century.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great evening in Tallinn!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I visited this restaurant with my girlfriend. We had a little set back in the beginning because the table we specifically reserved the day before was already occupied. The waitress apologized and luckily they had another fine table available for us.

Everything after that however was great. The food is the best food I have ever had in Tallinn. Especially the foie grass and duck. The price is really reasonable in my opinion. We spent 200 EUR for two people with three courses + dessert for each and a bottle of champagne.

I rated this restaurant with 4 stars instead of 5 because of our table reservation problem. The service was nice but they should definitely have more waitresses working on shift. I occasionally had to put too much effort to get service. Otherwise this place is a pearl and we are more than happy to recommend this to everyone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deacon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    2
    3
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In its own way, perfect”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is not by any means an innovative or groundbreaking restaurant, but it is in its own way quite perfect. The setting is classic - a 16th century building in the Old Town, richly decorated, candle lit, spacious and quiet. Homages to French cuisine are everywhere - bronzes of beef cattle and of snails, a antique silver flower vase in the shape of a celery, a major collection of France Michelin Guides and many more. The food is perfectly executed Escoffier - bisque, exquisitely deboned quail, frenched rack of lamb, tart tatin... This is a very skilled chef working very traditionally. A little out of her time, and perhaps a long way from Paris, but this is French fine dining as it was a century ago, and there's nothing wrong with that at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graeme P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top class fine dining”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Went here with with family and friends to celebrate New Years eve.
What can I say! By all means a high end place with a personal, cousy interior. The service was beyond any experience I can remember and the attention we got was impeccable. The friendliness of the staff and the entertainingly polite humour finished it.
We all vent with the "silvester-menu", served by the Chef herself and vines by the sommelier himself.
Absolutely everything was a match made in heaven and to our groups experience(including local culinarists) this was a full 10 points evening.
Shure not the cheapest(not the most expensive either..), but exceeded our expectations by far in value!
I´ll totally cope with the earlier high opinions.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine dining in sophisticated atmosphere”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This restaurant is surely price wise at the top end in Tallinn and if you don't get a top notch experience, I do understand the somewhat disappointed comments in other reviews.

However, we felt this was great! The restaurant is for fine dining, in classy surroundings. Our waiter was friendly, well timed, with proper amount of sophistication and completed the dining experience in all terms.

We had 4 course menus (around 50 EUR each), and from a total of 8 dishes 7 were perfect and one mediocre, altogether a very tasty set.

The wine & drink selection has enough variety to support any selection of dishes, with a desired price level.

I would recommend this mostly for the atmosphere, and felt the total package was easily matching rates.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PLMlka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Upmarket French dining in Estonia”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Stylish and cozy with a welcoming atmpsphere when entering from the street in the old town of Tallinn. As to be expected with one of the top restaurants in the country, the dishes are perfect, the selection of drinks is excellent, and service is immaculate. We missed a little bit of personal touch in all this perfection, but you are probably not expected to become friends with the maitre d'...

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank maffe_johansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Egoist also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing