We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good Italian, and slick design”
Review of Bocca

Bocca
Ranked #156 of 970 Restaurants in Tallinn
Price range: US$18 - US$23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite good Italian, and slick design”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Ate a quick lunch here, so not a full read. That said, eggplant parmigiana was good, as was ravioli. Nice outside seating, and slick decor inside. With more time, would have returned for dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick-in-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    90
    34
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wanted to order the whole menu”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Elegant, modern and stylish are words that go well with Bocca in Tallinns old town.

We had a really hard time choosing from the menu. We wanted to order everything! Our waiter was really helpfull, and we had an excellent meal.

Great food. Great service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyalil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikkeli, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Only ok”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We ate at Bocca because of it being listed as one of the best restaurants in Tallinn by the flavours of Estonia website. Unfortunately it was a bit of a disappointment - the food was only average at best and although the service was pleasant enough, it was rather slow. The setting is lovely though, we sat outside on the terrace which was pleasant and the inside of the restaurant was nicely appointed too although not air conditioned.

We had beef and tuna carpaccio and king prawns with melon as starters. The beef was good, not the best carpaccio I have ever tasted but nice enough. The tuna was tasteless and really needed something else to bring it to life, it was very bland. The prawns were great - well seasoned and meaty.

For mains we had seabream, black ink spaghetti with prawns and scallops and a plain tomato spaghetti for the little one. The sea bream was nicely presented as a whole fish but was still easy to eat - it did not come with any greens or potato though, just a few very salty mushrooms. The spaghetti was a real disappointment - it was described on the menu as being in a spicy sauce but the sauce was a bland tomato and cream sauce. Also, there were only two scallops and four prawns in the whole dish. The black ink spaghetti itself was tasty. The tomato spaghetti was at best spaghetti with tinned tomatoes slapped on top - I would have been embarrassed to serve that at home, let alone in what is meant to be an Italian restaurant. I appreciate the fact that the dish was not on the menu but surely an italian restaurant has homemade tomato sauce available quite readily.

With all this in mind, I would rate Bocca an average eatery - plus points for the nice wine list and ambiance but big minus points for the food. I was expecting a lot more but have had better Italian food at Jamie Oliver's Italian chain restaurants. Saying that, I didn't think Bocca was too expensive - our meal with a bottle of wine and two bottles of water came to 125e.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiikeri2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ripp off with grappa at euros 13 per very small glass.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We live in Tallinn and enjoy good food but hate to be taken for a ride.
Instead of getting the grappa as a free bee after an expensive dinner with good bottle of wine Euros 81 ...
They charged us 52 euros for 4 very small glasses of Grappa.
This ripp off left us with a very bitter taste and ruined the all experience . Still left a 20 euros tip because the waiters did a good job but the management sucks.
Excuse my English.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant in Old City”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

To my mind, one of the best restaurants in Old City. It's not cheap, but it's worth its money.
Excellent Italian food, very nice serving. Foie gras was superb, as well as pastas and the desserts. I highly recommend Tiramisu and Crème brulée. The only thing I didn't like was cappuccino, as usually good coffee is served almost in all cafes in Tallinn. This one wasn't perfect, but all other dishes were of the top quality.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tati-18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bocca also viewed

Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 
Tallinn, Harju County
Tallinn, Harju County
 

Been to Bocca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing