We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like visiting friends”
Review of Terviseks

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Terviseks
Ranked #5 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Tartu
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Arriving at Terviseks was like arriving at a friend's, including them waving to us from the top floor windows. Granted the sign isn't large but who needs a sign when you have people waving you over? The hostel itself is great. It is centrally located (literally on Tartu's main square). We were in a dorm but there was only one other occupant, who we barely noticed. The common area is literally a living room, and you feel like you are hanging out at a friends. The kitchen is beautiful and fully equipped, breakfast is even included in the price. The owners are both foreigners but are very helpful, as are there estonian employees. They offered us excellent suggestion of where to eat and where to go. All in all one of the best hostel experiences I've had. I would absolutely recommend Terviseks to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sotraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

One of the few hostels in Tartu, but in my opinion the best choice. You can choose between dormitory and private room. Prices including continental breakfast. This place has great localization, you have two steps to old town. Don't worry about english, the owner of this place is originally from Great Britain.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Unforgiven11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I was a little unsure of this place at first, as I didn't realise it was a hostel (my hostel days are long behind me!) but it turned out to be a fantastic find.

It's right in the heart of Tartu which, granted, is not that big, and the service is excellent and very friendly. I

I booked a private room (shared bathroom) which was huge, and incredibly comfortable. I was a little dubious about the shared bathroom, but they're actually fantastic. There are two, both self-contained, and are very clean. Although there are only two for the whole place, I never had a problem with waiting. I guess give yourself plenty of time if you absolutely need to use it at a certain time.

The atmosphere here is very chilled out. It's not a party place, but there are people around if you feel like hitting the town and finding out what Tartu has to offer (thanks to staff member Liina for a great night out!). There's a communal kitchen which is great for chatting to people, and huge bean bags in the living room.

Don't expect much from breakfast (it's just cereal and toast) but tea and coffee is available around the clock should you want it.

If I was to find myself in Tartu again, I wouldn't hesitate to look this place up. Thanks for a lovely stay, Liina and Christian!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyW26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We had a bit of a struggle finding it as the directions were not all that clear and then when we did arrive to the area, the sign for the hostel was very small and hard to notice... But upon arriving, we were quickly given a room (at 7am). The nice canadian owner was really helpful with offering train and bus times, along with a map of the city. The rooms were nice and clean. Although one bathroom for many people. The lounge area was a great place to socialize with everyone and overall was a great stay!

thanks guys!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuck_downunder05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MC0777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travellerrrr90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Окна четырехместного номера выходят на Ратушную площадь, окна остальных номеров - во двор.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milesandmore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tartu hotels
0.4 mi away
Tartu Hotel
Tartu Hotel
#5 of 22 in Tartu
263 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hektor Design Hostel
Hektor Design Hostel
#1 of 24 in Tartu
63 reviews
2 mi away
Starest
Starest
#13 of 22 in Tartu
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Antonius
Hotel Antonius
#2 of 22 in Tartu
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
0.1 mi away
Barclay Hotell
Barclay Hotell
#14 of 22 in Tartu
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terviseks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terviseks

Address: Raekoja plats 10, Tartu 51004, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Tartu
Price Range: £20 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terviseks is a home away from home for travellers wanting to visit Tartu and explore the South of Estonia. Our Backpackers Bed and Breakfast, located on the Town Square, is run by Canadians, English and Estonians who will make you feel as welcome and as comfortable as possible. Tartu is Estonia's University Town and home to 20,000 students so you don't need to ask if you can find a good party here! There are several quirky little museums so if you want to see a 5kg pair of testicles, or the actual offices that the KGB worked in you can do it in Tartu. If that is too much you can simply enjoy the parks, old buildings and river. We were responsible for the twice winner of Hostelworld's "Best in Country" and bring all that experience and knowledge of the town to our, and your, new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Terviseks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing