We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where to meet friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Looming Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Looming Hostel
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Tartu
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A place where to meet friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

The location was good, the room spacious (we got a double room) and the bed extremely comfortable. Everything was very clean. There are nice common spaces including a wonderful terrace where is easy to hang out with people and even watch a Ioga lesson. Staff was friendly and very useful. Towels can be rented for a very reasonable price (1 Eur for a big one, 0.50 Eur for a small one). The only bad sides were that you need to carry your luggage up some floors, the rooms can get rather warm in summer and you can easily be disturbed by people walking in the corridor.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViatjantPelMon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    19
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
10
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

This is a very hippy orientated hostel, a nice relaxed atmosphere with amazingly friendly staff. However the hostel location is about 20 minutes walk out of the city and the rooms are a little stuffy and smelly, also during the time we were there the common room was being used as a sleeping room for a group.

But overall if you are of the hippy minded relaxed atmosphere type this place would be great for you...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwoky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The hostel is well situated, quiet and clean. There's a small terrace where you can hang out and there's also a little kitchen with all necessary things (be ready to sort garbage). Some furniture in rooms is hand-made which is cool. The staff is nice and friendly. Nothing to complaint about at all! Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cold7an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

This place has an emphasis on environmentally positive practices. Most of the furniture is recycled and they have a good waste recycling system in place. I liked my stay here a lot and it will be my first choice the next time I visit Tartu. It's not in the center of town but within walking distance. The only complaint I have is that their refridge recycling/sharing program could use more attention.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RobinLocksley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We stayed there last year and it took us a while to get over this place but the terrible memory still lingers... It was a very hot summer and the bedroom was like a steam room, it was impossible to breath or sleep for that matter. There wasn't even a fan in there, something that could be easily sorted without huge resources being put into it. The showers looked bad too, to say the least. Overall, very bad stay, not recommended unless you're being paid for it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolA_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We have a private room, which was nice enough, however the windows faced the sun terrace, so anyone outside could see straight into your room.

Also, the toilets - there are only 2, next to each other, with "saloon" style doors so very little privacy at all.

The hostel is about a 20 minute walk from the centre of town.

Finally, we didn't receive the warm welcome here that we received from the staff at all other hostels we stayed in on our trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benemma82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

Looming Hostel is a great place to stay in Tartu. Only one small inconvenience is its location - its about 15 minutes from the city centre. But actually it´s a pleasant walk through Tartu residential neighbourhoods so it´s not a huge problem. Otherwise it´s a lovely, very clean and friendly place. Their common area is very nicely furnished with several sofas, tables etc plus there is a great choice of books to read on the shelf.
There´s a fridge and cooking facilities. The staff is very friendly and helpful. On the negative side, at the moment the shower room is located in the basement of the building, while the hostel part is on the 3rd floor -but the new shower room is being built and the present shower room is OK.
Stayed in 4-bed dorm room. The room was spacious enough to accommodate 4 persons. The bed is usual single-bed. There was slightly chill in the room in October, but luckily the staff provided me with additional blanket.
There is a rooftop terrace overlooking Tartu neighbourhoods - perfect place to enjoy shiny morning (believe it´s even better in summer - you could sunbath there) with cup of tea/coffee.

Liked the place and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JullyTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tartu hotels
2.2 mi away
Starest
Starest
#14 of 21 in Tartu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Art hotel Pallas by Tartuhotels
0.7 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#7 of 21 in Tartu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Dorpat Hotel & Convention Centre
0.7 mi away
Antonius Hotel
Antonius Hotel
#2 of 21 in Tartu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tartu Hotel
Tartu Hotel
#5 of 21 in Tartu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Looming Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looming Hostel

Property: Looming Hostel
Address: Kastani 38, Tartu 50410, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Tartu County > Tartu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Tartu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looming Hostel is an environmentally friendly boutique hostel in Tartu that offers a new artistic style of accommodation - cosy, warm and clean guestrooms are all created by different artists. Everything we use for decoration is 99 % reused! We prefer natural materials, small ecological footprint, creativity and fun! In the beginning of 2016 our Hostel received the Green Key Eco-Label. We are also a proud member of Estonian Social Enterprise Network. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Looming Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing